The Protagonist Ex-1 Review – Test – Sci-Fi RPG inside an alien spaceship

In this The Protagonist EX-1 review I present the classic role-playing game with turn-based battles in a sci-fi world

The Protagonist Ex-1 Review
Sci-Fi RPG inside an alien spaceship
The Protagonist Ex-1 Review
Sci-Fi RPG inside an alien spaceship

In this The Protagonist EX-1 review, I’ll show you this turn-based sci-fi role-playing game as we fight our way out of an alien spaceship. The game offers party RPG a la Baldur’s Gate or Neverwinter Nights with tactical combat, many switch puzzles, and secret rooms blocking our way out of the alien spaceship.

German Version:

Switch Dark / Light Mode:

This article is available here as text, but also as a YouTube video (German voice-over, many subtitles). This way you can choose how you would like to enjoy it most.

The Protagonist EX-1 Review Video

German Voice-Over, many subtitles

The Protagonist EX-1 Review – Intro

Hi there, this is the Zap. In this Protagonist EX-1 review, I’ll tell you about this dark indie sci-fi role-playing game with turn-based combat and plenty of puzzle challenges. In the review, you’ll get details on how Protagonist EX-1 is played, what’s inside if I enjoyed it and at the end, there’s also a rating from me. But most of all, I want to give you all the info so you can decide for yourself if you might enjoy the game.

The Protagonist is being developed by Canada-based 3Mind Games and was released as an Early Access title on March 2nd, 2021. I received a free review sample from the developer, my thanks for that. However, this should have no bearing on my review, as I always test all games with the thought in the back of my mind, how would I feel if I had paid full price.

The Protagonist Ex-1 Review
Game Type
The Protagonist Ex-1 Review
Game Type

Protagonist Ex-1 – Game Type

The game is a classic role-playing game from an isometric perspective. The battles take place in turn-based mode, we can run, shoot, delay, take cover behind obstacles and later on learn many more skills.

We are in a 3D world, looking into it from above at an angle. The camera can be rotated in 45-degree increments, so we can always keep track. We determine the movement of our main heroine by clicking on the floor and so we run freely through the levels. Only in the battles, everything becomes turn-based. Then we are bound to a box grid because every step and every action consumes action points.

Protagonist EX-1 – Story

The Protagonist Ex-1 Test
Story
The Protagonist Ex-1 Test
Story

In Protagonist, we awaken from a deep coma as the soldier Angel. A voice in our head called “Pilot” tells us we were on an attack mission against a race of aliens. These threaten the Earth and we wanted to stop them, but our mission failed and we are now sitting in a cell on the alien spaceship.

Our biggest problem, we remember almost nothing. We don’t know anything about this war, we don’t know who’s on our team, and we don’t have the slightest idea who we are, what we’re capable of, why these robots are shooting at us, and how we’re supposed to escape this steel prison.

We soon find some companions to assist us in this fight. Among others, the soldier Radical and a cybernetically enhanced dog named Buddy are our most loyal companions, but sometimes a real pain in the ass. Later we are joined by the mercenary Takka, whose body has been almost completely replaced by implants.

Besides that, the alien spaceship is a real labyrinth. Endless corridors and numerous rooms with locked doors block our way. Switches and shifting puzzles want to be solved. Crates loot from enemies, and numerous computers offer us valuable equipment, new blueprints, and also new implants, which we cannot use, however, without a proper doctor.

In addition to conversations with Radical and Pilot, we also keep finding diary entries and little audio logs that explain what happened and jog our memory.

Roleplay – RPG Systems

The Protagonist Ex-1 Gameplay
Roleplay - RPG Systems
The Protagonist Ex-1 Gameplay
Roleplay – RPG Systems

Here the game reminds me strongly of old Dungeons & Dragons classics from Bioware like Baldur’s Gate and Neverwinter Nights or modern variants like Divinity Original Sin. It may not be able to fully compete with those titles. But for an indie game from a small team, it’s already close to the gameplay of those classics.

We get experience for each battle and advance in levels, which earn us new points for attributes and skills. Gradually, our heroine soldier also learns how to lead a squad, hack computers, analyze items, and make new equipment from the junk we find everywhere.

Among other things, a very wide range of melee combat is offered, various martial arts punch variants can be learned and improved, and later combos can be developed from them. Of course, there are also weapons, both for close combat and for shooting. There are character classes specialized in melee, ranged, technical or healing, and support.

I guess the aliens have a special fondness for switches, pressure plates, sliding crates, and destructible secret walls. And if that’s not enough to get your head spinning, they’ll soon follow up with floor plates that can be moved by mechanism and passages where our party has to split up because things have to be done in two different places at once to get the next door open.

Tech, Graphics, Sound

The Protagonist Ex-1 Review
Tech, Graphics, Sound, Engine, GFX, SFX
The Protagonist Ex-1 Review
Tech, Graphics, Sound, Engine, GFX, SFX

Protagonist EX-1 is developed with the Unreal Engine, largely stable gameplay and fundamentally higher graphics quality are thus ensured. However, the graphics of the levels is relatively monotonous but is gradually loosened up a bit. However, the color selection of silver-gray and blue tones is too predominant. Here, the game could be quite a bit more colorful.

The Protagonist runs largely stable. If I except for the fact that the game crashed once right after the opening cutscene, I had no more crashes after that. I once had the problem after a fight that the game was more or less stuck because it didn’t reactivate the free movement mode. Saving and reloading fixed that problem without any losses though.

The soundtrack is adequate, not particularly extensive, but most features make some sound. There is synth elevator music in the background that is not too annoying.

The game has English and French texts so far. There is also a partial voice output, but it currently covers felt only 20% of the game. So here is a lot of reading until the dubbing is completed. I assume that this is currently in the works. A German-language version is at least currently not available and also not planned.

The Protagonist EX-1 Screenshots InGame

The Protagonist EX-1 Test – Opinion and Conclusion

The Protagonist Ex-1 Test
Opinion and Conclusion
The Protagonist Ex-1 Test
Opinion and Conclusion

Overall, I find the combination of Early Access and RPG a bit difficult. Because you usually play through RPGs only once because of the story and a later re-run after Early Access is rather unlikely. I would prefer internal beta testing and a proper release here.

A bigger point of criticism in the current versions is the balancing. This starts with the hit chances or rather the very high miss rate, as this sometimes stretches the fights too much. Although, I gave most characters points on Accuracy several times.

The game is on a rather slower path as far as the pace of play is concerned. Everything is rather leisurely, hectic rarely occurs and you have enough time to think about your next steps. Additionally, small delays happen again and again in the battles, and this is where it gets a bit too slow for my liking.

Often an opponent has to finish his animation before it continues. Also, for some reason I don’t understand, the skill buttons get a sort of 3-second pause between actions before they are released for the next one. Here, you could make the game feel a bit more grippy and fluid by reducing these rather unnecessary pauses.

The balancing of melee and ranged combat doesn’t quite fit yet, most of the time enemies just shoot and as a result, you are better off even with ranged combat. The movement range is a bit short to really intervene relevantly in the action as a melee fighter. But that didn’t really dampen the fun for me.

Also, the skills are not all equally useful yet. So at least in the first few hours I didn’t find any Assault Rifles or Grenades recipes at all, so couldn’t make any either, there weren’t any to find. So I specialized in pistols with all characters and the skill for that was quickly at maximum.

After that, I started learning a few side skills and then almost randomly put points evenly into skills I never used. On the other hand, many hours of development time must have gone into the melee system, there are numerous skills to it and various melee weapons, but that work largely goes to waste, at least as I progressed through the game.

Besides that, I noticed minor inconsistencies in the controls. For example, that you can’t leave some menus with ESC, but have to click a button somewhere. In general, the game could put more shortcuts on buttons in some places and make the existing ones more visible. In this “quality of life” area, the game could still use some fine-tuning.

What doesn’t make me happy is the visual character design so far. The player characters are purposeful at best, not really pretty. That said, stop, yes, the dog is cute, I like him. But overall, the game would look even better with prettier character models.

Besides the main characters, you always find soldiers that you add to the group, and their models and pictures are always the same, it’s not appealing, nor good for distinction.

The variety in the enemies is also almost nonexistent so far. Most alien robots look almost identical despite different skills and classes, differing more or less only in colored stripes on the chassis. This looks a bit boring, and also makes the tactical approach a bit more difficult. Overall, it is to be hoped that more and more varied 3D models will be worked on, which would enhance the game in many places.

But all in all, the positive gameplay experience outweighs the negative for me, despite all the rough edges and minor problems. The role-playing system is surprisingly comprehensive for such a small indie title. The level design, aside from the graphics, is varied, the story is not uninteresting and the battles and puzzles are definitely entertaining.

The Protagonist Ex-1 Review – Rating

The Protagonist Ex-1 Review
Rating
The Protagonist Ex-1 Review
Rating

The Protagonist offers a wide-ranging mix of turn-based strategy combat, switch puzzles, and complex level design to keep us as players on our toes. And that’s interwoven with classic RPG party and some character classes, as well as an extensive story.

As you should expect from the Early Access label, there are still some construction sites, but still, for under €11 or $13, you get a game here in which you can spend some entertaining hours as a role-playing game lover and fan of turn-based tactics.

Considering the game’s offerings so far, Protagonist EX-1 gets a 75% basic rating from me. Minor balancing and game design issues make for a 4% deduction, but for the tremendously low price, there’s a whopping 10% bonus. This brings me to the current final score of 81% for The Protagonist EX-1. If the team rounds off the rough edges a bit more with further patches, it might become a little pearl for role-playing game fans in terms of price-performance.

The Protagonist Ex-1 Review
Rating with numbers 81 percent
The Protagonist Ex-1 Review
Rating with numbers 81 percent

The Protagonist EX-1

Zap from Zapzockt.de

The Protagonist Ex-1 Review - Test - Sci-Fi RPG im Alien-Raumschiff _q
In this The Protagonist EX-1 review I present the classic role-playing game with turn-based battles in a sci-fi world
In this The Protagonist EX-1 review, I’ll show you this turn-based sci-fi role-playing game as we fight our way out of an alien spaceship. The game offers party RPG a la Baldur’s Gate or Neverwinter Nights with tactical combat, many switch puzzles, and secret rooms blocking our way out of the alien spaceship.
RPG
Graphics
Sound
Tactics
Scope
State of the Game (Early Access)
Price-performance ratio

Rating

The Protagonist offers a wide-ranging mix of turn-based strategy combat, switch puzzles, and complex level design to keep us as players on our toes. And that’s interwoven with classic RPG party and some character classes, as well as an extensive story.
As you should expect from the Early Access label, there are still some construction sites, but still, for under €11 or $13, you get a game here in which you can spend some entertaining hours as a role-playing game lover and fan of turn-based tactics.
Considering the game’s offerings so far, Protagonist EX-1 gets a 75% basic rating from me. Minor balancing and game design issues make for a 4% deduction, but for the tremendously low price, there’s a whopping 10% bonus. This brings me to the current final score of 81% for The Protagonist EX-1. If the team rounds off the rough edges a bit more with further patches, it might become a little pearl for role-playing game fans in terms of price-performance.

4.1

Outro

Do you like the combat on the alien ship and do you like turn-based RPG battles? Or are switches and shifting puzzles not your thing and you always get lost in giant spaceships? Feel free to write me your opinion in the YouTube comments or in the Community Discord.

You can find more gaming news, game reviews and guides on the YouTube channel or here at https://zapzockt.de – thumbs click and subscribe on YouTube and share with friends certainly can’t hurt and then I wish you a great day, ciao ciao, your Zap

Protagonist EX-1 Website

The Protagonist EX-1 Steampage

Protagonist Twitter

Protagonist Ex-1 Facebook Page

Reading – recommendations:

A lot of detailed games news and information about games and gaming can always be found here at ZapZockt.de

There are also many game reviews that might interest you, and if you don’t want to miss anything, subscribe to the newsletter. As a Google News reader you can also go there and read the latest articles.

Shopping – Tip:

Ad / Affiliate Link
Games can often be bought cheaper. Legal, reliable and safe is the way to do it at my partner site Gamesplanet. This game, all DLCs, many more tactics, strategy, and many more titles are available there and almost always much cheaper than at Steam, Uplay, Epic, or other shops.

Steam Keys günstig kaufen - Buy steam keys cheap - Game keys Spiele Keys
Buy games cheaper

For every purchase, via this link, I receive a small commission. So you get games cheaper and at the same time support my work, my thanks in advance for that.

Social Media:


Zap

Dirk "Zap" von ZapZockt.de, 40+ Gamer, zockt seit 1980 vor allem Strategie Titel, MMOs und Rollenspiele. Schreibt Game Reviews, Gaming News und auch mal über Technik, Hardware und YouTube. Mehr Infos findest Du unter Mehr über Zap lesen ◄----------► Dirk "Zap" from ZapZockt.de, 40+ gamer, has been gaming since 1980, mainly strategy titles, MMOs and RPGs. Writes game reviews, gaming news and also sometimes about technology, hardware and YouTube. Click here, if you want to read more about Zap.

You may also like...

scroll to top - nach oben

The Protagonist Ex-1 Review – Test – Sci-Fi RPG im Alien-Raumschiff

Im The Protagonist EX-1 Review stelle ich das klassische Rollenspiel mit Rundenbasierten Kämpfen in einer Sci-Fi Welt vor

The Protagonist Ex-1 Review - Test - Sci-Fi RPG im Alien-Raumschiff _q
The Protagonist Ex-1 Review
Sci-Fi RPG im Alien-Raumschiff

In dieser The Protagonist EX-1 Review zeige Ich Dir dieses rundenbasierte Sci-Fi Rollenspiel, indem wir uns aus einem Alien-Raumschiff herauskämpfen. Das Spiel bietet Party RPG a la Baldur’s Gate oder Neverwinter Nights mit Taktik Kämpfen, viele Schalter-Rätsel und Geheimräume versperren uns den Weg aus dem Alien-Raumschiff.

English Version:

Dieser Beitrag ist hier als Text, aber auch als PodCast und als YouTube Video verfügbar. So kannst Du Dir aussuchen, wie Du ihn am liebsten genießen magst.

The Protagonist EX-1 Review Video

German Voice-Over, many subtitles

The Protagonist EX-1 Test als Podcast

The Protagonist EX-1 Review – Intro

Moin Moin hier ist der Zap. In dieser Protagonist EX-1 Review erzähle Ich Dir von diesem düsteren Indie Sci-Fi Rollenspiel mit rundenbasiertem Kampf und jeder Menge Rätsel-Aufgaben. Im Test bekommst Du Details, wie Protagonist EX-1 gespielt wird, was drin ist, ob es mir Spaß gemacht hat und am Ende gibt es auch eine Wertung von mir. Aber vor allem möchte ich Dir alle Infos geben, damit Du für Dich selbst entscheiden kannst, ob das Spiel Dir Spaß machen könnte.

Protagonist wird von 3Mind Games aus Kanada entwickelt und wurde am 2. März als Early Access Titel veröffentlicht. Ich habe ein kostenloses Testmuster vom Entwickler erhalten, mein Dank dafür. Dies sollte jedoch keinen Einfluss auf meine Bewertung haben, da ich alle Spiele immer mit dem Gedanken im Hinterkopf teste, wie würde ich mich fühlen, wenn ich den vollen Preis bezahlt hätte.

The Protagonist Ex-1 Review
Spieltyp
The Protagonist Ex-1 Review
Spieltyp

Protagonist Ex-1 – Spieltyp

Das Spiel ist ein klassisches Rollenspiel in isometrischer Perspektive. Die Kämpfe finden im Rundenmodus statt, wir können laufen, schießen, verzögern, Deckung hinter Hindernissen suchen und später auch noch viele weitere Fähigkeiten erlernen.

Wir befinden uns in einer 3D-Welt, in die wir von schräg oben schauen. Die Kamera kann in 45 Grad Schritten gedreht werden, so dass wir immer den Überblick behalten können. Die Bewegung unserer Hauptheldin bestimmen wir, indem wir auf den Fußboden klicken und so laufen wir frei durch die Level. Nur in den Kämpfen wird alles Rundenbasiert. Dann werden wir an ein Kästchen-Raster gebunden, weil jeder Schritt und jede Handlung Aktionspunkte verbraucht.

Protagonist EX-1 – Story

The Protagonist Ex-1 Test
Story
The Protagonist Ex-1 Test
Story

In Protagonist erwachen wir als Soldatin Angel aus einem tiefen Koma. Eine Stimme in unserem Kopf namens „Pilot“ sagt uns, wir wären auf einer Angriffsmission gegen ein Volk von Außerirdischen gewesen. Diese bedrohen die Erde und wir wollten sie aufhalten, aber unsere Mission ist gescheitert und wir sitzen nun in einer Zelle auf dem Alien-Raumschiff.

Unser größtes Problem, wir erinnern uns an nahezu gar nichts. Wir wissen nichts von diesem Krieg, wir wissen nicht, wer zu unserem Team gehört und wir haben nicht die leiseste Ahnung, wer wir sind, was wir können, warum diese Roboter auf uns schießen und wie wir aus diesem Stahlgefängnis entkommen sollen.

Wir finden bald einige Gefährten, die uns bei diesem Kampf beistehen. Unter anderem der Soldat Radical und ein kybernetisch verbesserter Hund namens Buddy sind unsere treusten Begleiter, aber manchmal auch echte Nervensägen. Später gesellt sich noch der Söldner Takka zu uns, dessen Körper fast komplett durch Implantate ersetzt wurde.

Daneben ist das Alien-Raumschiff ein wahres Labyrinth. Endlose Gänge und zahlreiche Räume mit verschlossenen Türen versperren uns den Weg. Schalter und Verschiebe-Rätsel wollen gelöst werden. Kisten, Loot aus Gegnern und zahlreiche Computer bieten uns wertvolle Ausrüstung, neue Baupläne und auch neue Implantate, die wir aber ohne richtigen Doktor nicht nutzen können.

Neben Gesprächen mit Radical und Pilot finden wir auch immer wieder Tagebuch Einträge und kleine Audio-Logs, die uns die Geschehnisse erklären und unser Gedächtnis wieder in Gang bringen.

Rollenspiel

The Protagonist Ex-1 Gameplay
Rollenspiel
The Protagonist Ex-1 Gameplay
Rollenspiel

Hier erinnert das Spiel mich stark an alte Dungeons & Dragons Klassiker von Bioware wie Baldur’s Gate und Neverwinter Nights oder moderne Varianten wie Divinity Original Sin. Es kann mit diesen Titeln vielleicht nicht völlig mithalten. Aber für ein Indiegame von einem kleinen Team ist es schon dicht dran am Spielgefühl dieser Klassiker.

Wir bekommen für jeden Kampf Erfahrung und steigen in Leveln auf, die uns neue Punkte für Attribute und Skills einbringen. Nach und nach lernt unsere Soldatin auch, wie man einen Squad anführt, Computer hackt, Gegenstände analysiert und aus dem Schrott, den wir überall finden, neue Ausrüstung herstellt.

Unter anderem wird eine sehr weite Nahkampf-Palette angeboten, verschiedene Martial Arts Schlag-Varianten können gelernt und gesteigert und daraus später auch Kombos entwickelt werden. Selbstverständlich gibt es auch Waffen, sowohl für den Nahkampf wie auch zum Schießen. Es gibt Charakterklassen, die auf Nahkampf, Fernkampf, Technik oder Heilung und Support spezialisiert sind.

Die Aliens haben wohl eine besondere Vorliebe für Schalter, Druckplatten, verschiebbare Kisten und zerstörbare Geheimwände. Und falls das nicht reichen sollte, um den Kopf anzuregen, folgen bald auch per Mechanismus bewegbare Bodenplatten und Passagen, wo unsere Gruppe sich auftrennen muss, weil an zwei verschiedenen Orten gleichzeitig Dinge gemacht werden müssen, um die nächste Tür aufzubekommen.

Technik, Grafik, Sound

The Protagonist Ex-1 Review
Technik, Grafik, Sound, Engine, GFX, SFX
The Protagonist Ex-1 Review
Technik, Grafik, Sound, Engine, GFX, SFX

Protagonist EX-1 wird mit der Unreal Engine entwickelt, weitestgehend stabiles Gameplay und grundlegend eine höhere Grafikqualität sind dadurch gesichert. Die Grafik der Level ist allerdings relativ eintönig, wird aber nach und nach etwas aufgelockert. Aber die Farbwahl von Silber-Grau und blau Tönen überwiegt doch zu stark. Hier könnte das Spiel ruhig etwas bunter sein.

The Protagonist läuft weitestgehend Stabil. Wenn ich davon absehe, dass das Spiel direkt nach der Eröffnungs-Cutscene einmal abgeschmiert ist, hatte ich danach keine Abstürze mehr. Ich hatte mal nach einem Kampf das Problem, dass das Spiel sich mehr oder weniger festgehängt hat, weil es den freien Bewegungsmodus nicht wieder aktiviert hat. Abspeichern und Neuladen hat dieses Problem aber ohne Verluste behoben.

Die Vertonung ist ausreichend, nicht besonders umfangreich, aber die meisten Funktionen machen Geräusche. Es gibt eine Synthie-Fahrstuhl-Musik im Hintergrund, die nicht zu sehr nervt.

Das Spiel ist bisher mit Englischen und Französischen Texten versehen. Es gibt auch teilweise eine Sprachausgabe, aber die deckt momentan gefühlt nur 20 % des Spiels ab. Hier ist also viel lesen angesagt, bis die Vertonung vervollständigt wurde. Ich gehe davon aus, dass das derzeit in Arbeit ist. Eine deutsche Sprach-Version ist zumindest momentan nicht vorhanden und auch nicht geplant.

The Protagonist EX-1 Screenshots InGame

The Protagonist EX-1 Test – Meinung und Fazit

The Protagonist Ex-1 Test
Meinung und Fazit
The Protagonist Ex-1 Test
Meinung und Fazit

Insgesamt empfinde ich die Kombination Early Access und Rollenspiel als ein wenig schwierig. Denn man spielt RPGs meist nur einmal wegen der Story durch und ein späterer erneuter Durchgang nach dem Early Access ist eher unwahrscheinlich. Ich würde hier interne Beta-Tests und eine richtige Veröffentlichung vorziehen.

Ein größerer Kritikpunkt in der momentanen Versionen ist das Balancing. Das beginnt mit den Trefferchancen beziehungsweise eher mit der sehr hohen Fehlschuss-Rate, da dies die Kämpfe manchmal zu sehr in die Länge zieht. Und dabei habe ich den meisten Charakteren mehrmals Punkte auf Accuracy gegeben.

Das Spiel befindet sich dabei auf einem eher langsameren Pfad, was das Spieltempo angeht. Alles geht eher gemütlich zu, Hektik tritt nur selten auf und man hat genug Zeit, über seine nächsten Schritte nachzudenken. Zusätzlich passieren in den Kämpfen immer wieder kleine Verzögerungen, und hier wird es dann etwas zu langsam für meinen Geschmack.

Oft muss ein Gegner erst seine Animation beenden, ehe es weiter geht. Auch die Skill-Buttons bekommen aus einem mir nicht nachvollziehbaren Grund eine Art 3-sekündige Pause zwischen den Aktionen, ehe sie für die Nächste freigegeben werden. Hier könnte man das Spielgefühl noch etwas griffiger und flüssiger machen, indem man diese eher unnötigen Pausen reduziert.

Das Balancing von Nah- und Fernkampf passt noch nicht ganz, meistens schießen die Gegner nur und dadurch ist man auch selbst mit Fernkampf besser dran. Die Bewegungsreichweite ist etwas kurz um als Nahkämpfer wirklich relevant ins Geschehen einzugreifen. Aber das trübte mir den Spaß nicht wirklich.

Auch die Skills sind noch nicht alle gleichwertig nützlich. So habe ich zumindest in den ersten Stunden gar keine Assault Rifles oder Granaten Rezepte gefunden, konnte also keine herstellen, zu finden gab es auch keine. Also habe ich mich auf Pistolen spezialisiert mit allen Charakteren und der Skill dafür war schnell auf Maximum.

Danach habe ich dann angefangen ein paar Nebenskills zu lernen und habe dann fast wahllos gleichmäßig Punkte in Skills gesteckt, die ich nie verwendet habe. Andererseits sind wohl viele Stunden Entwicklungszeit in das Nahkampf-System geflossen, es gibt zahlreiche Skills dazu und verschiedene Nahkampf-Waffen, aber diese Arbeit verpufft größtenteils, zumindest bei meinem Weg durch das Spiel.

Daneben sind mir kleinere Ungereimtheiten in der Bedienung aufgefallen. Zum Beispiel, dass man manche Menüs nicht mit ESC verlassen kann, sondern irgendwo einen Button klicken muss. Generell könnte das Spiel an manchen Stellen mehr Kurzbefehle auf Tasten legen und die vorhandenen besser sichtbar machen. In diesem „Quality of Life“ Bereich könnte das Spiel noch einigen Feinschliff gebrauchen.

Was mich nicht glücklich macht, ist das bisherige Figuren-Design. Die Spielercharaktere sind höchstens zweckmäßig, nicht so wirklich schön. Das heißt, stopp, doch, der Hund ist niedlich, den mag ich. Aber insgesamt würde das Spiel mit hübscheren Charaktermodellen noch besser wirken.

Neben den Hauptfiguren findet man immer wieder Soldaten, die man in die Gruppe aufnimmt und deren Modelle und Bilder sind immer die gleichen, das ist weder ansprechend, noch gut für die Unterscheidung.

Auch bei den Gegnern ist die Abwechslung bisher kaum existent. Die meisten Alien-Roboter sehen trotz anderer Skills und Klassen fast identisch aus, unterscheiden sich mehr oder weniger nur in farbigen Streifen am Chassis. Das sieht etwas langweilig aus, und macht auch das taktische Vorgehen etwas schwieriger. Es bleibt insgesamt zu hoffen, dass noch an mehr und abwechslungsreicheren 3D Modellen gearbeitet wird, das würde das Spiel an vielen Stellen aufwerten.

Aber alles in allem überwiegt für mich das positive Spiel-Erlebnis, trotz aller Ecken, Kanten und kleineren Problemen. Das Rollenspiel System ist überraschend umfangreich für so einen kleinen Indie Titel. Das Leveldesign ist, abseits von der Grafik, abwechslungsreich, die Geschichte ist nicht uninteressant und die Kämpfe und Rätsel sind auf jeden Fall unterhaltsam.

The Protagonist Ex-1 Review – Wertung

The Protagonist Ex-1 Review
Wertung
The Protagonist Ex-1 Review
Wertung

Protagonist bietet einen breit gefächerten Mix aus Runden-Strategie Kämpfen, Schalter-Rätseln und komplexem Level-Design, um uns als Spieler auf Trab zu halten. Und das wird mit klassischer RPG-Party und einigen Charakterklassen sowie einer umfangreichen Geschichte verwoben.

Wie man durch das Etikett Early Access erwarten sollte, gibt es noch einige Baustellen, aber trotzdem bekommt man hier für unter 11 € oder $13 ein Spiel, in dem man als Rollenspiel-Liebhaber und Fan von rundenbasierter Taktik so einige unterhaltsame Stunden verbringen kann.

Betrachte ich das bisherige Angebot des Spiels, bekommt Protagonist EX-1 eine 75 % Grundbewertung von mir. Kleinere Probleme im Balancing und Game-Design sorgen für einen 4 % Abzug, aber für den enorm günstigen Preis gibt es einen satten 10 % Bonus. Damit komme ich zum derzeitigen Endergebnis von 81 % für The Protagonist EX-1. Wenn das Team mit weiteren Patches die Ecken und Kanten noch etwas abrundet, wird eventuell Preis-Leistungsmäßig eine kleine Perle für Rollenspiel-Fans daraus.

The Protagonist Ex-1 Review
Wertung mit Zahlen 81 Prozent
The Protagonist Ex-1 Review
Wertung mit Zahlen 81 Prozent

The Protagonist EX-1

Zap von Zapzockt.de

The Protagonist Ex-1 Review - Test - Sci-Fi RPG im Alien-Raumschiff _q
Im The Protagonist EX-1 Review stelle ich das klassische Rollenspiel mit Rundenbasierten Kämpfen in einer Sci-Fi Welt vor
In dieser The Protagonist EX-1 Review zeige Ich Dir dieses rundenbasierte Sci-Fi Rollenspiel, indem wir uns aus einem Alien-Raumschiff herauskämpfen. Das Spiel bietet Party RPG a la Baldur’s Gate oder Neverwinter Nights mit Taktik Kämpfen, viele Schalter-Rätsel und Geheimräume versperren uns den Weg aus dem Alien-Raumschiff.
Rollenspiel
Grafik
Sound
Taktik
Umfang
Zustand des Spiels (Early Access)
Preis – Leistung

Wertung

Protagonist bietet einen breit gefächerten Mix aus Runden-Strategie Kämpfen, Schalter-Rätseln und komplexem Level-Design, um uns als Spieler auf Trab zu halten. Und das wird mit klassischer RPG-Party und einigen Charakterklassen sowie einer umfangreichen Geschichte verwoben.
Wie man durch das Etikett Early Access erwarten sollte, gibt es noch einige Baustellen, aber trotzdem bekommt man hier für unter 11 € oder $13 ein Spiel, in dem man als Rollenspiel-Liebhaber und Fan von rundenbasierter Taktik so einige unterhaltsame Stunden verbringen kann.
Betrachte ich das bisherige Angebot des Spiels, bekommt Protagonist EX-1 eine 75 % Grundbewertung von mir. Kleinere Probleme im Balancing und Game-Design sorgen für einen 4 % Abzug, aber für den enorm günstigen Preis gibt es einen satten 10 % Bonus. Damit komme ich zum derzeitigen Endergebnis von 81 % für The Protagonist EX-1. Wenn das Team mit weiteren Patches die Ecken und Kanten noch etwas abrundet, wird eventuell Preis-Leistungsmäßig eine kleine Perle für Rollenspiel-Fans daraus.

4.1

Outro

Gefällt Dir der Kampf auf dem Alien-Schiff und magst Du rundenbasierte RPG-Kämpfe? Oder sind Schalter und Verschiebe-Rätsel nicht so Dein Ding und Du verläufst Dich immer in riesigen Raumschiffen? Schreib mir gern Deine Meinung in die YouTube Kommentare oder im Community Discord.

Mehr Gaming News, Spiele Reviews und Guides findest Du auf dem YouTube Kanal oder hier unter https://zapzockt.de – Daumen klicken und abonnieren bei YouTube und mit Freunden teilen kann bestimmt nicht schaden und dann wünsche ich Dir einen tollen Tag, ciao ciao, Dein Zap

Protagonist EX-1 Website

The Protagonist EX-1 Steampage

Protagonist Twitter

Protagonist Ex-1 Facebook Page

Sehr viele detailierte Spiele News und Informationen rund um Games und Gaming findest Du immer hier bei ZapZockt.de

Es gibt auch viele Game Reviews, die dich interessieren könnten, und wenn Du nichts verpassen möchtest, abonniere den Newsletter. Als Google News Leser kannst Du auch direkt dort, immer die neusten Artikel lesen.

Shopping – Tipp:

Werbung / Affiliate Link
Spiele kann man oft günstiger kaufen. Legal, zuverlässig und sicher geht das bei meiner Partnerseite Gamesplanet. Dieses Spiel, alle DLCs, viele weitere Taktik, Strategie und andere Titel gibt es dort im Angebot und fast immer sehr viel billiger als bei Steam, Uplay, Epic oder anderen Shops.

Für jeden Kauf über diesen Link erhalte ich eine kleine Provision. So bekommst Du Spiele günstiger und unterstützt gleichzeitig meine Arbeit, mein Dank im Voraus dafür.

Social Media:


Zap

Dirk "Zap" von ZapZockt.de, 40+ Gamer, zockt seit 1980 vor allem Strategie Titel, MMOs und Rollenspiele. Schreibt Game Reviews, Gaming News und auch mal über Technik, Hardware und YouTube. Mehr Infos findest Du unter Mehr über Zap lesen ◄----------► Dirk "Zap" from ZapZockt.de, 40+ gamer, has been gaming since 1980, mainly strategy titles, MMOs and RPGs. Writes game reviews, gaming news and also sometimes about technology, hardware and YouTube. Click here, if you want to read more about Zap.

Das könnte dich auch interessieren …

scroll to top - nach oben