Founders Fortune Test / Review

Founders Fortune Test – The Funny Construction, Survival Sims Mix Review

Founders Fortune Test - The Funny Construction, Survival Sims Mix Review
Founders Fortune Test – The Funny Construction, Survival Sims Mix Review

Zap zockt Founders’ Fortune Test. Founders’ Fortune is a building strategy settlers mix with some Sims and a bit of survival in blood. We build a colony on a strange island. We have to survive, gather resources, make a home out of it and build a new home with research, trade, diplomacy, and possibly even war against the locals.

German Version:

Switch Dark / Light Mode:

Have fun with this Founders Fortune Test / Review. This post exists here as text and as a YouTube video (German Voice-over, with subtitles in many different languages). So you can choose how you like to enjoy it the most.

Founders’ Fortune Video:

(German VoiceOver, with subtitles in many different languages)

Founders Fortune Review – Test – Intro

Hi there, here’s the Zap. In this episode, I want to tell you some interesting things about the game Founders’ Fortune. I’ll show you what it’s about, what you can expect from the game, and how well it plays.

The game is developed and distributed by Oachkatzlschwoaf Interactive from Bavaria in Germany, so it is a small indie developer team. It currently costs 16€ at Steam and is in Early Access.

The developers have kindly provided me with a free test sample. As always, this has no influence on my rating. My viewers and readers deserve the highest priority and an honest rating.

Game Type – What kind of game is Founders Fortune ?

 Game Type - What kind of game is Founders Fortune?
Game Type – What kind of game is Founders Fortune?

Founders Fortune is a build strategy game with Survival and Sims elements. You create a colony on an island and have to take care of the survival and well-being of your settlers. You start with almost nothing and have to explore all the necessary things step by step and from the resources that the inhabitants mine then produce and build.

The main actors are the small residents of the settlement, who are not nameless creatures. They have, similar to The Sims, all their own names and personalities, desires, and needs. They can like or dislike things, make friends, learn professions and reach new levels.

And the cuddly people are not alone in their new home. Several indigenous tribes of the Tikis can get to know them, trade with them, build up friendships and enmities through diplomacy and then possibly wage war.

Early Access & Alpha

Founders Fortune is available at Steam in Early Access for currently €16. The developer studio Oachkatzlschwoaf calls the currently available version Alpha. So they see themselves in an early development phase, and new features and completely new directions for the game are possibly still in planning.

But there are bigger patches like the recent diplomacy update that brought the opposing Tiki villages into play as well as diplomacy and combat, and thus the decision whether to settle peacefully or militantly.

Founders Fortune Gameplay in general

When the game begins, we create two settlers according to our own wishes. They can have different likes and dislikes, for example, love summer or hate autumn. They may also be particularly good at certain professions or have disadvantages, such as limping or pessimism.

Having arrived on the island with a small starting supply of material and food, we urgently need to organize sleeping places. Then we can start to consider the most basic needs.

Founders Fortune Test 
Farmer on the field
Farmer on the field

First of all, their sleeping place is in a building, and a chair to rest on. A storage box to store the picked apples is also needed. And so the wishes and needs of our little inhabitants expand more and more.

Our settlers can mine resources such as wood, stones, and cotton, even if this is very difficult at first without tools.

So we also start to research and generate knowledge from the crystals on the island and create the first fields for food. We produce the first tools that make the work a little easier. And little by little our small society continues to develop.

New settlers will be added by ship when the previous ones are completely satisfied. So it is important for growth that we first make all existing residents happy.

Needs and Wishes

Founders Fortune Review
Craftswoman tailoring
Founders Fortune Review
Craftswoman tailoring

Similar to “The Sims” our inhabitants have certain wishes. The fulfillment of a wish like “Wants to sleep in a real bed” or “Wants a vase in his room” brings us satisfaction points.

And when we have accumulated enough satisfaction, the settler rises up the level and gets a reward point. These points can then be spent on either getting rid of bad traits or getting new positive ones. But if you like, you can also buy negative ones.

Professions in Founders Fortune

The game offers a total of 6 professions. This starts with the basic work for resource extraction, like the forester who cuts trees and provides wood. The miner can chop stones, iron ore, and crystals away. Then follow the farmers, who are not only responsible for the fields, in other words looking for seeds, watering, and harvesting, but also starting to pick wild cotton from bushes.

This is followed by the creative professions. Here there are craftsmen who produce tools, weapons, clothing, and armor on workbenches. Very important is also a scholar, who gains knowledge from crystals and later scrolls, which can then be invested in a complex research tree, so that the progress in our small settlement is moving in.

And since injuries and illnesses can make the lives of our settlers difficult and sometimes even life-threatening, we can treat fractures with a doctor, administer flu vaccinations and cure other diseases.

Reading recommendation:

More Reviews by Zap Zockt

Tech Tree and Research

The scholarly profession makes it possible to conduct research, and here a complex research tree awaits us.

Currently, 28 different types of research are included in the game. To do research, either the miner or the researcher must mine crystals.

This research gradually requires not only more and more crystals and time but also scrolls after a certain point. Scrolls cannot be mined or farmed, but have to be exchanged with the traders.

Base Building in Founders Fortune

Village under construction
Village under construction

The settlers quickly get a need of more comfort in their new home. So a sleeping bag is enough at the beginning, but soon they want a bed. In the beginning, it is okay if everyone sleeps in the same room, but after a while, they want their own room and later even their own house.

And then, little by little, there are more and more wishes and needs that the settlers would like to have fulfilled. A flower pot in the room, or a clothes rack and its matching clothes. This specialized clothing is available for every profession and offers advantages when working. This is followed by tools that also work and need a tool cabinet. These clothes and tools not only make our people happier but also speed up their work.

Trade and Currency

There are not only a lot of goods in the game which can be mined and cultivated, refined and produced, but also the possibility to trade with them.

There are various merchant factions whose ships occasionally anchor on the coast. There you can sell goods for coins and buy things you can’t make yourself, such as the urgently needed scrolls for research.

However, the settlement also urgently needs coins, as the inhabitants have the need after some time to get paid for their work. If the wage is not high enough, they become unhappy. And as their professional level rises, so too do their income expectations.

The social life

Lunch - all at one table
Lunch – all at one table

The settlers have not only wishes and needs, but also a mood. If this mood falls below a certain level, they start to get depressed. And at a certain level of a bad mood, they get a nervous breakdown, which keeps them away from work for some time.

There are a lot of things that affect the mood of the settlers. For example, there is the disadvantage of xenophobia, which makes settlers uncomfortable with strangers, and they get in a bad mood when a merchant docks on the island. Or they have nightmares at night. Conversations can influence mood both positively and negatively. The settlers can embrace, relax comfortably on the meadow, enjoy the warmth of a campfire or a fireplace, and many other things.

Here Founders Fortune shows an approach to a social structure that is very similar to Sims. And that’s how our inhabitants quickly become little personalities who do much more than just work, eat and sleep.

Dangers in Founders Fortune

Of course, not everything is always full of sunshine on our small island. The settlement has to survive various dangers.

This starts with injuries and illnesses that can affect our inhabitants or even endanger their lives. Broken legs, influenza and other illnesses and injuries hinder or even make it impossible to work and, in the worst case, can lead to death.

One of the greatest dangers, of course, is hunger. Lack of food can quickly lead to death. Since there are seasons in the game and no food is growing in winter, we have to build up supplies in time so that our cuddly people do not starve miserably in winter.

And since all this is not enough, there are several Tiki villages with boreholes on the island, with which we should be good otherwise there may be some tile-roasting.

Diplomacy

There are several other villages on the island. These neighboring tribes often contact us with demands and each tribe has a diplomatic relationship with our settlement.

This diplomatic rating improves when we meet their demands, but also generally decreases over time. And if we reject the demands, we can also make them our enemies.

And then there’s the threat of a quick attack on our settlement.

Defense and Combat

The indigenous villages are a danger. We can, of course, try to counter this danger with extensive diplomacy. Then we must give away many goods and also train people in diplomacy, who can then improve relations through talks.

But if that doesn’t work, we’ll have to prepare for another path. There are also fighting talents that have to be built up. For example, we can have our inhabitants improve their fighting skills with a training dummy.

And with melee and ranged weapons, armor and associated storage furniture, and healing potions for injuries, we have a lot to produce to prepare for battle.

In addition, it is possible to build thicker and thicker walls to enclose your settlement, and later there are also watchtowers. And the equipment for battle begins with simple wooden swords and simple gambesons, and with a lot of research, it becomes better weapons, first made of stone and then of metal.

Besides diplomacy, there is also the possibility to expel the other villages from the island and to plunder their supplies. Here you can go your way as a player, depending on how you like it, or just get it economically better.

Reading recommendation:

More Reviews by Zap Zockt

Technology, Graphics, Engine, Sound

The game uses the Unity Engine, which excludes the worst common teething troubles. It uses rather minimalistic graphics, but still has its own charm.

Founders Fortune - Winter is coming
Founders Fortune – Winter is coming

You can recognize easily, however, that at the moment the visual appearance is not the top priority for the developers, but rather the depth of the simulation. Most textures currently consist of monochrome areas or simple color gradients. But this serves its purpose surprisingly well.

Because nevertheless Founders Fortune offers diversified graphics. The world doesn’t seem boring due to the many different construction elements and objects, the weather effects, and also the lighting and shadows. Everything about optical things is kept simple, but still fulfills its purpose and overall everything looks quite harmonious.

The animations of the figures are so far okay. You can see what they do, but you can’t expect miracles here. There is still room for improvement, with better animations you could increase the “Wusel”- and cuddle factor even more. A nice approach is that the characters show funny facial animations and react to their environment.

The sound is not yet the highlight of this title. A few simple, but not annoying pieces of music, some practical noises here and there. None of this is really bad, but overall a bit too little sound.

Condition of the game:

In the more than 10 hours of testing I’ve spent in the game so far, Founders Fortune has never crashed, stalled or shown me any other technical problems. Otherwise, I couldn’t find any real bugs, even when searching for them.

The game in its present form is already in absolutely flawless technical condition and absolutely playable. It is almost incomprehensible that this product is still officially called Alpha Version by its developers. Because it’s not that it’s unfinished in terms of quality, but rather that the Devs still have a lot of plans for this game.

Opinion & Conclusion

When I saw the first screenshots of the game, I was hesitating. On the one hand, the figures look pretty cute, on the other hand, the graphics were quite simple.

Founders Fortune Test - The fun Survival construction Sims Mix in Review - Cheerful mood at the evening campfire
Founders Fortune Test – The fun Survival construction Sims Mix in Review – Cheerful mood at the evening campfire

But when I had spent half an hour on the island with the bustling settlers, I was completely blown away. Founders Fortune offers a very interesting mix of building strategy, survival, and sims-like gameplay. A little bit of Banished mixed with Rimworld, some Sims, and some unique ideas, the result was Founders Fortune.

The simulation depth already present in the game, the scope of the features, and the many small details surprised me very positively. Actually, almost everything already makes sense in this game. And the prospect of many more features and planned mod support let expect longevity that many other games can’t offer.

I’m really very enthusiastic about Founders Fortune and can only recommend this game to every construction fan and Simslover. A real pearl is growing here that you shouldn’t miss.

Founders Fortune Rating

Founders Fortune Rating
Founders Fortune Rating

The following evaluation is to be considered under reservation. Since the game is currently in early access and in a self-titled alpha version, one can assume that it is far from finished and the developers intend to take care of this project for a long time to come.

But since it is being sold, it will also be evaluated. In my opinion, the current price of €16 is more than reasonable. It is part of the developers’ plan to increase the price with upcoming features. So an early entry might be especially worthwhile.

If you consider the technically high quality, the complexity of the simulation, and the many nice ideas that are already in the game, if you pay attention to the already existing game fun and bring this into relation to the low price, then Founders Fortune is worth an absolute recommendation. I would like to start here with a base rating of 88%.

Smaller deductions must then be made for the highly improvable graphics, the so far only functional animations, and the still quite weak sound. And here I subtract 8% again.

So in the end the result for the game of such a small team is a magnificent 80% rating. Founders Fortune is a good game for a fair price. I’m really excited to see where the journey with Founders Fortune is headed. In any case, it is a clear recommendation already now for me. Whatever the developers are up to in the future, this great start can’t become a bad game anymore.

Founders Fortune

Zap from ZapZockt.de

Graphics
Sound
Base-building
Simulation
Complexity
State of the Game
Scope of the Game
Price per Fun Ratio

Rating

If you consider the technically high quality, the complexity of the simulation, and the many nice ideas that are already in the game, if you pay attention to the already existing game fun and bring this into relation to the low price, then Founders Fortune is worth an absolute recommendation. I would like to start here with a base rating of 88%.
Smaller deductions must then be made for the highly improvable graphics, the so far only functional animations, and the still quite weak sound. And here I subtract 8% again.
So in the end the result for the game of such a small team is a magnificent 80% rating. Founders Fortune is a good game for a fair price. I’m really excited to see where the journey with Founders Fortune is headed. In any case, it is a clear recommendation already now for me. Whatever the developers are up to in the future, this great start can’t become a bad game anymore.

4

Outro

How do you like the game so far? Would you like to settle down right away, or isn’t that enough for you? Write your opinion in the comments, I’m looking forward to it.

Then I wish you a great day, let it be well with you, ciao ciao, your Zap.

Webpage: https://foundersfortune.com/
Steam Page: https://steamcommunity.com/app/1104330/
Twitter: http://twitter.com/FoundersFortune
Developer Forum: https://forum.foundersfortune.com/
Discord Server: https://discordapp.com/invite/eYBN5kp

Reading – recommendations:

A lot of detailed games news and information about games and gaming can always be found here at ZapZockt.de – As a Steam user, you can also follow the ZapZockt Steam curator to always be informed about my reviews directly on the platform.

There are also many game reviews that might interest you, and if you don’t want to miss anything, subscribe to the newsletter. As a Google News reader you can also go there and read the latest articles.

Shopping – Tip:

Ad / Affiliate Link
Games can often be bought cheaper. Legal, reliable and safe is the way to do it at my partner site Gamesplanet. This game, all DLCs, many more tactics, strategy, and many more titles are available there and almost always much cheaper than at Steam, Uplay, Epic, or other shops.

Steam Keys günstig kaufen - Buy steam keys cheap - Game keys Spiele Keys
Buy games cheaper

For every purchase, via this link, I receive a small commission. So you get games cheaper and at the same time support my work, my thanks in advance for that.

Social Media:


Zap

Dirk "Zap" von ZapZockt.de, 40+ Gamer, zockt seit 1980 vor allem Strategie Titel, MMOs und Rollenspiele. Schreibt Game Reviews, Gaming News und auch mal über Technik, Hardware und YouTube. Mehr Infos findest Du unter Mehr über Zap lesen ◄----------► Dirk "Zap" from ZapZockt.de, 40+ gamer, has been gaming since 1980, mainly strategy titles, MMOs and RPGs. Writes game reviews, gaming news and also sometimes about technology, hardware and YouTube. Click here, if you want to read more about Zap.

You may also like...

scroll to top - nach oben

Founders Fortune Test / Review

Founders Fortune Review – Der spaßige Aufbau-Survival Sims Mix im Test

Founders‘ Fortune ist ein Aufbau Strategie Siedel Mix mit etwas Sims und ein bisschen Survival im Blut. Wir bauen eine Kolonie auf einer fremden Insel. Wir müssen überleben, Ressourcen sammeln, daraus ein Zuhause craften und mit Forschung, Handel, Diplomatie und eventuell sogar Krieg gegen die Einheimischen ein neues Zuhause aufbauen.

Viel Vergnügen mit diesem Founders Fortune Test / Review. Dieser Beitrag existiert hier als Text, als PodCast und als YouTube Video. So kannst Du Dir aussuchen, wie du ihn am liebsten geniessen magst.

► Video:

Zap Zockt Founders Fortune Review bei YouTube

► PodCast:

► Intro – Einleitung

Moin moin, hier ist der Zap. In dieser Episode möchte ich dir interessante Dinge über das -Spiel Founders Fortune erzählen. Ich zeige dir, worum es geht, was man vom Spiel erwarten kann und wie gut es sich spielt.

Das Spiel wird von Oachkatzlschwoaf Interactive aus Bayern entwickelt und selbst vertrieben, es handelt sich also um ein kleines Indie-Entwickler Team. Es kostet bei Steam derzeit 16€ und befindet sich im Early Access.

Die Entwickler haben mir freundlicherweise ein kostenloses Testmuster zur Verfügung gestellt. Das hat aber wie immer keinen Einfluss auf meine Bewertung. Meine Zuschauer und Leser haben höchste Priorität und eine ehrliche Bewertung verdient.

► Spieltyp – Was ist Founders Fortune ?

Founders Fortune Test (Deutsch) Der spaßige Survival Aufbau Sims Mix im Review - Willkommen bei Founders Fortune
Willkommen bei Founders Fortune

Founders Fortune ist ein Aufbau-Strategie Spiel mit Survival und Sims Elementen. Man gründet eine Kolonie auf einer Insel und muss für das Überleben und Wohlbefinden seiner Siedler sorgen. Dabei startet man mit nahezu nichts und muss alle notwendigen Dinge nach und nach erst erforschen und aus den Ressourcen, die die Einwohner abbauen dann herstellen und errichten.

Hauptakteure sind die kleinen Bewohner der Siedlung, die keine namenlosen Wesen sind. Sondern sie haben, ähnliche wie in Die Sims, alle ihre eigenen Namen und Persönlichkeiten, Wünsche und Bedürfnisse. Sie können Dinge mögen oder nicht mögen, Freundschaften aufbauen, Berufe lernen und darin neue Level erlangen.

Und dabei sind die knuffeligen Menschen in ihrer neuen Heimat nicht allein. Mehrere Eingeborenenstämme der Tikis können sie kennen lernen, mit ihnen Handel treiben, über Diplomatie Freund- und Feindschaften aufbauen und dann eventuell auch Krieg führen.

► Early Access & Alpha

Founders Fortune Test (Deutsch) Der spaßige Survival Aufbau Sims Mix im Review - Kriegerin
Founders Fortune – Kriegerin

Founders Fortune ist bei Steam im Early Access für momentan 16 € erhältlich. Das Entwicklerstudio Oachkatzlschwoaf bezeichnet die momentan verfügbare Version selbst als Alpha. Sie sehen sich also selbst in einer frühen Entwicklungsphase, und neue Features und ganz neue Richtungen für das Spiel sind eventuell noch in Planung.

Aber es kommen größere Patches wie gerade vor kurzem das Diplomatie Update, das die gegnerischen Tiki-Dörfer ins Spiel brachte sowie Diplomatie und Kampf, und damit die Entscheidung, ob man friedlich oder kämpferisch siedeln möchte.

► Gameplay allgemein

Wenn das Spiel beginnt, erstellen wir uns zwei Siedler nach unseren Vorstellungen. Diese können verschiedene Vorlieben und Abneigungen haben, zum Beispiel den Sommer lieben oder den Herbst hassen. Sie können auch bestimmte Berufe besonders gut können oder auch Nachteile haben, wie zB Hinken oder Pessimismus.

Mit einem kleinen Startvorrat an Material und Essen auf der Insel angekommen, müssen wir erstmal dringend Schlafplätze organisieren. Dann können wir anfangen, die grundlegensten Bedürfnisse zu beachten.

Founders Fortune Test (Deutsch) Der spaßige Survival Aufbau Sims Mix im Review Bauer auf dem Feld
Bauer auf dem Feld

Da wäre zum Beginn erst mal, dass ihr Schlafplatz sich in einem Gebäude befindet, und ein Stuhl um sich auszuruhen. Eine Lagerkiste um die gepflückten Äpfel aufzubewahren wird auch gebraucht. Und so erweitern sich Wünsche und Bedürfnisse unserer kleinen Einwohner mehr und mehr.

Unsere Siedler können Ressourcen wie Holz, Steine, Baumwolle abbauen, auch wenn das ohne Werkzeug erstmal sehr schwierig ist.

Also fangen wir auch an zu Forschen, und generieren dafür Wissen aus den auf der Insel vorhandenen Kristallen und legen erste Felder für Nahrungsmittel an. Wir produzieren erste Werkzeuge, die die Arbeit etwas leichter machen. Und nach und nach entwickelt sich unsere kleine Gesellschaft weiter.

Neue Siedler kommen per Schiff dazu, wenn die bisherigen komplett zufrieden sind. So ist es für Wachstum wichtig, dass wir erstmal alle bereits vorhandenen Einwohner glücklich machen.

► Bedürfnisse und Wünsche

Founders Fortune Test (Deutsch) Der spaßige Survival Aufbau Sims Mix im Review Handwerkerin beim Schneidern
Handwerkerin beim Schneidern

Ähnlich wie in „Die Sims“ haben unsere Einwohner gewisse Wünsche. Die Erfüllung eines Wunsches wie „Möchte in einem richtigen Bett schlafen“ oder „Möchte eine Vase in seinem Zimmer“ bringt uns Zufriedenheitspunkte.

Und wenn wir genug Zufriedenheit angesammelt haben, dann steigt der Siedler im Level auf und bekommt einen Belohnungspunkt. Diese Punkte kann man dann dafür ausgeben entweder schlechte Eigenschaften loszuwerden oder neue positive zu bekommen. Wer mag darf aber auch negative dazu kaufen.

► Berufe in Founders Fortune

Das Spiel bietet isgesamt 6 Berufe. Dies beginnt mit den grundlegenden Arbeiten für Ressourcen Abbau, wie dem Förster, der Bäume fällt und für Holz sorgt. Der Bergarbeiterin, die Steine, Eisenerz und Kristalle weghacken kann. Dann folgen die Bauern, die nicht nur für die Felder zuständig sind, also Samen aussehen, Gießen und ernten, sondern auch loslaufen um zB wilde Baumwolle zu pflücken.

Danach folgen die schaffenden Berufe. Hier gibt es Handwerker, die an Werkbänken Werkzeuge, Waffen, Kleidung und Rüstungen produzieren. Sehr wichtig ist auch ein Gelehrter, der aus Kristallen und später Schriftrollen Wissen gewinnt, das man dann in einem komplexen Forschungsbaum investieren kann, damit der Fortschritt in unserer kleinen Siedlung Einzug hält.

Und da Verletzungen und auch Krankheiten das Leben unserer Siedler schwer und teilweise sogar lebensgefährlich werden lassen, können wir mit einem Arzt Brüche behandeln, Grippeimpfungen verabreichen und andere Krankheiten heilen.

Lese-Empfehlung:

Mehr Reviews von Zap Zockt

► Forschung

Der Gelehrtenberuf ermöglicht es Forschung zu betreiben, und hier wartet ein komplexer Forschungsbaum auf uns.

Momentan sind 28 verschiedene Forschungen im Spiel enthalten. Um forschen zu können, müssen entweder die Bergarbeiter oder der Forscher selbst Kristalle abbauen.

Diese Forschungen brauchen nach und nach nicht nur immer mehr Kristalle und Zeit, sondern auch ab einem gewissen Punkt Schriftrollen. Schriftrollen kann man aber nicht abbauen, sondern muss sie bei den Händlern eintauschen.

► Basenbau

Founders Fortune Test (Deutsch) Der spaßige Survival Aufbau Sims Mix im Review - Dorf im Aufbau
Dorf im Aufbau

Die Siedler bekommen recht schnell Bedürfnisse nach mehr Komfort in ihrem neuen Zuhause. So reicht am Anfang ein Schlafsack, aber bald möchten sie ein Bett. Am Anfang ist es in Ordnung, wenn alle im gleichen Raum schlafen, aber nach einiger Zeit wünschen sie sich ein eigenes Zimmer und später sogar jeweils ein eigenes Haus.

Und dann gibt es nach und nach immer mehr Wünsche und Bedürfnisse, die die Siedler erfüllt haben möchten. Einen Blumentopf im Zimmer, oder einen Kleiderständer und dazugehörige Wäsche. Diese gibt es für jeden Beruf und sie gewährt Vorteile beim Arbeiten. Dann folgen Werkzeuge, die ebenso funktionieren und einen Werkzeugschrank brauchen. Diese Kleidung und Werkzeuge sorgen aber auch nicht nur dafür, dass unsere Leute glücklicher sind, sondern auch für schnelleres Arbeiten.

► Handel und Währung

Es gibt im Spiel nicht nur jede Menge Waren, die man abbauen und anbauen, veredeln und herstellen kann, sondern auch die Möglichkeit mit diesen zu handeln.

Da wären verschiedene Händlerfraktionen, deren Schiffe ab und zu an der Küste anlegen. Hier kann man dann Waren gegen Münzen verkaufen und umgekehrt auch Dinge erwerben, die man nicht selbst herstellen kann, wie zum Beispiel auch die dringend benötigten Schriftrollen für die Forschung.

Die Siedlung braucht aber auch dringend Münzen, da die Einwohner nach einiger Zeit das Bedürfnis haben, für ihre Arbeit auch eine Bezahlung zu bekommen. Ist der Lohn nicht hoch genug, werden sie unglücklich. Und mit steigendem Berufslevel steigen auch die Wünsche an ihr Einkommen.

► Soziales

Founders Fortune Test (Deutsch) Der spaßige Survival Aufbau Sims Mix im Review Mittagessen - alle an einem Tisch
Mittagessen – alle an einem Tisch

Die Siedler haben nicht nur Wünsche und Bedürfnisse, sondern auch eine Stimmung. Fällt diese Stimmung unter einen bestimmten Wert, so fangen sie an Niedergeschlagen zu werden. Und ab einem gewissen Grad an schlechter Laune bekommen sie einen Nervenzusammenbruch, was sie dann für einige Zeit völlig von der Arbeit abhält.

Es gibt eine Menge Dinge, die die Stimmung der Siedler beeinflussen. So gibt es beispielsweise den Nachteil Xenophob, wodurch Siedler Fremde nicht so mögen, und so bekommen sie schlechte Laune, wenn ein Händler an der Insel anlegt. Oder sie haben Alpträume in der Nacht. Gespräche können die Stimmung sowohl positiv wie auch negativ beeinflussen. Die Siedler können sich umarmen, gemütlich auf der Wiese entspannen, die Wärme eines Lagerfeuers oder eines Kamins geniessen und viele weitere Dinge.

Hier zeigt Founders Fortune eine Ansatz zu einer sozialen Struktur, die sich sehr ähnlich wie bei Sims spielt. Und dadurch werden unsere Einwohner schnell zu kleinen Persönlichkeiten, die viel mehr tun als nur Arbeiten, Essen und Schlafen.

► Gefahren in Founders Fortune

Natürlich ist nicht immer alles voll strahlendem Sonnenschein auf unserer kleinen Insel. Die Siedlung hat verschiedenste Gefahren zu überstehen.

Dies beginnt mit Verletzungen und Krankheiten, die unsere Einwohner beeinträchtigen oder sogar ihr Leben gefährden können. Beinbrüche, Grippe und weitere Krankheiten und Verletzungen behindern die Arbeit oder machen sie sogar ganz unmöglich, im schlimmsten Fall droht auch der Tod.

Eine der größten Gefahren ist natürlich der Hunger. Essensmangel kann sehr schnell zum Tod führen. Da es Jahreszeiten im Spiel gibt und im Winter nichts wächst, müssen wir rechtzeitig Vorräte anlegen, damit unsere knuffeligen Leute nicht elendig im Winter verhungern.

Und da das alles nicht reicht, gibt es mehrere Tiki-Dörfer mit Eingebohrenen auf der Insel, mit denen wir uns gut stellen sollten ansonsten gibt es eventuell Keilerei.

► Diplomatie

Founders Fortune Test (Deutsch) Der spaßige Survival Aufbau Sims Mix im Review Eingeborener
Founders Fortune – Eingeborener

Es gibt mehrere andere Dörfer auf der Insel. Diese Nachbar-Stämme melden sich öfter mit Forderungen bei uns und jeder Stamm hat eine diplomatische Beziehung zu unserer Siedlung.

Dieser Diplomatiewert verbessert sich, wenn wir ihre Forderungen erfüllen, sinkt aber auch generell mit der Zeit. Und wenn wir die Forderungen ablehnen, können wir uns die Eingebohrenen auch zu unseren Feinden machen.

Und dann droht schnell der Angriff auf unsere Siedlung.

► Verteidigung und Kampf

Die Eingeborenen Dörfer stellen eine Gefahr dar. Wir können natürlich probieren, dieser Gefahr mit ausgiebiger Diplomatie zu begegnen. Dann müssen wir viele Waren verschenken und auch Leute in Diplomatie ausbilden, die dann durch Gespräche die Beziehungen verbessern können.

Klappt das aber nicht, müssen wir uns auf einen anderen Weg vorbereiten. Dafür gibt es auch Kampftalente, die aufgebaut werden müssen. Zum Beispiel können wir unsere Einwohner an einer Trainingspuppe ihre Kampfwerte verbessern lassen.

Und mit Nah- und Fernkampfwaffen, Rüstungen und dazu gehörige Aufbewahrungs-Möbel und Heiltränken für Verletzungen haben wir viel zu produzieren, um uns auf den Kampf vorzubereiten.

Darüber hinaus kann man immer stärkere Wände und Mauern bauen, mit denen man seine Siedlung auch einschliessen kann, und später gibt es auch noch Wachtürme. Und die Ausrüstung für den Kampf beginnt mit einfachen Holzschwertern und einfachen Gambesons, und mit reichlich Forschung, werden daraus bessere Waffen, erst aus Stein und dann aus Metall.

So besteht neben der Diplomatie auch die Möglichkeit die anderen Dörfer von der Insel zu vertreiben und ihre Vorräte zu plündern. Hier kann man als Spieler dann seinen Weg gehen, je nach dem wie man mag, oder es halt wirtschaftlich besser hinbekommt.

Lese Empfehlung:

Mehr Reviews von Zap Zockt

► Technik, Grafik, Engine, Sound

Das Spiel benutzt die Unity Engine, was schonmal die gröbsten Kinderkrankheiten ausschließt. Es nutzt bisher eher minimalistische Grafik, die aber trotzdem ihren ganz eigenen Charme hat.

Founders Fortune Test (Deutsch) Der spaßige Survival Aufbau Sims Mix im Review Der Winter naht
Founders Fortune – Der Winter naht

Man merkt dem Spiel aber an, dass die Optik im Moment nicht oberste Priorität bei den Entwicklern hat, sondern es eher um die Tiefe der Simulation geht. Die meisten Texturen bestehen derzeit noch aus einfarbigen Flächen oder simplen Farbverläufen. Was aber erstaunlich gut seinen Zweck erfüllt.

Denn nichtsdestotrotz bietet Founders Fortune eine abwechslungsreiche Grafik. Durch die vielen verschiedenen Bauelemente und Objekte, ansehlichen Wetter Effekte und auch die Beleuchtung und Schatten wirkt die Welt nicht langweilig. Alles an optischen Dingen ist einfach gehalten, erfüllt aber trotzdem seinen Zweck und insgesamt sieht alles ganz stimmig aus.

Die Animationen der Figuren sind soweit in Ordnung. Man erkennt, was sie tun, aber man darf hier keine Wunder erwarten. Hier ist noch Luft nach oben, mit besseren Animationen könnte man den Wusel- und Knuffel-Faktor noch stark erhöhen. Ein schöner Ansatz ist hier aber schon, dass die Figuren teilweise witzige Gesichtsanimationen zeigen und so auf ihre Umwelt reagieren.

Der Sound ist noch nicht das Highlight dieses Titels. Ein paar dudelige, aber nicht nervige Musikstücke, ein paar praktische Geräusche hier und da. Nichts davon ist wirklich schlecht, aber insgesamt noch etwas zu wenig Vertonung.

► Zustand des Spiels:

In den mehr als 10 Stunden Test-Zeit, die ich bisher im Spiel verbracht habe, ist mir Founders Fortune nicht ein einziges Mal abgestürzt, ins Stocken geraten oder hat andere technische Probleme gezeigt. Auch ansonsten könnte ich, selbst beim gezielten Suchen danach, keine wirklichen Bugs finden.

Das Spiel ist in seiner jetzigen Form bereits in einer völlig einwandfreien technischen Verfassung und absolut spielbar. Dass dieses Produkt von seinen Entwicklern offiziell noch als Alpha Version betitelt wird ist fast unverständlich. Denn es liegt nicht daran, dass es unfertig wäre, was die Qualität betrifft, sondern eher daran, dass die Devs wohl noch viel vor haben mit diesem Spiel.

► Meinung & Fazit

Als ich die ersten Screenshots vom Spiel gesehen habe, war ich am schwanken. Auf der einen Seite sehen die Figuren ja recht niedlich aus, auf der anderen Seite war die Grafik natürlich schon recht einfach.

Founders Fortune Test (Deutsch) Der spaßige Survival Aufbau Sims Mix im Review Fröhliche Stimmung beim abendlichen Lagerfeuer
Founders Fortune Test (Deutsch) Der spaßige Survival Aufbau Sims Mix im Review Fröhliche Stimmung beim abendlichen Lagerfeuer

Als ich aber erst mal eine halbe Stunde mit den wuseligen Siedlern auf der Insel verbracht hatte, war ich ganz hin und weg. Founders Fortune bietet einen enorm interessanten Mix aus Aufbau Strategie, Survival, und sims-artigem Leute betreuen. Ein wenig von Banished gemixed mit Rimworld, etwas Sims und eigene Ideen, heraus kam dabei Founders Fortune.

Die bereits jetzt im Spiel vorhandene Simulationstiefe, der Umfang der Features und die vielen kleinen Details haben mich sehr positiv überrascht. Eigentlich macht so gut wie alles bereits jetzt Sinn in diesem Spiel. Und die Aussicht auf viele weitere Features und geplante Mod-Unterstützung lassen eine Langlebigkeit erwarten, die sehr viele andere Spiele nicht bieten können.

Ich bin wirklich schwer begeistert von Founders Fortune und kann nur jedem Aufbau-Fan und Simsliebhaber dieses Spiel ans Herz legen. Hier wächst eine echte Perle heran, die man nicht verpassen sollte.

► Founders Fortune Wertung

Die folgende Wertung ist unter Vorbehalt zu betrachten. Da das Spiel sich derzeit im Early Access und in einer selbst betitelten Alpha Version befindet, kann man davon ausgehen, dass es noch lange nicht fertig ist und die Entwickler vorhaben dieses Projekt noch sehr lange zu betreuen.

Da es aber verkauft wird, gibt es auch eine Wertung. Der momentane Preis von 16 € ist in meinen Augen mehr als angemessen. Dabei gehört es zum Plan der Entwickler, mit kommenden Features, dann auch den Preis zu erhöhen. So könnte sich ein früher Einstieg eventuell besonders lohnen.

Berücksichtigt man die technisch hohe Qualität, die Komplexität der Simulation und die vielen netten Ideen, die bereits im Spiel drin sind, achtet man auf den bereits absolut vorhandenen Spielspaß und bringt das ins Verhältnis zum niedrigen Preis, dann ist Founders Fortune eine absolute Empfehlung wert. Ich möchte hier für eine Wertung von 88% ansetzen.

Kleinere Abzüge gibt es dann noch für die stark ausbaufähige Grafik, die bisher nur zweckmäßigen Animationen und den bisher noch recht schwachen Sound. Und hier ziehe ich dann 8% wieder ab.

Founders Fortune Test (Deutsch) Der spaßige Survival Aufbau Sims Mix im Review 16 Founders Fortune Wertung mit Zahl
Founders Fortune Wertung mit Zahl

So ergibt sich am Ende für das Spiel eines so kleinen Teams, eine grandiose 80% Wertung. Founders Fortune ist ein gutes Spiel für einen fairen Preis. Ich bin wirklich sehr gespannt, wohin die Reise mit Founders Fortune noch geht. Auf jeden Fall eine klare Empfehlung bereits jetzt von mir. Was immer die Entwickler jetzt noch alles vorhaben, ein schlechtes Spiel kann aus diesem tollen Anfang nicht mehr werden.

► Outro

Wie gefällt dir das Spiel bisher? Möchtest du gleich lossiedeln, oder ist dir das noch nicht genug? Schreib mir deine Meinung in die Kommentare, ich freu mich drauf.

Dann wünsche ich dir einen tollen Tag, lass es Dir gut gehen, ciao ciao, Dein Zap.

► Quellen und Links:

Webseite zum Spiel: https://foundersfortune.com/
Steam Page: https://steamcommunity.com/app/1104330/
Twitter: http://twitter.com/FoundersFortune
Entwickler Forum: https://forum.foundersfortune.com/
Discord Server: https://discordapp.com/invite/eYBN5kp

Lese-Empfehlung:

Mehr Reviews von Zap Zockt

zapzerap

Dirk "Zap" ist 40+, Chef und Kopf von Zap Zockt. Gamer und Nerd seit langer Zeit. Er schreibt gern über Games, Technik und YouTube, vor allem Guides, News und Reviews. Du möchtest mehr wissen? Schreib deine Fragen oder Wünsche einfach in einen Kommentar, Antwort kommt garantiert.

Das könnte Dich auch interessieren …

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.