The Ascent Cyber Heist – Back to the Beautifully Filthy Arcology

With The Ascent Cyber Heist, the cyberpunk ARPG gets a story DLC and plenty of updates make the visually impressive game even more interesting today

The Ascent Cyber Heist DLC - Cover
The Ascent Cyber Heist DLC – Cover

It’s been close to a year since The Ascent came out for PlayStation PS4/PS5, XBox and PC on Steam. It’s an action-heavy twin-stick shooter with a strong story and all sorts of RPG elements, in which we look down on a beautifully rancid and messed-up cyberpunk world from an oblique angle. In addition, there are a lot of conversations, often in cut-scenes, and a large world that hides some small and large secrets from us.

Along with that, there are plenty of nasty thugs, gun-toting gangs, and technologically advanced corporate soldiers roaming the city, making our journey as cyber-mercenaries through the world of the Arcology not too easy. Flavored well, with some pretty impressive graphics and rich sound, and there you have it, a cyberpunk action RPG of the better kind.

German Version:

Switch Dark / Light Mode:


The Ascent – One Year Later

On the release date of July the 29th, 2021, I wrote a detailed review of The Ascent, which you may want to check out if you don’t know the cyberpunk role-playing game yet. In The Ascent you don’t have to walk alone, multiplayer is supported and now even with Steam Remote Play, so you can invite a friend into your game, even if that person doesn’t own the game.

The Ascent looked fantastic from the start, in a cyberpunkish filthy and broken way. The gameplay, once you got used to the controls, was also superb and the story was gripping and varied. However, it was somewhat plagued by bugs and gaps, both in level design and in game features and operation.

But since then, the developers at Neon Giant have put a lot more work into the game, and there have been a total of 12 major patches and numerous hotfixes. Today, many of the serious problems have been fixed, unfortunately not all. However, The Ascent finally plays as well as it looks. And in the meantime, almost all side characters have been given voice-overs, making the three-dimensional cyberpunk city even more immersive.

The Ascent DLC – Cyber Heist

Since then, a few months and a few patches have passed, and just recently a major story DLC came out with “Cyber Heist”. For $9.99 it offers an additional main story and several side quests, some new map areas and five previously unavailable weapons await our Indents, as the inhabitants of the arcology are called in Ascent. Of course, all of this can be used in multiplayer as well.

The Ascent Cyber Heist Trailer Video

The Ascent - Cyber Heist DLC Launch Trailer | PS5 & PS4 Games

Cyber Heist DLC – Opinion and Conclusion

For the base price of $9.99 €, you get about three to five hours of new story with The Heist, a new area in the city and two special melee weapons as well as variants of ranged weapons. The enemy hordes get a bit bigger and the weapon upgrades numerous. For me, it’s not a standout DLC, but for fans of the game it’s a nice expansion and definitely worth a look in a sale or bundle for any ARPG player or fans of some isometric action-bombing.

For newcomers, The Ascent Cyber Edition is also a bundle that includes the base game and all three previous paid DLCs. However, the two smaller DLCs are more cosmetic in nature. But if there should be a good discount on the bundle, that’s certainly a good option to purchase the entire game in one go.

By the way, I also tested the game extensively on the new Valve Steamdeck, and The Ascent as well as the Cyber Heist DLC play very well on the handheld.

The Ascent Screenshots – Ingame Pictures

Click or tap into the image for a larger view.
In the enlarged view, you can scroll right and left on the edges

Links and Sources

Full Review The Ascent

The Ascent Steam Page

The Ascent Website

The Ascent Twitter

The Ascent Discord Server


Reading – recommendations:

A lot of detailed game news and information about games and gaming can always be found here at ZapZockt.de – As a Steam user, you can also follow the ZapZockt Steam curator to always be informed about my reviews directly on the platform.

There are also many game reviews that might interest you, and if you don’t want to miss anything, subscribe to the newsletter. As a Google News reader you can also go there and read the latest articles.

Shopping – Tip:

Ad / Affiliate Link
Games can often be bought cheaper. Legal, reliable and safe is the way to do it at my partner site Gamesplanet. This game, all DLCs, many more tactics, strategy, and many more titles are available there and almost always much cheaper than at Steam, Uplay, Epic, or other shops.

Steam Keys günstig kaufen - Buy steam keys cheap - Game keys Spiele Keys
Buy games cheaper

For every purchase, via this link, I receive a small commission. So you get games cheaper and at the same time support my work, my thanks in advance for that.

Social Media:


scroll to top - nach oben

The Ascent Cyber Heist – Zurück in die hübsch dreckige Arkologie

Mit The Ascent Cyber Heist bekommt das Cyberpunk ARPG ein Story-DLC und reichlich Updates machen das optisch beeindruckende Spiel heute noch interessanter

The Ascent Cyber Heist DLC - Cover
The Ascent Cyber Heist DLC – Cover

Fast ein Jahr ist es her, dass The Ascent für Playstation PS4/PS5, XBox und PC auf Steam herauskam. Ein actionlastiger Twin-Stick Shooter mit starker Story und allerlei RPG-Elementen, in dem wir von schräg oben in eine wunderschön ranzig und kaputte Cyberpunk Welt schauen. Dazu gibt es eine Menge Gespräche, oft in Cut-Scenes, und eine große Welt, die einige kleine und große Geheimnisse vor uns verbirgt.

Außerdem ziehen reichlich fiese Schläger, waffenstrotzende Gangs und technisch hochgerüstete Konzern-Soldaten durch die Stadt, die unsere Reise als Cyber-Söldner durch die Welt der Arkologie nicht zu einfach werden lassen. Gut abgeschmeckt, mit ziemlich beeindruckender Grafik und sattem Sound, und fertig ist ein Cyberpunk Action-RPG der besseren Art.

English Version:

Switch Dark / Light Mode:


The Ascent – Ein Jahr danach

Zum Release Date am 29. Juli 2021 gab es damals auch ein ausführliches Review von The Ascent von mir, das Du Dir mal anschauen solltest, falls Du das Cyberpunk Rollenspiel noch gar nicht kennst. In The Ascent muss man auch nicht allein herumlaufen, Multiplayer wird unterstützt und mittlerweile sogar mit Steam Remote Play, also kann man jemanden ins Spiel einladen, auch wenn diese Person das Spiel nicht besitzen sollte.

The Ascent sah von Anfang an, auf cyberpunkmäßig dreckige und kaputte Weise, extrem gut aus. Auch das Spielgefühl war, wenn man sich an die Steuerung erstmal gewöhnt hatte, wirklich gut und die Geschichte war packend und abwechslungsreich. Allerdings kränkelte es etwas an Bugs und Lücken, sowohl im Leveldesign als auch bei Spielfeatures und Bedienung.

Aber seitdem haben die Entwickler von Neon Giant noch viel Arbeit ins Game investiert und es gab insgesamt 12 größere Patches und zahlreiche Hotfixes. Heute sind viele der gravierenden Probleme beseitigt, leider nicht alle. The Ascent spielt sich nun aber endgültig so gut, wie es aussieht. Und mittlerweile haben auch fast alle Nebencharaktere eine Sprachausgabe spendiert bekommen, das macht die dreidimensionale Cyberpunk Stadt noch immersiver.

The Ascent DLC – Cyber Heist

Seit dem sind einige Monate und ein paar Patches durch gezogen und gerade frisch kam mit “Cyber Heist” ein größeres Story-DLC raus. Es bietet für 9,99 € eine zusätzliche Hauptgeschichte und mehrere Nebenquests, einige neue Map-Bereiche und fünf bisher nicht erhältliche Waffen warten auf unsere Indents, wie die Einwohner der Arkologie in Ascent genannt werden. Natürlich kann auch dies alles im Multiplayer genutzt werden

The Ascent Cyber Heist Trailer Video

The Ascent - Cyber Heist DLC Launch Trailer | PS5 & PS4 Games

Cyber Heist DLC – Meinung und Fazit

Für den Grundpreis von 9,99 € oder $ bekommt man mit The Heist ungefähr drei bis fünf Stunden neue Geschichte, und einen neuen Bereich in der Stadt und zwei besondere Nahkampfwaffen sowie Varianten von Fernkampfwaffen. Die Gegnerhorden werden noch etwas größer und die Waffenupgrades zahlreicher. Für mich ist es kein herausragendes DLC, aber für Fans des Spiels eine nette Erweiterung und im Sale oder Bundle für jeden ARPG Spieler oder Fans von etwas isometrischer Action-Ballerei auf jeden Fall einen Blick wert.

Für Neueinsteiger gibt es mit der The Ascent Cyber Edition auch ein Bundle, das das Grundspiel und alle drei bisherigen Bezahl-DLCs enthält. Allerdings sind die zwei kleineren DLCs eher kosmetischer Natur. Aber wenn es auf das Bundle einen guten Preisnachlass geben sollte, ist das sicher eine gute Option, das gesamte Spiel auf einen Schlag zu erwerben.

Achja, ich habe das Spiel übrigens auch ausgiebig auf dem neuen Valve Steamdeck getestet, und The Ascent wie auch das Cyber Heist DLC spielen sich ganz hervorragend mit dem Handheld.

The Ascent Screenshots – Ingame Pictures

Klicke oder Tippe auf eines der Bilder für eine größere Ansicht.
In der vergrößerten Ansicht kannst Du links und rechts am Rand umblättern

Links und Quellen

Full Review The Ascent

The Ascent Steam Page

The Ascent Website

The Ascent Twitter

The Ascent Discord Server


Sehr viele detaillierte Spiele News und Informationen rund um Games und Gaming findest Du immer hier bei ZapZockt.de – Als Steam-User kannst Du auch dem ZapZockt Steam Kurator Eintrag folgen, um direkt auf der Plattform immer über meine Reviews informiert zu werden.

Es gibt auch viele Game-Reviews, die Dich interessieren könnten, und wenn Du nichts verpassen möchtest, abonniere den Newsletter. Als Google News Leser kannst Du auch direkt dort, immer die neusten Artikel lesen.

Shopping – Tipp:

Werbung / Affiliate Link
Spiele kann man oft günstiger kaufen. Legal, zuverlässig und sicher geht das bei meiner Partnerseite Gamesplanet. Dieses Spiel, alle DLCs, viele weitere Taktik, Strategie und andere Titel gibt es dort im Angebot und fast immer sehr viel billiger als bei Steam, Uplay, Epic oder anderen Shops.

PC Hardware aber auch sehr viele andere technische und allgemeine Sachen kann man auch

bei Alternate.de kaufen

Falls Du meine Arbeit unterstützen magst, würde ich mich freuen, wenn Du vorher einen dieser Links hier anklickst. Du bezahlst den gleichen Preis. Für jeden Kauf über diese Links erhalte ich eine kleine Provision. Du bezahlst den gleichen Preis oder bekommst eventuell sogar Spiele günstiger und unterstützt gleichzeitig meine Arbeit, mein Dank im Voraus dafür.


scroll to top - nach oben