Port Royale 4 Beta Preview

Port Royale 4 in pre-order Beta Preview – Joho and a bottle of rum – All information and my first impression

Port Royale 4 Beta Preview
Joho and a Bottle of Rum
Port Royale 4 Beta Preview
Joho and a Bottle of Rum

In this article I show you all currently available information about the Port Royale 4 Pre-Order Beta Version. What’s in it, how does it play, how far is the development and is it worth to pre-order to be able to play the Port Royale 4 Beta right now?

German Version:

This article is available here as text, but also as a YouTube video (German voice-over, many subtitles). This way you can choose how you would like to enjoy it most.

Video:

German voice-over, many subtitles

Port Royale 4 Beta Preview – Intro

Port Royale 4 Beta Preview
Ship Title Picture
Port Royale 4 Beta Preview
Ship Title Picture

Hi there, this is the Zap. In this post, I would like to introduce you to the game Port Royale 4 and give you a small beta preview. The game will be released for PC, Xbox One, PS4, and Nintendo Switch.

Port Royale 4 is being developed by Gaming Minds, who previously gained experience with Railway Empire, Patrician 4, Port Royale 3, and many other titles.

As this game is not a finished product, there will be no rating. And all information in this post is not final. Many graphics, game features, or gameplay may change significantly in the next few months. The game is still in the middle of development, so I have to ask you to consider this.

Port Royale 4 Beta Version – Release Date

Port Royale 4 Beta Preview - Beta Version
Port Royale 4 Beta Preview – Beta Version

Port Royale 4 is scheduled for release on September 25th, 2020 for PC (Steam), PS4, XBox One, and Nintendo Switch. However, there is currently a closed beta, and starting April 29th you can pre-order the game directly from the publisher Kalypso.

Pre-orderers will also get direct access to the latest PC beta versions and their feedback can be used to influence the further development of the game.

For other publishers, this would be called Early Access. Kalypso prefers the phrase Pre-Order Beta, but in the end, it’s pretty much the same.

Port Royale 4 – Background

Port Royale 4 Beta Preview - Background Info
Port Royale 4 Beta Preview – Background Info

Port Royale is an economic simulation with a strong focus on trade, supplemented with some strategic elements and also some politics and combat.

The Port Royale series is set in the Caribbean Sea of the 16th century. The first cities of the colonial powers Spain, England, France and Netherlands are only a few years old. Colonies and plantations are founded and also the division of the individual areas is not yet finally determined.

The predecessors of Port Royale 4 are roughly based on games like Hanse, Patrician, Rise of Venice or above all the legendary Pirates by Sid Meier. So the basic ideas of this ship trading and colony management simulator go back to the early 80s.

So let’s see what Port Royale 4 has to do with this historical game principle.

Port Royale 4 Beta Preview
Gameplay
Port Royale 4 Beta Preview
Gameplay

Port Royale 4 Gameplay

In Port Royale 4 we generally belong to one of the 4 colonial powers. We are a merchant first of all, always looking for the next good deal. We serve our viceroy, earn money by ship trading and building plantations and processing facilities.

So we spend a large part of our playing time buying goods cheaply in one place or producing them ourselves and selling them expensively in other places.

With the profits, we expand our fleet and build our own operations. In the later course, we will automate the trade more and more with trade routes. Then the game will change and we will move further and further into the field of politics, war, and piracy or pirate hunt.

Port Royale 4 Game Modes

Port Royale 4 Beta Review 
Game Modes - Singleplayer - Campaign - Skirmish
Port Royale 4 Beta Review
Game Modes – Singleplayer – Campaign – Skirmish

The game offers some tutorial missions, which simplify the entry into the sometimes quite complex processes. But don’t worry, it won’t get too complicated and you can have fun and success in Port Royale even without studying business administration.

In addition, there are currently 3 campaigns. I expect that soon there will be one for each of the colonial powers. On the one hand, these differ very much in the different starting areas. But also the eras, the targets and goals of the respective viceroys or colony administrators are different.

At last there is a free game mode, where we join one of the four sea powers and choose one of the currently four given characters. These characters have slightly different abilities. For example, the merchantress can trade everywhere without having to buy a trading concession for each city first, but she has twice the requirements for warships.

Multiplayer is currently not planned for Port Royale. I find this to be quite a shortcoming because this kind of game is actually suitable for collaborative action and building or even for competitive war games and conquests.

Perhaps the developers will fix this weakness later, but for now Port Royale 4 is a pure single player experience.

Gameplay – Ships

Port Royale 4 Beta Gameplay - Ships
Port Royale 4 Beta Gameplay – Ships

The ships are definitely an extremely important factor in Port Royale 4. There were almost no land connections between the cities at that time, and if there were, they were very dangerous. So with our ships, we are responsible for the trade of goods and the basic supply of the cities.

In the beginning, there are five different models to choose from, which differ greatly in their values. They vary in speed, loading capacity, draught, number of crew, maneuverability, deck height, durability, and of course the value.

Merchant ships cannot take cannons at all, but they can take many goods. And vice versa, warships are brimming with weapons, but then have only a small cargo hold. But since we have to fight with pirates during the game and wars between the colonial powers are breaking out, we’ll need both kinds urgently.

Ships are traded and built in shipyards. There we can either buy old models, which are for sale at random and in limited quantities. Or we can place our own building orders, but then we have to wait for a longer time until the building is finished.

The selection of ships starts with small agile merchant schooners, moves on to the larger merchant ships such as fleets and brigs, and finally to the galleons and war galleons that were not available at the beginning. These large ships can be unlocked via a kind of skill tree, but for which we first have to acquire fame. Maybe there will be more ships later, that will have to wait and see. There are probably 18 different models planned, but not all of them are available yet.

Gameplay – Colonies and Cities

Port Royale 4 Beta Gameplay
Colonies - Cities
Port Royale 4 Beta Gameplay
Colonies – Cities

The Caribbean of Port Royale 4 simulates a total of 60 different cities. Each city has different prerequisites. There are 25 different goods in total, but a city can only produce a maximum of 7 of them. But of course there is a demand for all goods.

From this demand and the supply of the corresponding goods the cities develop very differently. Each city belongs to one of the 4 empires and therefore develops differently.

As a player we start with a hometown, where we can set up our own businesses or buildings for the city. In addition to 25 building types for the individual goods, we can and must also construct 15 general city buildings if we want a city to grow to its full potential.

This starts with residential buildings, without which the required amount of workers in the city might not be enough, goes on to pubs, churches, hospitals, and cemetery, and finally to master builders, markets, warehouses, and the shipyard.

The expansion of the cities takes place on a hex map here. This makes the city expansion easy to plan. Many buildings have positive and negative effects on other buildings.

A farm cannot function well if there are not enough residential buildings nearby, on the other hand, farms near residential buildings are negative for the well-being of the inhabitants. On the other hand, other buildings such as a church or pub have a positive effect.

Here you can optimize some things by skilful construction of the cities. But the other way round you can also do some things wrong. This is an interesting task at the beginning. To what extent this really motivates in the long run, we will have to wait and see.

I can imagine that once you have managed to get the basic structure of a city right, you will tend to build the same scheme over and over again. But maybe the developers still surprise me with local peculiarities in the individual cities that prevent this schematic building?

Each city develops its own bottlenecks or surpluses. And we can use this to our financial advantage or gain fame and prestige by promoting the growth of the cities. We need these so that good captains can be hired by us or we can obtain concessions from the viceroy for the higher-quality buildings and ships or other advantages.

Port Royale 4 InGame Screenshots

Click or tap into the image for a larger view.
In the enlarged view, you can scroll right and left on the edges

Trading

Port Royale 4 Gameplay - Trading
Port Royale 4 Gameplay – Trading

60 cities produce and consume 25 goods. And in each city, prices vary according to supply and demand. There are a lot of opportunities for smart traders to make money here.

So we start by buying their products from existing companies at the beginning and driving them to cities where they cannot be produced but are urgently needed.

The game offers a simple system here by displaying demand and supply with a kind of traffic light in the trade menu. So we can always see directly which goods are urgently needed and thus offer good sales prices. And the other way round, we can also see which goods are available in large quantities in the city, so that we can buy them at a good price.

This part of the game has actually not changed much throughout the whole series, all the way back to Hanse and Pirates. But I think this is a strong point, because exactly this trade part was responsible for the popularity of these ship-trading game series for decades.

Port Royale 4 Combat

Port Royale 4 Beta  - Combat
Port Royale 4 Beta – Combat

With this topic, I have made only few experiences so far, so this part will be rather short.

In the predecessors, the battles were real-time battles. In some predecessors, such as Pirates, it even went all the way to the boarding and musket and sword fighting on deck of the boarded ship.

It often got hectic in these fights. On the one hand, this led to very exciting battles, but often also to a lack of overview and sometimes unfair battle results, because a single click of the mouse could decide between victory and defeat.

As an alternative, there was an automatic simulation based purely on the values of the ships and some randomness.

This was often my choice because real-time fighting was too imprecise and annoying for me. And I got annoyed when my much better ships lost a fight because I clicked slower and less effective than the AI could control their ships.

Here Port Royale 4 goes a completely different way.
The naval battles in Port Royale now become a kind of turn-based board game. This is very unusual if you knew and liked the predecessors.

However, I see chances that this new kind of turn-based strategy could actually fit much better with the rest of the game. More simulation and strategy, less hectic and action-packed fights. The step of the developers to make this change is probably courageous and leads to many discussions. But just because something is new and different, it doesn’t necessarily have to be worse.

Campaign

Port Royale 4 Gameplay
Campaign
Port Royale 4 Gameplay
Campaign

The game currently offers three campaigns. But these are still very raw in the current beta version. In this part of the game you can clearly see the beta status.

In the previous versions of this game series, you could find a lot of stories, intrigues, treasure hunts, historical events, and many other things. But at least so far almost nothing of that is included in this game mode yet.

So I think that in the current beta version of the game, campaign and free play are almost identical.

That’s why I don’t want to go into too much detail. I guess this part of the game is just still a very busy construction site.

Opinion and conclusion

Port Royale 4 Preview Test
Opnion and Conclusion
Port Royale 4 Preview Test
Opnion and Conclusion

When I first started the game, I was impressed by the new graphics engine. The visual representation of the Caribbean Sea is really handsome and very detailed. The freely zoomable and rotatable map is really nice. In this part, Port Royale 4 offers a modern foundation for the game.

I also like the smooth transition between the world map and the city view. The development and design of cities is even more fun. And especially in this area of city expansion, Port Royale 4 offers a lot more than its predecessors.

Thanks to the hex-field system, the city can be planned well and because of the areas of influence, this is also essential.

Besides that there are many of the things in the game that made the whole series and all the sub-series and role models so popular. Port Royale offers a lot of trade, some build-up, a little politics and all that in the well-proven mix.

For my taste the new edition could offer some more new things. The battle system is completely different, the city building is more detailed and the graphics engine is very modern. But I’d like to see more depth in the game, especially in the areas of storytelling, campaign design and drama.

The technical skeleton of the game is already quite well set up so far. The framework of the game is stable and usable, only a few corners and edges left, and then everything will run smoothly.

But for a really good game, Port Royale 4 still needs some meat on the ribs in my opinion. With more actual game content, pirate tales, stories from that time period, historical allusions and most of all some dramaturgical upgrades and twists, the game could be a lot better.

There is still some time left until the release. I hope that the developers will use this to make Port Royale 4 as a positive example to take a step forward in the series. I will definitely continue to give them feedback, and hope that this will help the game to move forward a bit more.

Buy Port Royale 4?

Port Royale 4 
buy it ?
Port Royale 4
buy it ?

As with many early access titles, oh sorry, pre-order betas, I can only recommend to really convinced fans of the series and this trading genre to buy the game at this time.

You can already play it in the current version, and you can certainly have a lot of fun with it. I’m a long time player of such games and I started with Hanse and Pirates and played every part and spin-off of the series and liked almost all of them. But whether this can be transferred to everyone, I dare to doubt.

Because there are still some features missing and some things are still under construction. In many places, there is still a lack of content and it is not yet completely predictable how good the game will be at the end.

If you have been waiting for a new part of this series for a long time, you will probably find what you want here. If you don’t know the series yet, or if you weren’t completely enthusiastic about some of the previous ones, I’d rather wait a few more weeks or months.

Outro:

Are you enthusiastic about trading, ship fights, and the Caribbean setting? Or don’t you really like the colony administration and the pushing of goods? Please write to me below, I am looking forward to your opinion. And just as well I would be enthusiastic about your subscription or a thumb under my YouTube video. You can always find more reviews, news, and guides here on zapzockt.de and then I wish you a great day, have a good time and stay healthy, ciao ciao, yours Zap

Port Royale 4 Website
https://www.kalypsomedia.com/de/port-royale-4-standard-edition

Port Royale 4 Steampage
https://store.steampowered.com/app/1024650/Port_Royale_4

Kalypso Media Twitter:
DE: https://twitter.com/kalypsomedia
INT: https://twitter.com/kalypsomediaINT

Reading – recommendations:

A lot of detailed games news and information about games and gaming can always be found here at ZapZockt.de

There are also many game reviews that might interest you, and if you don’t want to miss anything, subscribe to the newsletter. As a Google News reader, you can also go there and read the latest articles.

Shopping – Tip:

Advertising / Affiliate Link
Games can often be bought cheaper. You can do this legally, reliably, and safely at my partner site Gamesplanet. This game, all DLCs, many more RPG, tactic, and strategy games, or a lot of titles from other genres are available there and almost always much cheaper than at Steam, Uplay, Epic, or other shops.

For every purchase, via this link, I receive a small commission. So you get games cheaper and at the same time support my work, my thanks in advance for that.

Social Media:


Zap

Dirk "Zap" von ZapZockt.de, 40+ Gamer, zockt seit 1980 vor allem Strategie Titel, MMOs und Rollenspiele. Schreibt Game Reviews, Gaming News und auch mal über Technik, Hardware und YouTube. Mehr Infos findest Du unter Mehr über Zap lesen ◄----------► Dirk "Zap" from ZapZockt.de, 40+ gamer, has been gaming since 1980, mainly strategy titles, MMOs and RPGs. Writes game reviews, gaming news and also sometimes about technology, hardware and YouTube. Click here, if you want to read more about Zap.

You may also like...

Port Royale 4 Beta Preview

Port Royale 4 im Vorbesteller Beta Preview – JoHo und ne Buddle voll Rum – Alle Informationen und mein ErstEindruck

Port Royale 4 Beta Preview
Joho und ne Buddle voll Rum
Port Royale 4 Beta Preview
Joho und ne Buddle voll Rum

In diesem Beitrag zeige Ich Dir alle momentan erhältlichen Informationen zur Port Royale 4 Vorbesteller Beta Version. Was ist drin, wie spielt es sich, wie weit ist die Entwicklung und lohnt es sich eventuell für Dich vorzubestellen, um bereits jetzt die Port Royale 4 Beta spielen zu können?

English Version:

Dieser Beitrag ist hier als Text, aber auch als PodCast und als YouTube Video verfügbar. So kannst Du Dir aussuchen, wie Du ihn am liebsten genießen magst.

Video:

PodCast:

Port Royale 4 Beta Preview – Einleitung – Intro

Port Royale 4 Beta Preview
Schiff Titel-Bild
Port Royale 4 Beta Preview
Schiff Titel-Bild

Moin Moin, hier ist der Zap. In diesem Beitrag möchte Ich Dir das Spiel Port Royale 4 vorstellen und einen kleinen Beta Preview geben. Das Spiel wird für PC, Xbox One, PS4 und Nintendo Switch erscheinen.

Port Royale 4 wird von Gaming Minds entwickelt, die vorher mit Railway Empire, Patrizier 4, Port Royale 3 und vielen weiteren Titeln Erfahrungen sammeln konnten.

Da es sich bei diesem Spiel nicht um eine fertige Version handelt, wird es keine Bewertung geben. Und alle Informationen in diesem Beitrag sind nicht endgültig. Es können sich viele Grafiken, Spielfeatures oder Abläufe in den nächsten Monaten eventuell noch stark ändern. Das Spiel ist halt noch mitten drin in der Entwicklung, darum bitte ich das zu berücksichtigen.

Port Royale 4 Beta Version – Release Date

Port Royale 4 Beta Test
Beta Version
Port Royale 4 Beta Test
Beta Version

Port Royale 4 wird voraussichtlich am 25. September 2020 für PC (Steam), PS4, XBox One und Nintendo Switch erscheinen. Es gibt aber momentan bereits eine Closed Beta und ab dem 29. April kann man das Spiel direkt beim Publisher Kalypso vorbestellen.

Vorbesteller erhalten dann auch direkt Zugang zu den aktuellsten PC Beta-Versionen und können mit Ihrem Feedback Einfluss auf die weitere Entwicklung des Spiels nehmen.

Bei anderen Publishern würde man dies Early Access nennen. Kalypso bevorzugt die Formulierung Vorbesteller Beta, aber im Endeffekt ist es weitestgehend das Gleiche.

Port Royale 4 – Hintergrund

Port Royale 4 
Hintergrund Info
Port Royale 4
Hintergrund Info

Port Royale ist eine Wirtschaftssimulation mit starkem Fokus auf Handel, ergänzt mit einigen strategischen Elementen und auch etwas Politik und Kampf.

Die Port Royale Serie spielt dabei in der Karibik des 16. Jahrhunderts. Die ersten Städte der Kolonialmächte Spanien, England, Frankreich und Niederlande sind erst wenige Jahre alt. Kolonien und Plantagen werden gegründet und auch die Aufteilung der einzelnen Gebiete ist noch nicht endgültig festgelegt.

Die Vorgänger von Port Royale 4 basieren grob auf Spielen wie Hanse, Patrizier, Rise of Venice oder vor allem anderen auch das legendäre Pirates von Sid Meier. Die Grundideen dieses Schiffs-Handels- und Kolonie-Verwaltungs-Simulators gehen also bis in die frühen 80er-Jahre zurück.

Schauen wir also mal, was Port Royale 4 nun Neues aus diesem historischen Spielprinzip macht.

Port Royale 4 
Gameplay
Port Royale 4
Gameplay

Port Royale 4 Gameplay

In Port Royale 4 gehören wir meistens einer der 4 Kolonialmächte an. Wir sind vor allem anderen ein Händler, immer auf der Suche nach dem nächsten guten Geschäft. Wir dienen unserem Vize-König, verdienen Geld durch Schiffshandel und Bau von Plantagen und Verarbeitungsbetrieben.

Einen großen Teil unserer Spielzeit verbringen wir also damit, Waren an einem Ort günstig einzukaufen oder selbst zu produzieren und in anderen Orten teuer zu verkaufen.

Mit den Gewinnen erweitern wir unsere Flotte und bauen eigene Betriebe. Im späteren Verlauf werden wir den Handel mehr und mehr mit Handelsrouten automatisieren. Dann wandelt sich das Spiel und wir werden immer weiter in den Bereich Politik, Krieg und Piraterie bzw. Piratenjagd vordringen.

Port Royale 4 Spielmodi

Port Royale 4 Beta Preview 
Spielmodi - Singleplayer - Skirmish - Kampagne
Port Royale 4 Beta Preview
Spielmodi – Singleplayer – Skirmish – Kampagne

Das Spiel bietet einige Tutorial Missionen, die den Einstieg in die teilweise doch recht komplexen Abläufe vereinfachen. Aber keine Angst, es wird nicht zu kompliziert und man kann auch ohne BWL Studium in Port Royale Spaß und Erfolg haben.

Daneben gibt es momentan 3 Kampagnen. Ich gehe davon aus, dass es bald für jede der Kolonial-Mächte eine eigene geben wird. Diese unterscheiden sich zum einen sehr stark durch die verschiedenen Startgebiete. Aber auch die Zeiten, die Vorgaben und Ziele der jeweiligen Vizekönige oder Kolonie-Verwalter sind unterschiedlich.

Als letztes gibt es einen freien Spielmodus, bei dem wir uns einer der vier Seemächte anschließen und uns einen von momentan vier vorgegebenen Charakteren aussuchen. Diese Charaktere haben etwas unterschiedliche Fähigkeiten. So kann als Beispiel die Händlerin überall handeln, ohne erst eine Handelserlaubnis für jede Stadt kaufen zu müssen, sie hat dafür aber doppelt so hohe Anforderungen für Kriegsschiffe.

Multiplayer ist derzeit nicht für Port Royale geplant. Dies empfinde ich als ein ziemliches Manko, denn diese Art von Spiel bietet sich eigentlich an für gemeinsames handeln und aufbauen oder auch für kompetitives Kriegsspiel und Eroberungsfeldzüge.

Vielleicht werden die Entwickler diesen Schwachpunkt später noch beseitigen, aber momentan ist Port Royale 4 ein reines Singleplayer Erlebnis.

Gameplay – Schiffe

Port Royale 4
Schiffe
Port Royale 4
Schiffe

Die Schiffe sind in Port Royale 4 natürlich ein extrem wichtiger Faktor. Es gab zu dieser Zeit fast gar keine Landverbindungen zwischen den Städten, und wenn, dann waren sie sehr gefährlich. Also sind wir mit unseren Schiffen für den Warenhandel und die Grundversorgung der Städte verantwortlich.

Zur Auswahl stehen hier zu Beginn fünf verschiedene Modelle, die sich in ihren Werten stark unterscheiden. Sie variieren in Schnelligkeit, Ladekapazität, Tiefgang, Anzahl der Besatzung, Wendigkeit, Deckhöhe, Haltbarkeit und natürlich dem Wert.

Handelsschiffe können gar keine Kanonen aufnehmen, dafür aber viele Waren. Und umgekehrt strotzen die Kriegsschiffe nur so vor Waffen, haben aber dann nur einen kleinen Laderaum. Da wir aber im Laufe des Spiels mit Piraten kämpfen müssen und auch Kriege zwischen den Kolonial-Mächten ausbrechen, werden wir beide Sorten dringend brauchen.

Schiffe werden in Werften gehandelt und gebaut. Dort können wir entweder alte Modelle kaufen, die zufällig und in begrenzter Menge zum Verkauf stehen. Oder wir können eigene Bauaufträge vergeben, müssen dann aber längere Zeit warten bis der Bau abgeschlossen ist.

Die Auswahl der Schiffe beginnt mit kleinen wendigen Handels-Schonern, geht über die größeren Händlerschiffe wie Fleuten und Briggs, hin zu den am Anfang noch nicht verfügbaren Galeonen und Kriegs-Galeonen. Diese Großschiffe lassen sich über eine Art Skillbaum freischalten, für den wir aber erst Ruhm erwerben müssen. Vielleicht wird es später auch noch mehr Schiffe geben, das wird man abwarten müssen. Geplant sind wohl 18 verschiedene Modelle, die sind aber bisher nicht alle verfügbar.

Gameplay – Städte

Port Royale 4 Gameplay
Kolonien - Städte
Port Royale 4 Gameplay
Kolonien – Städte

Die Karibik von Port Royale 4 simuliert insgesamt 60 verschiedene Städte. Jede Stadt hat andere Voraussetzungen. So gibt es insgesamt 25 verschiedene Waren, aber eine Stadt kann nur 7 davon maximal selbst herstellen. Aber natürlich besteht Bedarf für alle Waren.

Aus diesem Bedarf und der Versorgung mit den entsprechenden Waren entwickeln sich die Städte stark unterschiedlich. Jede Stadt gehört einem der 4 Reiche an und entwickelt sich dadurch auch anders.

Als Spieler beginnen wir mit einer Heimatstadt, in der wir eigene Betriebe oder Gebäude für die Stadt errichten können. Neben 25 Gebäudetypen für die einzelnen Waren, können und müssen wir auch noch 15 allgemeine Stadtgebäude errichten, wenn wir eine Stadt optimal wachsen lassen wollen.

Dies beginnt mit Wohnhäusern, ohne die die erforderliche Menge an Arbeitern in der Stadt eventuell nicht ausreichen wird, geht über Kneipen, Kirchen, Hospital und Friedhof bis hin zu Baumeistern, Märkten, Lagerhäusern und der Werft.

Der Ausbau der Städte findet hier auf einer Hexfeld-Karte statt. Dadurch ist die Stadterweiterung gut planbar. Sehr viele Gebäude haben nun positive und negative Wirkungen auf andere Gebäude.

So kann eine Farm nicht gut funktionieren, wenn nicht ausreichend Wohngebäude in der Nähe sind, andererseits sind Betriebe in der Nähe von Wohngebäuden negativ für das Wohlbefinden der Einwohner. Positiv wirken hingegen dann andere Gebäude wie Kirche oder Kneipe.

Hier kann man einiges optimieren durch geschickten Aufbau der Städte. Aber anders rum kann man auch manches falsch machen. Dies ist jetzt zu Beginn auf jeden Fall erstmal eine interessante Sache. Inwieweit dies langfristig wirklich motivierend wirkt, muss man dann abwarten.

Ich kann mir vorstellen, wenn man die Grundstruktur einer Stadt erstmal gut hinbekommen hat, wird man eher immer wieder das gleiche Schema aufbauen. Aber vielleicht überraschen mich die Entwickler noch, mit lokalen Eigenheiten in den einzelnen Städten, die dieses Schema-F Bauen verhindern?

Jede Stadt entwickelt hier ihre eigenen Engpässe oder auch Überschüsse. Und wir können dies zu unserem finanziellen Vorteil ausnutzen oder auch durch die Förderung des Wachstums der Städte Ruhm und Ansehen bekommen. Diese brauchen wir, damit gute Kapitäne sich von uns anheuern lassen oder wir beim Vizekönig Konzessionen für die höherwertigen Gebäude und Schiffe oder auch andere Vorteile erwerben können.

Port Royale 4 InGame Screenshots

Handel

Port Royale 4 Gameplay - Handel
Port Royale 4 Gameplay – Handel

60 Städte produzieren und verbrauchen 25 Waren. Und in jeder Stadt variieren die Preise, je nach Angebot und Nachfrage. Hier ergeben sich für kluge Händler eine Menge Möglichkeiten Geld zu verdienen.

So beginnen wir damit, am Anfang bereits vorhandenen Betrieben ihre Produkte abzukaufen und sie in Städte zu fahren, wo diese nicht herstellbar sind, aber dringend gebraucht werden.

Das Spiel bietet hier ein einfaches System, indem es Bedarf und Versorgung mit einer Art Ampel im Handelsmenü darstellt. So können wir immer direkt sehen, welche Waren dringend benötigt werden und damit gute Verkaufspreise bieten. Und anders herum auch einfach sehen, welche Waren in der Stadt in großer Menge vorhanden sind, so dass wir sie günstig aufkaufen können.

Dieser Teil des Spiels ist eigentlich im Laufe der gesamten Serie bis hin zurück zu Hanse und Pirates kaum verändert worden. Dies halte ich aber für einen starken Punkt, denn genau dieser Handelsteil sorgte über Jahrzehnte für die Beliebtheit dieser Schiffs-Handels-Spiele-Serien.

Port Royale 4 Kampf

Port Royale 4 Beta  - Kampf
Port Royale 4 Beta – Kampf

Hier habe ich bisher nur wenige Erfahrungen gemacht, von daher wird dieser Teil eher kurz werden.

In den Vorgängern waren die Schlachten Echtzeitkämpfe. In manchen Vorbildern, wie in Pirates, ging es sogar direkt bis zum Entern und zum Musketen- und Schwertkampf an Board des geenterten Schiffs.

Es wurde oft hektisch in den Kämpfen. Dies führte auf der einen Seite zu sehr spannenden Schlachten aber oft auch zu mangelnder Übersicht und manchmal unfairen Kampfausgängen, weil ein einziger Verklicker mit der Maus über Sieg und Niederlage entscheiden konnte.

Es gab als Alternative eine automatische Simulation, die rein auf den Werten der Schiffe und etwas Zufall basierte.

Dies war bisher dann oft meine Wahl, da mir das Echtzeit-Kämpfen meistens zu unpräzise und zu nervig war. Und ich mich dann geärgert habe, wenn meine viel besseren Schiffe einen Kampf verloren haben, weil ich langsamer und weniger effektiv geklickt habe, als die KI ihre Schiffe steuern konnte.

Hier geht Port Royale 4 einen ganz anderen Weg.
Die Seeschlachten in Port Royale werden nun zu einer Art Rundenmodus Brettspiel. Das ist erstmal sehr ungewohnt, wenn man die Vorgänger kannte und mochte.

Allerdings sehe ich Chancen, dass diese neue Art von Runden-Strategie eigentlich viel besser zum Rest des Spiels passen könnte. Mehr Simulation und Strategie, weniger Hektik und actionlastige Kämpfe. Der Schritt der Entwickler, diese Änderung vorzunehmen, ist vermutlich mutig und führt zu vielen Diskussionen. Aber nur, weil etwas neu und anders ist, muss es ja nicht zwangsläufig schlechter sein.

Kampagne

Port Royale 4 Gameplay - Kampagne
Port Royale 4 Gameplay – Kampagne

Das Spiel bietet derzeit drei Kampagnen. Aber diese sind in der derzeitigen Beta-Version noch sehr roh. In diesem Teil des Spiels merkt man dann den Beta-Status sehr deutlich.

In den Vorgängern bekam man hier einiges an Geschichten, Intrigen, Schatzsuchen, geschichtlichen Ereignissen und vielen anderen Dingen geboten. Doch davon ist zumindest bisher noch fast gar nichts in diesem Spielmodus enthalten.

So finde ich, dass in der aktuellen Beta-Fassung des Spiels, sich Kampagne und freies Spiel fast gar nicht voneinander unterscheiden.

Darum will ich auch nicht all zu sehr darauf eingehen. Ich denke, dieser Spielteil ist einfach noch eine ganz akute Baustelle.

Meinung und Fazit

Port Royale 4 Test
Meinung und Fazit
Port Royale 4 Test
Meinung und Fazit

Als ich das Spiel das erste Mal gestartet habe, war ich beeindruckt von der neuen Grafik-Engine. Die optische Darstellung der Karibik ist wirklich ansehnlich und detailliert. Die frei zoombare und drehbare Karte macht wirklich was her. In diesem Teil bietet Port Royale 4 ein modernes Grundgerüst für das Spiel.

Gerade auch der fließende Übergang zwischen Weltkarte und Stadt-Ansicht gefällt mir sehr gut. Das Ausbauen und Gestalten der Städte macht so gleich noch mehr Spaß. Und auch besonders in diesem Bereich der Stadt-Erweiterung bietet Port Royale 4 einiges mehr als seine Vorgänger.

Durch das Hexfeld-System ist die Stadt gut planbar und durch die Einflussbereiche ist das auch notwendig.

Ansonsten sind viele der Dinge im Spiel, die die ganze Serie und alle Nebenserien und Vorbilder so beliebt gemacht haben. Port Royale bietet viel Handel, etwas Aufbau, ein wenig Politik und das alles im bewährten Mix.

Für meinen Geschmack könnte die Neuauflage noch etwas mehr Neues bieten. Das Kampfsystem ist komplett anders, der Stadtbau ist detaillierter und die Grafik-Engine ist sehr modern. Aber ich würde mir da noch mehr Spieltiefe, besonders auch im Bereich Storytelling, Kampagnen-Design und Dramatik wünschen.

Das technische Grundgerüst des Spiels ist so weit schon recht gut aufgestellt. Das Gerippe des Spiels ist stabil und brauchbar, nur wenige Ecken und Kanten noch, und dann läuft das alles rund.

Aber für ein richtig gutes Spiel, braucht Port Royale 4 nach meinem Gefühl noch etwas Fleisch auf den Rippen. Mit mehr tatsächlichen Spielinhalten, Piratengeschichten, Geschichten aus der damaligen Zeit, historischen Anspielungen und vor allem einigen dramaturgischen Aufwertungen und Wendungen, könnte das Spiel noch sehr viel besser werden.

Es bleibt noch einiges an Zeit bis zum Release. Ich hoffe, die Entwickler werden diese nutzen, damit Port Royale 4 als positives Beispiel einen Schritt vorwärts macht in der Serie. Ich werde Ihnen auf jeden Fall weiterhin Feedback geben, und hoffe, dass damit das Spiel noch etwas vorwärtskommen wird.

Port Royale 4 kaufen oder vorbestellen?

Port Royale 4
kaufen oder vorbestellen
Port Royale 4
kaufen oder vorbestellen

Wie bei vielen Early Access Titeln, oh Verzeihung, Vorbesteller Betas, kann ich nur wirklich sehr überzeugten Fans der Serie und dieses Handels-Genres empfehlen, sich das Spiel zu diesem Zeitpunkt zu kaufen.

Man kann es schon spielen in der jetzigen Version, und man kann damit auch bestimmt eine Menge Spaß haben. Ich bin ein langjähriger Spieler solcher Games und habe mit Hanse und Pirates angefangen und jeden Teil und Nebenteil der Serie gespielt und fast alle davon gemocht. Aber ob das auf jeden übertragbar sein kann, wage ich zu bezweifeln.

Denn es fehlen noch so einige Features und manches ist noch Baustelle momentan. An vielen Stellen mangelt es noch an Inhalten und es ist noch nicht völlig absehbar, wie gut das Spiel wirklich am Ende sein wird.

Falls Du schon lange auf einen neuen Teil dieser Serie gewartet hast, wirst Du hier vermutlich finden, was Du möchtest. Falls Du die Serie noch gar nicht kennst, oder bei einigen Vorgängern nicht völlig begeistert warst, würde ich lieber noch einige Wochen oder Monate warten.

Outro:

Begeistern Dich Handel, Schiffs-Kämpfe und das Karibik-Setting? Oder spricht Dich diese Kolonie-Verwaltung und Waren-Schieberei nicht so richtig an? Bitte schreib mir unten, ich freue mich auf Deine Meinung. Und genauso würde ich mich über Dein Abo oder einen Daumen begeistern. Mehr Reviews, News und Guides findest Du immer auf zapzockt.de und dann wünsche ich Dir einen tollen Tag, lass es Dir gut gehen und bleib bitte gesund, ciao ciao, Dein Zap

Port Royale 4 Website
https://www.kalypsomedia.com/de/port-royale-4-standard-edition

Port Royale 4 Steampage
https://store.steampowered.com/app/1024650/Port_Royale_4

Kalypso Media Twitter:
DE: https://twitter.com/kalypsomedia
INT: https://twitter.com/kalypsomediaINT

Sehr viele detaillierte Spiele News und Informationen rund um Games und Gaming findest Du immer hier bei ZapZockt.de – Als Steam-User kannst Du auch dem ZapZockt Steam Kurator Eintrag folgen, um direkt auf der Plattform immer über meine Reviews informiert zu werden.

Es gibt auch viele Game-Reviews, die Dich interessieren könnten, und wenn Du nichts verpassen möchtest, abonniere den Newsletter. Als Google News Leser kannst Du auch direkt dort, immer die neusten Artikel lesen.

Shopping – Tipp:

Werbung / Affiliate Link
Spiele kann man oft günstiger kaufen. Legal, zuverlässig und sicher geht das bei meiner Partnerseite Gamesplanet. Dieses Spiel, alle DLCs, viele weitere Taktik, Strategie und andere Titel gibt es dort im Angebot und fast immer sehr viel billiger als bei Steam, Uplay, Epic oder anderen Shops.

Für jeden Kauf über diesen Link erhalte ich eine kleine Provision. So bekommst Du Spiele günstiger und unterstützt gleichzeitig meine Arbeit, mein Dank im Voraus dafür.

Social Media:


Zap

Dirk "Zap" von ZapZockt.de, 40+ Gamer, zockt seit 1980 vor allem Strategie Titel, MMOs und Rollenspiele. Schreibt Game Reviews, Gaming News und auch mal über Technik, Hardware und YouTube. Mehr Infos findest Du unter Mehr über Zap lesen ◄----------► Dirk "Zap" from ZapZockt.de, 40+ gamer, has been gaming since 1980, mainly strategy titles, MMOs and RPGs. Writes game reviews, gaming news and also sometimes about technology, hardware and YouTube. Click here, if you want to read more about Zap.

Das könnte dich auch interessieren …

scroll to top - nach oben