Tropico Mobile Test – Review

Tropico Mobile Test – One Tropico 3 to go, please… – Review – The Tropico Game App for iOS and Android

The Tropico Mobile Test – The Tropico Mobile Game App for Android and iOS in Review (German/English, Video with many subtitles). Feral Interactive has converted Tropico 3 for mobile devices like mobile phones and tablets, iPhone and iPad. In this video we watch the app, I introduce the game and tell you something about my opinion.

German Version:

This article is available here as a text, but there is also a YouTube video (German Voiceover, with subtitles in many different languages). So you can choose how you want to enjoy it.

Tropico Mobile Review – Video

(German Voiceover, with subtitles in many different languages)

Tropico for Android and iOS Test – Intro

Moin Moin, here’s the Zap. In this episode, I introduce the mobile game Tropico. This was released some time ago for iOS and Android and has just been extended with a free AddOn. I’ll show you what the game can do, how it works and at the end give my opinion and a rating. Above all, I want to give you the necessary information that you might need to decide for yourself if the game could be something for you or not.

The publisher has kindly provided me with a free test sample. However, this has no influence on my report and my evaluation.

Tropico Mobile – Prologue

Tropico Mobile Game Review - Prologue
Tropico Mobile Game Review – Prologue

Tropico is a franchise that has existed on the PC since 2001. There are now six parts of the series and all are quite popular. Some have also appeared on consoles such as Playstation 4 and Xbox One. Now Tropico is also available in a mobile version for the first time.

Remark about me: I am “still” no expert for mobile titles, but I play more and more on mobile devices and I also have a lot of PC gaming experience. However, mobile games are becoming more and more important for the market and on the other hand also more mature and complex games. They are developing at least partly away from Clicky strong-colored cash shop stalls towards real games. That’s why I think that some of the better games deserve a detailed review.

Tropico Mobile – What’s so special about it?

Tropico Mobile - What's so special about it?
Tropico Mobile – What’s so special about it?

With the variant of Tropico for mobile devices, developer Feral Interactive and publisher Kalypso Media have taken an unusual path in many ways.

For one thing, Tropico, unlike almost all mobile games, is a full-price game. This means you buy it once for a fixed price and then you own the whole game.

So there is no in-game shop, no other monetizations, no content behind paywalls and no artificial time delays that you can buy away for real money. All these features are otherwise included in almost every mobile game.

These somewhat shady monetizations have also earned the mobile games market a pretty bad reputation. And Kalypso deliberately goes a completely different way here. That’s something you have to mention urgently and I would like to praise it especially.

The next special feature is that the game can be played offline. No permanent online synchronization is required, no game abort in the radio-hole. Even if the data volume should be empty, Tropico still runs and you can have fun in the Caribbean. Once installed, the game only needs an online connection from time to time for a possible update or for a backup of the savegames in the cloud.

And then the present Tropico version is an unexpected backflip when you look at the actual series. While on the PC, Playstation and XBox El Presidente the sixth version of the game already suppresses its underlings, Tropico Mobile is a very exact implementation of Tropico 3 from 2009.

Reading recommendation:

Tropico 6 Tips and Tricks (Part 1/3)

Tropico 6 Gameplay Videos (German)

More Reviews by Zap Zockt

Brief – Summary Tropico

Brief - Summary Tropico
What kind of Game is Tropico
Brief – Summary Tropico
What kind of Game is Tropico

If you have never heard of Tropico before, a very brief summary of what Tropico is all about.

Tropico is a satirical simulation of states with a high economic share, but also numerous political and social aspects. It mainly takes place during the Cold War period, but also, depending on the series, has some side trips back to the time of the conquest of the Caribbean or into the future.

We play El Presidente, who with the support of his advisors Penultimo or in this part Juanito governs his people, pampers or suppresses, depending on the situation or preferences. We are responsible for all construction work on the island, all political decrees, all diplomacy.

And so, on the one hand, we have to keep an eye on our treasury, but also balance the mood among the people and the mood of the superpowers. Ideally, we always put some money aside to replenish our bank account in Switzerland. And all this without being voted out or chased out of the palace by rebels.

Tropico Mobile Version Review – Technology

Tropico Mobile Version Review - Technology
Tropico Mobile Version Review – Technology

Transferring a game that is actually played with a mouse and keyboard to the small mobile screen that is operated with touch control requires special adjustments.

The camera control is completely controlled with one and two-finger swiping gestures. Whether panning, zooming or tilting the camera, everything is easy to control after a short learning phase.

On my test device, a Huawei P30, everything ran absolutely smoothly. And this even though the program told me that my device was not compatible. On top of that, I chose the fullscreen mode, where the program warns me again that unexpected errors could occur. But everything ran smoothly and without any problems except for small camera hoppers.

The menus are almost 1:1 comparable with the PC version, but for my taste, they partly take up too much space on the screen. In some submenus, as for example in the building settings, one sometimes has to scroll around in small areas to find the desired information or options.

Some important things are rather hidden in the menus. But with some playing time you will get used to the nested menu construction. This is at least partly due to the small space on the screen.

Here the developers had to compromise between ease of use and legibility of the menu items and the possibility of still being able to operate the menu items even with larger fingers. I understand that, even if it is sometimes a bit of a search at the beginning to find certain options.

But now it is difficult for me to judge how well this works for newcomers. Because I knew about most of the game elements that they should have certain options and then I searched for them. But I can’t say how well it works when a newcomer tries out the game without this pre-knowledge.

Tropico Mobile Test – Construction Mode

Tropico Mobile Game Review - Construction Mode
Tropico Mobile Game Review – Construction Mode

The developers have introduced some particularly complex innovations into the construction mode. After all, touch control is far less precise than clicking with a mouse.

In order for this to work better, there is a grid view in which the world is displayed vertically from above in a kind of blueprint. But also in the 3D view there are some new control elements, like arrows to rotate or automatic docking of houses which need street connection.

On the whole, I find this part very well done. It takes some getting used to, but then it’s almost always easy to put your buildings exactly where you want them to be.

Tropico Mobile – Gameplay

Tropico Mobile Game Review - Gameplay
Tropico Mobile Game Review – Gameplay

Anyone who is familiar with Tropico will feel right at home here. And those who also remember Tropico 3 will recognize that this mobile offshoot is an almost 100% implementation of the original Tropico 3.

The campaign missions, the voice output, the music, the tasks, the problems of the inhabitants, everything is as you know it from the PC game. And if you don’t know the original game, there is a tutorial and an extended tutorial mission. These provide a nice introduction to the interface and the game itself. Almost everyone should be able to cope with it.

Tropico Mobile Game Review – Scope and Features

Tropico Mobile Game Review - Umfang und Features
Tropico Mobile Game Review – Umfang und Features

Tropico Mobile offers the complete Tropico 3 campaign with a total of 15 complex missions and 10 additional missions from the Absolute Power DLC of the original game. With these 25 missions alone, you can probably have well over a hundred hours of fine dictator fun.

And if that’s not enough there are 28 Sandbox Mode cards to choose from. Here you can make numerous specifications for the start and finish conditions so that there is also a high replay value.

There’s a long list of successes or achievements that create additional incentives for players who want everything to be complete.

Tropico for iOS and Android Test – El Presidente

We can choose our own dictator from a variety of known dictators of world history. There are personalities like Che Guevara, Fidel Castro, Pinochet, Peron and also some fictional figures to choose from.

Tropico for iOS and Android Test
El Presidente - Character Custimization
Tropico for iOS and Android Test
El Presidente – Character Custimization

As befits Tropico, we can also create our very own El Presidente with numerous costumes, hairstyles, hats, and accessories according to our ideas. Even female dictators can oppress their people here.

In addition, the game, like its role model, offers the possibility to select several settings for the background story for our El Presidente. There are a number of different choices for how we came to power, negative traits like alcoholism or gambling addiction, miserliness or paranoia. And each option has specific advantages and disadvantages that can have a strong impact on the gameplay.

Tropico Mobile App – Opinion and Conclusion

Tropico Mobile App - Opinion and Conclusion
Tropico Mobile App – Opinion and Conclusion

When the game was announced a few months ago, I was fascinated by the idea of getting a game for mobile phones that doesn’t require a cash shop or in-game monetization. At first, I was rather skeptical whether Kalypso would keep its word here. But buy the game once and everything is included. Kalypso kept their word, thanks for that.

When the game came out, the hardware requirements were far beyond what my mobile phone at the time could provide. Now with my new P30, I can finally enter the mobile dictator world. And I am amazed.

Speaking of devices and which device can start the game. The game does not run on every device. There is a compatibility list which devices Tropico can play, but it doesn’t seem to be complete. When I started the game I was told that it is not supported. But it still works great.

All predecessor models are on the list, but the current device versions were simply not maintained. This list should be kept more carefully and updated regularly by the developer. Otherwise, you might think as a customer, “Oh, my phone is not on the list, then I’d rather not buy it”.

I played through Tropico 3 several times on my PC. Even if the successors sometimes had better graphics or more buildings and options. Tropico 3 was a special milestone of the series and I’m very happy that it has been converted. Ok, but for someone who didn’t know Tropico 3 before, this probably doesn’t play a big role.

In general, one can say, “Hats off, well done Feral Interactive”. I haven’t seen such an accurate and complete conversion of a PC game to a mobile device before.

And the adaptations of the control system to the completely different control system have also been very successful except for a few outliers. Sometimes the camera suddenly jumps across the island. It’s not clear to me where this camera jumping comes from, it’s annoying at that moment, but it’s not really bad.

Sometimes setting the buildings in 3D mode is a bit tricky, often my own fingers are in my sight. But for that, there is the new 2D Planner mode, which solves the problem very comfortably. From time to time, a menu will close unintentionally or a construction process will be aborted.

The menus are too nested in some areas. Here we tried to use the limited space effectively. Unfortunately, the more important elements are placed further back, so that you have to search for them. And beginners may not even be able to find some options.

But for me, at least, these are small things. This annoys me for a moment when it occurs, but don’t cloud the fun in the long run. That’s why that’s actually complaining on a high level.

Otherwise, the proven Tropico system also works perfectly on mobile phones. And even though I already know the levels from the original, I really enjoy it.

And for the moments when you’re on the road or waiting for something, it’s a great activity. It’s not a Click-Here and Click-There a Little Bored Mobile Game, but a complete and complex construction game. Much better than almost anything I’ve ever played at mobile games before.

Tropico Mobile Review – Rating

Tropico Mobile Review - Rating
Tropico Mobile Review – Rating

For 12,99€ you get here a very extensive product. If you like city building and management games, Tropico Mobile is a great thing. For a medium price, you get a very well-rounded and complete game with which you can have many hours of fun. So the price-performance ratio is definitely very positive.

For a somewhat outdated basic game that already belonged to the good games of its genre at that time, I set a baseline score of 85%. For the recycling of old PC content, I deduct 5% and for the not quite perfect control and the complicated menu design, I deduct another 3%. For the exceptional positive feature that there is no cash shop and it is a complete Pc game implementation with very long playability, I give 5% as a bonus again.

This results in a final result of 85 – 5 – 3 + 5, so at the end that will be an 82% rating. I hope that I can see more such mobile titles in the future, as Feral Interactive has demonstrated here.

Tropico Mobile App (Android / iOS)

Zap from ZapZockt.de

Tropico Mobile Review - Tropico to go - Tropico Mobile Game
The Tropico Mobile Test – The Tropico Mobile Game App for Android and iOS in Review (German/English, Video with many subtitles). Feral Interactive has converted Tropico 3 for mobile devices like mobile phones and tablets, iPhone and iPad. In this video we watch the app, I introduce the game and tell you something about my opinion.
complete PC game on Mobile
Adaptation for Touchscreen steering
complete DLC for free
no Cash shop
List of compatible devices not correct
good price

Summary

For 12,99€ you get here a very extensive product. If you like city building and management games, Tropico Mobile is a great thing. For a medium price, you get a very well-rounded and complete game with which you can have many hours of fun. So the price-performance ratio is definitely very positive.

4.2

Outro

How do you like what you have seen about Tropico Mobile so far? Have you already played the game or would you like to buy it? Do you have any questions about the game? I would be happy to receive any comments and discuss them with you.

Then I wish you a great day, let it be well with you, ciao ciao, your Zap

Release Trailer: https://youtu.be/YmhwPB_ZqBk

Publisher Website: https://www.feralinteractive.com/de/mobile-games/tropico/

Tropico Mobile in Google Store: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.feralinteractive.tropico3&gl=DE

Tropico in Apple Store: https://geo.itunes.apple.com/app/tropico/id1264531625?mt=12

Reading recommendation:

Tropico 6 Tips and Tricks (Part 1/3)

Tropico 6 Gameplay Videos (German)

More Reviews by Zap Zockt

Reading – recommendations:

A lot of detailed games news and information about games and gaming can always be found here at ZapZockt.de

There are also many game reviews that might interest you, and if you don’t want to miss anything, subscribe to the newsletter. As a Google News reader you can also go there and read the latest articles.

Shopping – Tip:

Ad / Affiliate Link
Games can often be bought cheaper. Legal, reliable and safe is the way to do it at my partner site Gamesplanet. This game, all DLCs, many more tactics, strategy, and many more titles are available there and almost always much cheaper than at Steam, Uplay, Epic, or other shops.

Steam Keys günstig kaufen - Buy steam keys cheap - Game keys Spiele Keys
Buy games cheaper

For every purchase, via this link, I receive a small commission. So you get games cheaper and at the same time support my work, my thanks in advance for that.

Social Media:


Zap

Dirk "Zap" von ZapZockt.de, 40+ Gamer, zockt seit 1980 vor allem Strategie Titel, MMOs und Rollenspiele. Schreibt Game Reviews, Gaming News und auch mal über Technik, Hardware und YouTube. Mehr Infos findest Du unter Mehr über Zap lesen ◄----------► Dirk "Zap" from ZapZockt.de, 40+ gamer, has been gaming since 1980, mainly strategy titles, MMOs and RPGs. Writes game reviews, gaming news and also sometimes about technology, hardware and YouTube. Click here, if you want to read more about Zap.

You may also like...

Tropico Mobile Test – Review

Tropico Mobile Test – Einmal Tropico 3 to go bitte… – Review – Die Tropico Game App für iOS und Android

Der Tropico Mobile Test – Die Tropico Mobile Game App für Android und iOS im Review (Deutsch/English, Video with many subtitles). Feral Interactive hat Tropico 3 für Mobile Geräte, wie Handy und Tablet, iPhone und iPad konvertiert. In diesem Video schauen wir uns die App an, ich stell das Spiel vor und erzähl Dir etwas über meine Meinung dazu.

Dieser Beitrag ist hier als Text verfügbar, es gibt aber auch ein YouTube Video. So kannst Du Dir aussuchen, wie du ihn geniessen magst.

► Video

► intro

Moin Moin, hier ist der Zap. In dieser Episode stell ich dir das Mobile Spiel Tropico vor. Dies ist vor einiger Zeit für iOS und Android erschienen und wurde gerade noch um ein kostenloses AddOn erweitert. Ich zeige Dir was das Spiel kann, wie es funktioniert und gebe am Ende auch meine Meinung und eine Wertung ab. Vor allem möchte ich Dir aber die nötigen Informationen geben, die Du eventuell brauchst, um für dich selbst entscheiden zu können, ob das Spiel etwas für dich sein könnte oder nicht.

Der Publisher hat mir freundlicherweise ein kostenloses Testmuster zur Verfügung gestellt. Dies hat aber auf meinen Bericht und meine Bewertung keinen Einfluss.

Tropico Mobile Game Review - Einmal Tropico 3 to go bitte - iOS & Android Test - deutsch-German 01 Vorwort
Tropico Mobile Game Review – Vorwort

► Tropico Mobile – Vorwort

Tropico ist ein Franchise, das auf dem PC bereits seit 2001 existiert. Es gibt mittlerweile sechs Teile der Serie und alle sind recht beliebt. Einige sind auch auf den Konsolen wie Playstation 4 und Xbox One erschienen. Nun gibt es Tropico erstmals auch in einer mobilen Variante.

Anmerkung noch zu mir: Ich bin „noch“ kein Experte für Mobile Titel, spiele aber mehr und mehr auf mobilen Geräten und habe außerdem sehr viel PC Gaming Erfahrung. Allerdings werden Mobile Games immer wichtiger für den Markt und andererseits aber auch ausgereiftere und komplexere Spiele. Sie entwickeln sich zumindest teilweise weg von Clicky-Bunty-Cash-Shop-Buden hin zu richtigen Games. Darum denke ich, dass einige der besseren Games dann auch ein ausführliches Review verdient haben.

► Tropico Mobile – Was ist besonders daran?

Tropico Mobile Game Review - Einmal Tropico 3 to go bitte - iOS & Android Test - deutsch-German 02 Tropico Mobile - Was ist besonders daran
Tropico Mobile – Was ist besonders daran

Mit der Variante von Tropico für mobile Endgeräte geht Entwickler Feral Interactive gemeinsam mit dem Publisher Kalypso Media einen auf vielerlei Weise ungewöhnlichen Weg.

Zum einen ist Tropico, völlig anders als fast alle Mobile Spiele, ein Vollpreis Spiel. Dies bedeutet, man kauft es einmal für einen festen Preis und danach besitzt man aber auch das ganze Spiel.

So gibt es keinen InGame Shop, keine anderweitigen Monetarisierungen, kein Content hinter Paywalls und keine künstlichen Zeitverzögerungen, die man für Echtgeld wieder wegkaufen kann. All diese Features sind sonst ja in eigentlich fast jedem Mobile Spiel enthalten.

Diese etwas schattigen Monetarisierungen haben dem Mobile Spielemarkt auch einen ziemlich schlechten Ruf eingebracht. Und Kalypso geht hier ganz bewußt einen völlig anderen Weg. Das muss man dringend erwähnen und ich möchte dies auch besonders loben.

Die nächste Besonderheit ist, dass das Spiel offline spielbar ist. Keine permanenten Online-Synchronisierungen sind erforderlich, kein Spielabbruch im Funkloch. Auch wenn das Datenvolumen leer sein sollte, Tropico läuft trotzdem und man kann auch dann Spaß in der Karibik haben. Einmal installiert, braucht das Spiel höchstens ab und an mal für ein eventuelles Update eine Online-Verbindung oder für eine Sicherung der Savegames in der Cloud.

Und dann ist die vorliegende Tropico Version ein unerwarteter Salto Rückwärts, wenn man die eigentliche Serie betrachtet. Während auf dem PC, auf Playstation und XBox El Presidente bereits in der sechsten Fassung des Spiels seine Untertanen schickaniert, ist Tropico Mobile eine sehr exakte Umsetzung von Tropico 3 aus dem Jahr 2009.

► Lese Empfehlung:

Tropico 6 Tipps und Tricks (Folge 1/3)

Tropico 6 Gameplay Videos

Mehr Reviews von Zap Zockt

Tropico Mobile Game Review - Einmal Tropico 3 to go bitte - iOS & Android Test - deutsch-German 03 Kurz-Zusammenfassung Was ist Tropico für ein Spiel
Kurz-Zusammenfassung Was ist Tropico für ein Spiel

► Kurz – Zusammenfassung Tropico

Falls Du wider erwarten noch nie etwas von Tropico gehört haben solltest, eine ganz kurze Zusammenfassung, worum es bei Tropico geht.

Tropico ist eine satirische Staaten-Simulation mit einem hohen Wirtschafts-Anteil, aber auch zahlreichen politischen und sozialen Aspekten. Es spielt hauptsächlich in der Zeit des kalten Krieges, hat aber auch, je nach Serien Teil Abstecher bis zurück in die Zeit der Eroberung der Karibik oder bis hin in die Zukunft.

Wir spielen El Presidente, der mit der Unsterstützung seiner Berater Penultimo oder in diesem Teil Juanito sein Volk regiert, verwöhnt oder schickaniert, je nach Situation oder Vorlieben. Wir sind verantwortlich für alle Baumaßnahmen auf der Insel, alle politischen Erlasse, alle Diplomatie.

Und so müssen wir zum einen unsere Staatskasse im Auge behalten, aber auch die Stimmung im Volk und die Laune der Supermächte ausbalancieren. Im Idealfall schaffen wir immer wieder etwas Geld beiseite um unser Bankkonto in der Schweiz aufzufüllen. Und all das, möglichst ohne Abgewählt oder von Rebellen aus dem Palast gejagt zu werden.

Tropico Mobile Game Review - Einmal Tropico 3 to go bitte - iOS & Android Test - deutsch-German 04 Tropico Mobile Version - Technik
Tropico Mobile Game Review – Technik

► Tropico Mobile Version – Technik

Ein Spiel, dass eigentlich mit Maus und Tastatur gespielt wird, auf den kleinen und mit Touchsteuerung zu bedienenden Mobile Screen zu bringen, erfordert besondere Anpassungen.

Die Kamera-Steuerung wird komplett mit ein und zwei Finger Wischgesten gesteuert. Egal ob Kamera-Schwenks, zoomen oder kippen der Kamera, alles ist nach kurzer Einlernphase gut zu steuern.

Auf meinem Testgerät, einem Huawei P30, lief dies auch alles absolut flüssig. Und das obwohl das Programm mir sagte, dass mein Gerät nicht kompatibel sei. Obendrein habe ich dann auch noch den Fullscreen Modus gewählt, wo das Programm nochmals warnt, dass unerwartete Fehler auftreten könnten. Aber alles lief flüssig und bis auf kleine Kamera-Hüpfer eigentlich ohne Probleme.

Die Menüs sind fast 1:1 mit der PC Version vergleichbar, allerdings nehmen sie für meinen Geschmack teilweise zu viel Platz auf dem Bildschirm ein. In manchen Untermenüs, wie zum Beispiel bei den Gebäude-Einstellungen muss man manchmal in kleinen Bereichen nochmals rumscrollen, um die gewünschten Infos oder Optionen zu finden.

Einige wichtige Dinge sind eher versteckt in den Menüs. Aber mit etwas Spielzeit gewöhnt man sich an die verschachtelte Menü-Bauweise. Dies ist halt teilweise zumindest dem geringen Platz auf dem Bildschirm geschuldet.

Tropico Mobile Game Review - Einmal Tropico 3 to go bitte - iOS & Android Test - deutsch-German 05 Tropico Mobile - Bau Modus
Tropico Mobile Game Review – Bau Modus

Hier mussten die Entwickler Kompromisse machen zwischen Bedienkomfort und Lesbarkeit der Menüpunkte und der Möglichkeit auch mit größeren Fingern, die Menüpunkte noch bedienen zu können. Dafür hab ich Verständnis, auch wenn es gerade zu Beginn manchmal etwas Sucherei ist, bestimmte Optionen zu finden.

Nun ist es aber für mich schwer zu beurteilen, wie gut das für Neueinsteiger funktioniert. Denn ich wußte über die meisten Spielelemente, dass sie bestimmte Optionen haben sollten und habe dann danach gesucht. Wie gut das aber klappt, wenn ein Neuling ohne dieses Vor-Wissen das Spiel ausprobiert, kann ich nicht sagen.

► Tropico Mobile – Bau Modus

Einige besonders aufwändige Neuerungen haben die Entwickler in den Baumodus fließen lassen. Die Touchsteuerung ist halt bei weitem ungenauer als ein Klick mit einer Maus.

Damit dies besser funktioniert, gibt es eine Raster-Ansicht, in der die Welt senkrecht von oben in einer Art Bauplan dargestellt wird. Aber auch in der 3D Ansicht gibt es manche neue Bedienelemente, wie Pfeile zum drehen, oder automatisches Andocken von Häusern die Straßenanbindung brauchen.

Tropico Mobile Game Review - Einmal Tropico 3 to go bitte - iOS & Android Test - deutsch-German 06 Tropico Mobile - Gameplay
Tropico Mobile Game Review – Gameplay

Im großen und ganzen finde ich diesen Teil sehr gelungen. Es braucht etwas Eingewöhnung, aber dann geht es fast immer problemlos, seine Gebäude genau dort hinzustellen, wo man es auch möchte.

► Tropico Mobile – Gameplay

Wer Tropico kennt, wir sich hier gleich zu Hause fühlen. Und wer auch Tropico 3 kennt, wird erkennen, dass dieser Mobile Ableger eigentliche eine fast 100%ige Umsetzung des Vorbilds Tropico 3 ist.

Die Kampagnen Missionen, die Sprachausgaben, die Musik, die Aufgaben, die Probleme der Einwohner, alles ist so wie man es aus dem PC Spiel kennt. Und falls man das Original Spiel nicht kennen sollte, gibt es ein Tutorial und eine erweiterte Tutorial-Mission. Diese bieten eine nette Einleitung in die Bedienung und auch in das Spiel an sich. Damit sollte eigentlich fast jeder zurecht kommen.

► Umfang und Features

Tropico Mobile Game Review - Einmal Tropico 3 to go bitte - iOS & Android Test - deutsch-German 07 Tropico Mobile - Umfang und Features
Tropico Mobile Game Review – Umfang und Features

Tropico Mobile bietet die komplette Tropico 3 Kampagne mit insgesamt 15 komplexen Missionen und zusätzlich auch die 10 Zusatzmissionen aus dem Absolute Power DLC des Original Spiels. Allein mit diesen 25 Missionen kann man vermutlich weit über hundert Stunden feinen Diktator Spaß haben.

Und wem das nicht ausreicht, der hat 28 Karten für den Sandbox Modus zur Auswahl. Hier kann man zahlreiche Vorgaben für die Start- und Zielbedingungen machen, so dass auch ein hoher Wiederspiel-Wert vorhanden ist.

Es gibt eine lange Liste mit Erfolgen oder Achievements, die für Spieler, die gern alles komplett haben möchten, weitere Anreize schaffen.

► El Presidente

Wir können unseren eigenen Diktator aus einer Vielzahl von bekannten Diktatoren der Weltgeschichte auswählen. Hier gibt es Persönlichkeiten wie Che Geuvara, Fidel Castro, Pinochet, Peron und auch einige fiktionale Figuren zur Auswahl.

Tropico Mobile Game Review - Einmal Tropico 3 to go bitte - iOS & Android Test - deutsch-German 08 Tropico Mobile - El Presidente - Character Custimization
Tropico Mobile Game Review – El Presidente – Character Custimization

Wie es sich für Tropico gehört, können wir aber auch unseren ganz eigenen El Presidente mit zahlreichen Kostümen, Frisuren, Hüten und Accessoires nach unseren Vorstellungen gestalten. Auch weibliche Diktatoren können hier ihr Volk unterdrücken.

Darüber hinaus bietet das Spiel, wie auch das Vorbild, die Möglichkeit mehrere Einstellungen für die Hintergrund-Geschichte für unseren El Presidente auszuwählen. Hier gibt es verschiedene Arten, wie wir an die Macht kamen, negative Eigenschaften wie Alkohol- oder Spielsucht, Geizhals oder Paranoiker. Und jede Option hat besondere Vor- und Nachteile, die starke Auswirkungen auf den Spielverlauf haben können.

► Meinung und Fazit

Als das Spiel vor einigen Monaten angekündigt wurde, war ich fasziniert von dem Gedanken, ein Spiel fürs Handy zu bekommen, das völlig ohne Cash-Shop und InGame Monetarisierung auskommt. Ich war erst skeptisch, ob Kalypso hier Wort hält. Aber einmal das Spiel kaufen und danach ist alles inklusive. Kalypso hat Wort gehalten, danke dafür.

Tropico Mobile Game Review - Einmal Tropico 3 to go bitte - iOS & Android Test - deutsch-German 09 Tropico Mobile - Meinung und Fazit
Tropico Mobile Game Review – Meinung und Fazit

Als das Spiel rauskam, lagen die Hardware Anforderungen weit über denen, die mein damaliges Handy leisten konnte. Nun mit meinem neuen P30 kann ich endlich einsteigen in die mobile Diktatoren-Welt. Und ich bin begeistert.

Apropos Geräte und welches Gerät das Spiel starten kann. Das Spiel läuft nicht auf jedem Gerät. Es gibt eine Kompatibilitäts Liste, welche Geräte Tropico abspielen können, aber diese scheint nicht komplett zu sein. Als ich das Spiel gestartet habe, wurde mir gesagt, dass es nicht unterstützt wird. Es läuft aber trotzdem hervorragend.

Alle Vorgänger Modelle stehen auf der Liste, die aktuellen Geräte-Versionen wurden aber einfach nicht eingepflegt. Diese Liste sollte vom Entwickler unbedingt sorgfältiger geführt und regelmäßig aktualisiert werden. Ansonsten denkt man als Kunde eventuell, „Oh, mein Telefon steht nicht auf der Liste, dann kauf ich es lieber nicht“.

Tropico 3 habe ich mehrmals am PC durchgespielt. Auch wenn die Nachfolger teilweise bessere Grafiken oder mehr Gebäude und Optionen hatten. Tropico 3 war ein besonderer Meilenstein der Serie und dass nun gerade dieser umgesetzt wurde, freut mich persönlich jetzt besonders. Ok, aber für jemanden der Tropico 3 noch nicht kannte vorher, spielt dies wohl keine große Rolle.

Generell kann man aber sagen, „Hut ab, gut gemacht Feral Interactive“. Eine derart akurate und vollständige Umsetzung eines PC Spiels auf ein Mobilgerät hab ich vorher noch nicht gesehen.

Und auch die Anpassungen der Steuerung an das völlig andere Bediensystem sind bis auf wenige Ausreißer sehr gut gelungen. Manchmal springt die Kamera plötzlich quer über die Insel. Woher dieses Kamera-Springen kommt ist mir nicht klar, in dem Moment nervt das dann deutlich, aber wirklich schlimm ist es eigentlich nicht.

Manchmal ist das Setzen der Gebäude im 3D Modus ein bisschen fummelig umgesetzt, oft sind mir meine eigenen Finger im Weg. Aber dafür gibt es ja den neuen 2D Planer Modus, der das ganze sehr komfortabel löst. Von Zeit zu Zeit klappt ein Menü ungewollt zu oder ein Bauvorgang wird abgebrochen.

Die Menüs sind in einigen Bereichen zu sehr verschachtelt. Hier wurde versucht den begrenzten Platz effektiv zu nutzen. Dabei aber die wichtigeren Elemente eher weiter nach hinten gelegt, so dass man diese suchen muss. Und Einsteiger werden manche Option eventuell schlecht oder gar nicht finden.

Aber das sind zumindest für mich eher Kleinigkeiten. Welche mich zwar kurz ärgern, wenn es passiert, aber nicht langfristig den Spielspaß trüben. Von daher ist das eigentlich Meckern auf hohem Niveau.

Ansonsten funktioniert das bewährte Tropico System auch auf dem Handy einwandfrei. Und obwohl ich die Level schon kenne, aus dem Original von damals, macht es mir absoluten Spaß.

Und für die Momente, wenn man unterwegs ist, oder auf etwas wartet, ist es eine tolle Beschäftigung. Es ist kein Klick-hier und Klick-da-ein-wenig-gelangweilt-rum Mobile Spiel, sondern ein komplettes und komplexes Aufbauspiel. Sehr viel besser als fast alles, was ich sonst bisher an Handy Games gespielt habe.

Tropico Mobile Game Review - Einmal Tropico 3 to go bitte - iOS & Android Test - deutsch-German 10 Tropico Mobile - Wertung
Tropico Mobile – Wertung

► Tropico Mobile Review – Bewertung

Für 12,99€ erhält man hier ein sehr umfangreiches Produkt. Wenn man Städte Aufbau und Management Spiele mag, ist Tropico Mobile eine tolle Sache. Für einen mittleren Preis bekommt man ein sehr rundes und vollständiges Spiel, mit dem man sehr viele Stunden Spaß haben kann. Das Preis-Leistungs Verhältnis ist also definitiv sehr positiv.

Ich setze, für ein etwas in die Jahre gekommenes Grundspiel, dass aber damals schon zu den guten Spielen seines Genres gehörte, eine Grundwertung von 85% an. Für das Recyclen von alten PC Inhalten ziehe ich 5% ab und für die nicht ganz perfekte Steuerung und das komplizierte Menü-Design ziehe ich noch einmal 3% ab. Für die Besonderheit, dass es keinen Cash-Shop gibt und es eine komplette Pc-Spiel Umsetzung mit sehr langer Spielbarkeit ist, gebe ich dann wieder 5% als Bonus.

Damit ergibt sich als Endergebnis 85 – 5 – 3 + 5, also wird das am Ende eine 82% Bewertung. Ich hoffe, dass ich zukünftig mehr solche Mobile Titel sehen darf, wie Feral Interactive dies hier vorgemacht hat.

► Outro

Wie gefällt Dir, was Du bisher zu Tropico Mobile gesehen hast? Hast Du das Spiel vielleicht bereits gespielt, oder möchtest Du es Dir zulegen? Hast Du Fragen zum Spielablauf? Über jeden Kommentar würde ich mich freuen und gern mit dir diskutieren.

Falls Du diese Episode so richtig schlecht fandest, weißt Du was Du zu tun hast, ansonsten würde ich mich über ein Like und ein Abo freuen. Mehr Infos, Reviews, News zu aktuellen Spielen findest Du auf meinem Kanal oder auf zapzockt.de , schau einfach mal rein.

Dann wünsche ich Dir einen tollen Tag, lass es Dir gut gehen, ciao ciao, Dein Zap

► Links:

zapzerap

Dirk "Zap" ist 40+, Chef und Kopf von Zap Zockt. Gamer und Nerd seit langer Zeit. Er schreibt gern über Games, Technik und YouTube, vor allem Guides, News und Reviews. Du möchtest mehr wissen? Schreib deine Fragen oder Wünsche einfach in einen Kommentar, Antwort kommt garantiert.

Das könnte Dich auch interessieren …

5 Antworten

  1. 20. November 2019

    […] Link zum Tropico Mobile Test […]

  2. 20. November 2019

    […] Tropico für Mobile – Die Tropico iOS und Android App im Test […]

  3. 20. November 2019

    […] Tropico für Mobile – Die Tropico iOS und Android App im Test […]

  4. 20. November 2019

    […] Tropico für Mobile – Die Tropico iOS und Android App im Test […]

  5. 20. November 2019

    […] Tropico für Mobile – Die Tropico iOS und Android App im Test […]

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.