Decay of Logos Review

Decay of Logos Review (english) – Action roleplaying game with Zelda and Souls elements in test

Welcome to the Zap zockt Decay of Logos Review. The new single-player action role-playing game Decay of Logos should be mixed with Dark Souls elements (soulslike) & a touch of Zelda, it will be released for PC, PS4 & Xbox. I’ll show you how fancy the ARPG is, how well it plays & help you with your decision if to buy Decay of Logos or not?

Decay of Logos Review | Gaming News

Ada Close up

German Version:

Switch Dark / Light Mode:

This post is available as text here, but there is also a YouTube video (German voice-over, subtitles in many different languages). So you can choose how you like to enjoy it.

Decay of Logos Review Video:

(German voice-over, subtitles in many different languages)

Decay of Logos Review- Intro

Decay of Logos
Release and Price
Decay of Logos
Release and Price

Hi there, here’s the Zap. In this episode, I’d like to introduce you to the action role-playing game Decay of Logos. I will show you what the game is about and how it plays. And then give you the information you might need to decide if it’s a game for you.

Decay of Logos – Release and Price

Decay of Logos is developed by Amplify Creations of Portugal and distributed by Rising Star Games. Since both are rather small companies, I would classify it as an indie title. This review is based on the Day1 patch version.

In the pre-release version, there were some problems why the game got some bad ratings in tests based on the pre-release version. But with the Day1 patch, it gets a lot better.

The game was made available to me free of charge by the publisher in advance, for which I am very grateful, but this will have no influence on my rating. My viewers and readers have the highest priority and deserve my honest opinion. That’s why I always try to rate as if I paid for the game.

Decay of Logos 
Game Type
Decay of Logos
Game Type

The game will cost 19.90 € on all platforms, the PlayStation release took place on 27 August. On August 30th Steam was released for Xbox and PC. There will also be a Nintendo Switch version, but it has been postponed until September.

Decay of Logos — Game Type

Decay of Logos is a single player action role playing game with a very strong atmospheric design. You play the elf girl Ada, whose home village was destroyed and who sets out on adventure together with her faithful companion and mount, a white moose.

The roleplaying part is very classic. You collect equipment to improve the heroine, rise in levels, improve character values and slowly become stronger, so that the not insignificant challenges in the world of Logos can be mastered better.

Graphics, Engine, Technology, Sound

Graphics, Engine, Te
Graphics, Engine, Te

The game is based on the Unity Engine. So many teething troubles, which smaller Indiegames with their own engine often have, are not so common here.

The graphics of Decay of Logos are not super high-end, but I’m sure it will captivate you with its very own charm. The characters are detailed, chic animated and also the surroundings are very varied.

Decay of Logos Review (deutsch) - Fantastisches RPG mit Zelda und Souls-Elementen im Test  - Neue Gefährten
Decay of Logos
New Companions

Some textures could be sharper and more detailed. Some menus might be easier to use. Some animations still feel a bit slow in tempo, others are a bit fast. But these are small problems, which can be improved even after release. More about this in the later chapter on the state of the game.

The sound of the game is enormously good for such a small studio in terms of noise and ambient ambience. Also, the music pieces that play from time to time are very pleasant to listen to and only a little elevator-music-like. Unfortunately, speech output is very rare and then only in English. But at least everything is with subtitles and completely provided with German lyrics, and these are also excellently translated.

Story and Charakter

Decay of Logos Story and Character
Decay of Logos Story and Character

There is a fixed character, the young elf Ada. At the beginning she has to watch her whole village being annihilated and burned down. So she sets out to find out who is responsible and, of course, to get revenge.

Ada doesn’t have to go alone. She is accompanied by a white deer, whereas the game in English speaks of Elk, but the model looks more like a springbok. Anyway, this animal is at the same time companion, mount, can help with some switch puzzles and also carry things for us.

But the animal is very shy and nervous. For us to really benefit from it, it has to be fed with a certain type of berry and petted every now and then, otherwise the animal refuses us to sit up.

Let me say so much about history, the old king is dead, and his sons are fighting over the supremacy and inheritance of the throne. That’s all I’m saying because I don’t want to bring spoilers.

General Gameplay

Decay of Logos
Decay of Logos General Gameplay

Decay of Logos is an action role playing game. It describes itself as a mixture of Zelda and Dark Souls. The game is not a pure Open World roleplaying game, but offers a lot of wide and open areas with many hidden secrets, so you don’t feel too much like in a tube level.

Beside the partly crisp fight there are also many secrets to discover. Small puzzles, hidden secret door with extra loot, climbing games, sections where you should better sneak than fight. And then there are also more difficult and challenging tasks, such as a gate that you can’t open until you’ve found the levers in 2 completely different places.

There are caves, secret passages, winding temple ruins and dungeons, so-called arx, which also offer particularly difficult challenges and puzzles.

Here the game offers a lot of variety. And the level design is really appealing and both visually chic and playfully interesting.

Reading recommendation:

More Reviews by Zap Zockt

Decay of Logos Review (deutsch) - Fantastisches RPG mit Zelda und Souls-Elementen im Test 06 Gameplay Kampf
Decay of Logos
Gameplay – Fighting and Combat

Gameplay – Fighting and Combat

In battle, the closeness to Dark Souls desired by the developers is revealed. Each combat action consumes our precious endurance, which only regenerates slowly.

We have light and heavy blows at our disposal, we can duck, jump, block. And the opponents are sometimes very fast and some hits cost half a life bar. Dodging and, if you have a shield, blocking helps enormously here.

In addition to numerous normal enemies and many different variants of them, there are also boss battles at key locations. These bosses have their own attacks and require special tactics.

Health Points and Saving

When our scarce health points go down, the few healing potions one can find help only minimally. Especially since we can carry a maximum of 5 potions with us, after that the belt is full, wearing more is not possible.

Decay of Logos Review Health Points and Saving
Health Points and Saving

There are also shrines to discover that refresh our lives when we meditate on them. And then there is more or less the improved shrine version, the camp.

Ada can also sleep there to get rid of the constantly accumulating deductions from the character values. But sleeping can be dangerous, attacks at night are not so rare.

Both variants, camp as well as shrine, are thereby also our only possibility to save. So it is absolutely necessary to visit these places again and again. Especially if you go into a cave or enter unknown areas, because there are plenty of possibilities to die.

Why the game for two almost identical processes, needs however two different places, and which function almost the same but nevertheless differently? That’s a bit confusing for me.

Role-play and Character Stats

Role-play and Character Stats
Role-play and Character Stats

Our little elf is determined by her role-playing values, which we do not improve ourselves. According to the developer, our stats improve according to what we do in the game.

So if we fight a lot with enemies in close combat, the strength increases, if we often get beaten, the defense. And when you learn to cast spells later and use that kind of fighting a lot, it increases your intelligence, and so on.

It is also interesting to note that not only you become better when you climb a level, but you also constantly improve your values in between. With almost every fight, our initially very weak elf gets a little stronger.

In DoL the weapons have a damage value and also an indication of how much endurance a blow with the weapon costs. In addition to the durability, there is also the possibility that weapons cause fire, poison or stun damage.

At the same time, armor pieces have a defense value and also resistance to fire, poison, or stun damage.

When we die and through every strong attack on our character, we also get deductions from our values. However, we can regenerate this by sleeping in camps.

Scope of the game

Decay of Logos Review  Scope of the game
Scope of the game

The developers say that the story has about 10 hours playing time if you are very determined. But there is a lot to discover to the right and left of the main roads. And if you look there, there might be a few more hours in the game.

But since I like to look into every corner and look at all the secrets, I will probably need much longer. Because I already have 14 hours of testing behind me and am still a long way from having played the game halfway through.

And once you’ve played through the game, Decay of Logos offers a so-called NewGame+. This means that you can restart the game with your existing character and get heavier opponents and a better loot.

Condition of the game

Decay of Logos Review -  Condition of the game
Decay of Logos Review – Condition of the game

Decay of Logos has received some very bad reviews. The big American site IGN gave the game a 4.5 out of 10 rating. This rating was based on a pre-release version, with worse balancing and even more bugs, so I think this rating is unjustified with the version I have now.

After the Day1 patch that came out for Steam on August 30th, the game got a lot better. Before that, I had a lot of problems getting along in the game, because sometimes you were dead faster than you could say One-Hit. In this new version, the entry into the game is a lot smoother, and you can collect some equipment and increase your character values before you mess with the more fierce opponents. And if you’re stuck there, you can still go back and level with the previous monsters if necessary.

There are still some construction sites in the game. The game currently only runs on the PC with Windows 10, the number of supported game pads is still limited. Very rarely, it crashes or gets very jerky after a long playing time, especially if you take a break and the game stands still.

Then the handling of some menus is still a bit clumsy, and also the steering of the Elk companion is a little bit like steering a heavy boat with a drunken captain. The relationship between Ada and her Elk is put into the foreground at the beginning. But apart from some small puzzles that you have to solve together with the animal, the Elk is at the moment mainly a wandering storage box, not so much a helpful companion. Amplify still has some work to do here.

But contrary to some reviews released before the Day1 patch, Decay of Logos is now a playable adventure. It does have some frustrating moments here and there, for example when it crashes and the last save is ages ago, but it now runs much rounder than before and the game fun is absolutely there.

Opinion and Conclusion

Decay of Logos Review (deutsch) - Fantastisches RPG mit Zelda und Souls-Elementen im Test 11 Meinung und Fazit
Decay of Logos – Opinion and Conclusion

Dying from time to time is normal in role-playing. And if a game is based on a relationship to Dark Souls, then it’s a bit more often. Therefore, don’t be discouraged from dying, behind the rough facade hides a beautiful, epic role-playing game. If dying doesn’t bother you so much, Decay of Logos will take you on a challenging and exciting journey.

The game itself is beautiful, and the atmosphere is great. Fighting and balancing are a lot better with the Day1 patch, so it’s still easy to die, but there’s a good chance that with practice and some perseverance you’ll make progress.

Reading recommendation:

More Reviews by Zap Zockt

The design of the world is for my taste somewhere between good and occasionally even phenomenal. There are numerous small hiding places, switches, bouncy passages and small corners where you can still discover a little more.

Decay of Logos Review (deutsch) - Fantastisches RPG mit Zelda und Souls-Elementen im Test - Boss Down
Boss Down

Also, the told story is really interesting, here you are not sent to kill 5 rats, but you enter as a small weak elf in the middle of a corrupted kingdom, and have to get along with the surroundings first.

Decay of Logos also has an interesting approach to how the story unfolds, because in the beginning there are no quests at all. There are a few tutorial stones, a few NPCs that tell you stories by the way, and so-called echo crystals that deepen some details as text.

But otherwise, you have to explore and find out for yourself what’s going on and how to get ahead. At least this gives me the feeling to really explore a strange world, and not to be guided through the game with a carrot hanging near my nose. I like this approach very much.

Decay of Logos – Rating

Decay of Logos Review -  Rating
Decay of Logos Review – Rating

I try to consider in this evaluation that the game is from a small Indie team and also the price with 19.99 € is located in the rather lower middle range. Here we might as well lower the expectations a bit. And my test is based on the PC Steam version, so I can’t give any information about the performance, the graphics or the handling on the consoles.

I think you get a lot of value for the price asked. If you like action RPGs with puzzles and exploration, and you don’t give up frustrated if you die 2 times in the same place, then Decay of Logos is worth a trip.

I give Decay of Logos an 85% base rating for graphics, level design, inventiveness and the generally nice atmosphere in the game. Then you have to take the current state into account. And even though Decay of Logos has received some initial improvements, it still needs more polishing and fine-tuning. And until this work on the game is finished, I’ll deduct 10% for bugs, clumsy controls in the game as well as in the menu, and other trifles.

 Decay of Logos Review -  Rating 75 %
Decay of Logos Review – Rating 75 %

This results in an overall rating of 75% at this time, one day after release. Every further update could improve this rating, so have a look at the update history of the game.

Decay of Logos

Zap from ZapZockt.de

Decay of Logos Review | Gaming News
Decay of Logos is a single player action role playing game with a very strong atmospheric design. You play the elf girl Ada, whose home village was destroyed and who sets out on adventure together with her faithful companion and mount, a white moose.
Graphics
Sound
World Design
Combat
Scope of the game
State of the game
Fun per Price ratio

Summary

I try to consider in this evaluation that the game is from a small Indie team and also the price with 19.99 € is located in the rather lower middle range. Here we might as well lower the expectations a bit. And my test is based on the PC Steam version, so I can’t give any information about the performance, the graphics or the handling on the consoles.

I think you get a lot of value for the price asked. If you like action RPGs with puzzles and exploration, and you don’t give up frustrated if you die 2 times in the same place, then Decay of Logos is worth a trip.

I give Decay of Logos an 85% base rating for graphics, level design, inventiveness and the generally nice atmosphere in the game. Then you have to take the current state into account. And even though Decay of Logos has received some initial improvements, it still needs more polishing and fine-tuning. And until this work on the game is finished, I’ll deduct 10% for bugs, clumsy controls in the game as well as in the menu, and other trifles.

This results in an overall rating of 75% at this time, one day after release. Every further update could improve this rating, so have a look at the update history of the game.

3.8

Outro

How do you like what you’ve seen of the game so far? Did it make you want to go on a journey with the elf Ada? Write me your opinion about the game on the ZapZockt community Discord, and also feel free to comment on my videos. You can find more gaming news, reviews, and guides regularly here on the site and on my YouTube channel.

And then have a great day, take care, ciao ciao, your Zap.

Dev Page: http://amplify.pt/
Homepage for the game: https://decayoflogos.com/
Steam-page: https://store.steampowered.com/app/759570/Decay_of_Logos/
Dev Twitter: https://twitter.com/amplifycreates

Reading recommendation:

More Reviews by Zap Zockt

Reading – recommendations:

A lot of detailed games news and information about games and gaming can always be found here at ZapZockt.de – As a Steam user, you can also follow the ZapZockt Steam curator to always be informed about my reviews directly on the platform.

There are also many game reviews that might interest you, and if you don’t want to miss anything, subscribe to the newsletter. As a Google News reader you can also go there and read the latest articles.

Shopping – Tip:

Ad / Affiliate Link
Games can often be bought cheaper. Legal, reliable and safe is the way to do it at my partner site Gamesplanet. This game, all DLCs, many more tactics, strategy, and many more titles are available there and almost always much cheaper than at Steam, Uplay, Epic, or other shops.

Steam Keys günstig kaufen - Buy steam keys cheap - Game keys Spiele Keys
Buy games cheaper

For every purchase, via this link, I receive a small commission. So you get games cheaper and at the same time support my work, my thanks in advance for that.

Social Media:


Zap

Dirk "Zap" von ZapZockt.de, 40+ Gamer, zockt seit 1980 vor allem Strategie Titel, MMOs und Rollenspiele. Schreibt Game Reviews, Gaming News und auch mal über Technik, Hardware und YouTube. Mehr Infos findest Du unter Mehr über Zap lesen ◄----------► Dirk "Zap" from ZapZockt.de, 40+ gamer, has been gaming since 1980, mainly strategy titles, MMOs and RPGs. Writes game reviews, gaming news and also sometimes about technology, hardware and YouTube. Click here, if you want to read more about Zap.

You may also like...

Decay of Logos Review

Decay of Logos Review (deutsch) – Action Rollenspiel mit Zelda und Souls-Elementen im Test

Das neue Singleplayer Action Rollenspiel Decay of Logos soll mit Dark Souls Elementen (soulslike) & einem Hauch Zelda gemischt sein, es erscheint für PC, PS4 & Xbox. Ich zeige dir wie schick das ARPG ist, wie gut es sich spielt & helfe Dir bei deiner Entscheidung, Decay of Logos kaufen oder nicht?

Decay of Logos Review (deutsch) - Fantastisches RPG mit Zelda und Souls-Elementen im Test - Ada Nahaufnahme
Ada Nahaufnahme

Dieser Beitrag existiert hier als Text, es gibt aber auch eine Variante als PodCast oder auch ein YouTube Video dazu. So kannst Du aussuchen, wie Du dieses Review geniessen möchtest.

► Video:

► PodCast:

► intro – Einleitung

Decay of Logos Review (deutsch) - Fantastisches RPG mit Zelda und Souls-Elementen im Test 00 Intro - Einleitung
Decay of Logos Review (deutsch) – Fantastisches RPG mit Zelda und Souls-Elementen im Test

Moin Moin, hier ist der Zap. In dieser Episode möchte ich dir das Action-Rollenspiel Decay of Logos vorstellen. Ich werde Dir zeigen, um was es im Spiel geht und wie es sich spielt. Und dir dann die Informationen an die Hand geben, die Du vielleicht brauchst, um entscheiden zu können, ob es ein Spiel für dich sein könnte.

► Decay of Logos – Release und Preis

Decay of Logos Review (deutsch) - Fantastisches RPG mit Zelda und Souls-Elementen im Test 01 Decay of Logos Release und Preis
Decay of Logos Release und Preis

Decay of Logos wird von Amplify Creations aus Portugal entwickelt und von Rising Star Games vertrieben. Da beides eher kleine Firmen sind, würde ich es als Indie-Titel einstufen. Dieses Review basiert auf der Day1 Patch Version.

In der Vorab Version gab es einige Probleme, warum das Spiel etwas schlechte Bewertungen bei Tests bekommen hat, die auf der Vorab Version basierten. Mit dem Day1 Patch wird aber einiges besser.

Mir wurde das Spiel vom Publisher kostenlos vorab zur Verfügung gestellt, dafür bin ich sehr dankbar, aber dies wird keinerlei Einfluss auf meine Wertung haben. Meine Zuschauer und Leser haben höchste Priorität und haben meine ehrliche Meinung verdient. Darum versuche ich immer so zu bewerten, als hätte ich das Spiel bezahlt.

Das Spiel soll auf allen Plattformen 19,90 € kosten, der Playstation Release erfolgte am 27. August. Am 30. August kam es für Xbox und PC auf Steam. Es wird auch eine Nintendo Switch Version geben, diese wurde aber auf September verschoben.

► Decay of Logos – Spieltyp

Decay of Logos Review (deutsch) - Fantastisches RPG mit Zelda und Souls-Elementen im Test 02 Decay of Logos Spieltyp
Decay of Logos Spieltyp

Decay of Logos ist ein Einzelspieler Action Rollenspiel mit einer sehr starken atmosphärischen Gestaltung. Man spielt das Elfenmädchen Ada, deren Heimatdorf zerstört wurde und die gemeinsam mit ihrem treuen Gefährten und Reittier, einem weißen Elch, auf Abenteuer auszieht.

Der Rollenspiel Teil ist hierbei sehr klassisch. Man sammelt Ausrüstung um die Heldin zu verbessern, steigt in Stufen auf, verbessert Charakter Werte und wird damit langsam stärker, so dass die nicht unerheblichen Herausforderungen in der Welt von Logos besser gemeistert werden können.

► Grafik, Engine, Technik, Sound

Decay of Logos Review (deutsch) - Fantastisches RPG mit Zelda und Souls-Elementen im Test 03 Grafik, Engine, Technik, Sound
Grafik, Engine, Technik, Sound

Das Spiel basiert auf der Unity Engine. Dadurch sind viele Kinderkrankheiten, die kleinere Indiegames mit eigener Engine oft haben, hier nicht so häufig.

Die Grafik von Decay of Logos ist zwar nicht super Highend, aber weiß mit ihrem ganz eigenen Charme auf jeden Fall zu begeistern, mich zumindest. Die Figuren sind detailliert, schick animiert und auch die Umgebung ist abwechslungsreich.

Decay of Logos Review (deutsch) - Fantastisches RPG mit Zelda und Souls-Elementen im Test  - Neue Gefährten
Decay of Logos – Neue Gefährten

Manche Textur könnte etwas schärfer und detaillierter sein. Manches Menü könnte einfacher zu bedienen sein. Einige Animationen fühlen sich vom Tempo her noch etwas langsam an, andere sind etwas schnell. Aber dies sind kleinere Problemchen, die eventuell auch nach Release noch leicht verbessert werden können. Mehr dazu im späteren Kapitel zum Zustand des Spiels.

Der Sound des Spiels ist für so ein kleines Studio enorm gut, was Geräusche und Umgebungs-Ambiente betrifft. Auch die Musik-Stücke die ab und an spielen sind sehr angenehm zu hören und nur wenig dudelig. Leider sind Sprachausgaben sehr selten und dann nur auf englisch. Aber immerhin ist alles mit Untertiteln und komplett mit deutschen Texten versehen und diese sind auch exzellent übersetzt.

► Story und Charakter

Decay of Logos Review (deutsch) - Fantastisches RPG mit Zelda und Souls-Elementen im Test 04 Decay of Logos Story und Character
Decay of Logos Story und Character

Es gibt einen fest vorgegebenen Charakter, die junge Elfin Ada. Zu Beginn muss sie ansehen, wie ihr ganzes Dorf ausgerottet und niedergebrannt wird. Also zieht sie los um herauszufinden, wer dafür verantwortlich ist und natürlich auch, um sich dafür zu rächen.

Ada muss aber nicht allein losziehen. Ein weißer Hirsch begleitet sie, wobei das Spiel im englischen von Elk spricht, also eher Elch, das Modell sieht aber mehr nach Springbock aus. Wie auch immer, dieses Tier ist Gefährte, Reittier, kann bei manchen Schalterrätseln helfen und auch Sachen für uns Tragen.

Das Tier ist aber sehr scheu und nervös. Damit wir richtig Nutzen von ihm haben, muss er mit einer bestimmten Beerensorte gefüttert und immer mal wieder gestreichelt werden, ansonsten verweigert das Tier, dass wir aufsitzen.

Zur Geschichte sei soviel gesagt, der alte König ist tot, und seine Söhne streiten sich um die Vorherrschaft und das Erbe des Throns. Mehr sag ich nicht dazu, da ich keine Spoiler bringen möchte.

► Gameplay – Allgemein

Decay of Logos Review (deutsch) - Fantastisches RPG mit Zelda und Souls-Elementen im Test 05 Gameplay allgemein
Decay of Logos Gameplay allgemein

Decay of Logos ist ein Action Rollenspiel. Es bezeichnet sich selbst als Mischung aus Zelda und Dark Souls. Das Spiel ist kein reines Open World Rollenspiel, bietet aber sehr weitläufig Arreale mit vielen versteckten Geheimnissen, so dass man sich nicht allzu sehr wie in einem Schlauch-Level fühlt.

Neben dem teilweise knackigem Kampf gibt es auch viele Geheimnisse zu entdecken. Kleine Rätsel, versteckte Geheimtüre mit Extra-Loot, Kletterpartien, Abschnitte wo man besser schleichen als kämpfen sollte. Und dann gibt es auch schwerere und herausforderndere Aufgaben, wie zum Beispiel ein Tor, das man nicht öffnen kann, bevor man nicht an 2 völlig anderen Stellen die Hebel gefunden hat.

Es gibt Höhlen, Geheimgänge, verwinkelte Tempelruinen und Dungeons, sogenannte Arx, die auch noch besonders schwere Herausforderung und Rätsel bieten.

Hier bietet das Spiel sehr viel Abwechslung. Und das Leveldesign ist wirklich sehr ansprechend und sowohl optisch schick anzusehen wie auch spielerisch interessant.

Lese-Empfehlung:

Mehr Reviews von Zap Zockt

► Gameplay – Kampf

Decay of Logos Review (deutsch) - Fantastisches RPG mit Zelda und Souls-Elementen im Test 06 Gameplay Kampf
Decay of Logos Gameplay und Kampf

Im Kampf offenbart sich die von den Entwicklern gewünschte Nähe zu Dark Souls. Jede Kampfaktion verbraucht unsere kostbare Ausdauer, die nur langsam regeneriert.

Wir haben leichte und schwere Schläge zur Verfügung, können uns ducken, springen, blocken. Und die Gegner sind teilweise sehr schnell und mancher Treffer kostet einen halben Lebensbalken. Ausweichen und, wenn man ein Schild hat, Blocken helfen hier enorm.

Neben zahlreichen normalen Gegnern und manch unterschiedlichen Varianten davon, gibt es an Schlüssel-Stellen auch Boss-Kämpfe. Diese Bosse haben dann noch ihre ganz eigenen Angriffe und erfordern besondere Taktiken.

► Lebensenergie und Speichern

Decay of Logos Review (deutsch) - Fantastisches RPG mit Zelda und Souls-Elementen im Test 07 Lebensenergie und Speichern
Lebensenergie und Speichern

Wenn unsere knappe Lebensenergie sinkt, helfen die wenigen Heiltränke, die man finden kann nur minimal. Zumal wir maximal 5 Tränke mit uns führen können, danach ist der Gürtel voll, mehr tragen geht nicht.

Daneben gibt es Schreine zu entdecken, die unser Leben auffrischen, wenn wir daran meditieren. Und dann gibt es mehr oder weniger die verbesserte Schrein-Version, das Lager.

Dort kann Ada auch schlafen, um die sich ständig ansammelnden Abzüge auf die Charakterwerte wieder loszuwerden. Aber, das Schlafen kann gefährlich sein, Überfälle bei Nacht passieren gar nicht so selten.

Beide Varianten, Lager wie auch Schrein, sind dabei auch unsere einzige Möglichkeit abzuspeichern. Also ganz unbedingt immer wieder diese Orte aufsuchen. Besonders wenn man in eine Höhle geht oder unbekanntes Gebiet betritt, denn Möglichkeiten zu sterben gibt es reichlich.

Warum das Spiel für zwei fast identische Vorgänge, allerdings zwei unterschiedliche Orte braucht und die fast gleich aber doch anders funktionieren? Das ist mir etwas unklar.

► Rollenspiel und Werte

Decay of Logos Review (deutsch) - Fantastisches RPG mit Zelda und Souls-Elementen im Test 08 Rollenspiel und Werte
Rollenspiel und Werte

Unsere kleine Elfe wird durch ihre Rollenspiel Werte bestimmt, die wir nicht selbst verbessern. Diese werden automatisch erhöht, laut Entwickler verbessern sich unsere Stats angepasst daran, was wir im Spiel so tun.

Wenn wir uns also viel mit Gegnern im Nahkampf herum schlagen, steigt die Stärke, wenn wir oft Prügel kassieren, die Verteidigung. Und wenn man später zaubern lernt und diese Kampfart viel verwendet, dann steigt dadurch die Intelligenz, und so weiter.

Interessant ist dabei auch, dass man nicht nur besser wird, wenn man eine Stufe aufsteigt, sondern auch bereits dazwischen sich stetig Werte verbessern. Mit fast jedem Kampf wird unsere anfangs sehr schwache Elfe damit ein wenig stärker.

In DoL haben die Waffen einen Schadenswert und auch eine Angabe, wieviel Ausdauer ein Schlag mit der Waffe kostet. Neben der Haltbarkeit gibt es dann noch die Möglichkeit, dass Waffen Feuer-, Gift- oder Betäubungsschaden verursachen.

Parallel dazu haben Rüstungsteile einen Verteidigungswert und auch Resistenz gegen Feuer, Gift oder Betäubungsschaden.

Beim Sterben und durch jede starke Attacke auf unseren Charakter bekommen wir auch Abzüge auf unsere Werte. Dies können wir aber durch Schlafen an Lagern wieder regenerieren.

► Umfang des Spiels

Decay of Logos Review (deutsch) - Fantastisches RPG mit Zelda und Souls-Elementen im Test 09 Umfang des Spiels
Umfang des Spiels

Die Entwickler sprechen davon, dass die Story ca. 10 Stunden Spielzeit beinhaltet, wenn man sehr zielstrebig vorgeht. Es gibt aber einiges zu entdecken rechts und links der Hauptwege. Und wenn man dort nachschaut, könnten so einige Stunden mehr im Spiel stecken.

Da ich aber gern in jede Ecke schaue und mir alle Geheimnisse anschaue, werde ich wohl noch sehr viel länger brauchen. Denn ich habe bereits 14 Stunden Test hinter mir und bin noch sehr weit davon entfernt, das Spiel auch nur halb durch gespielt zu haben.

Und wenn man dann das Spiel durchgespielt hat, bietet Decay of Logos ein sogenanntes NewGame+. Dies bedeutet, man kann das Spiel mit seinem existierenden Charakter wieder von vorn beginnen, und erhält dann schwerere Gegner und besseren Loot.

► Zustand des Spiels

Decay of Logos Review (deutsch) - Fantastisches RPG mit Zelda und Souls-Elementen im Test 10 Zustand des Spiels
Decay of Logos Review – Zustand des Spiels

Decay of Logos hat einige sehr schlechte Kritiken bekommen. Die große amerikanische Seite IGN hat dem Spiel eine 4,5 von 10 Wertung gegeben. Diese Wertung bezog sich auf eine Vorab Version, mit schlechterem Balancing und noch mehr Bugs, und daher halte ich diese Wertung mit der mir jetzt vorliegenden Version für ungerechtfertigt.

Nach dem Day1 Patch, der am 30. August für Steam rauskam, wurde das Spiel schon sehr viel besser. Zuvor hatte ich arge Probleme im Spiel überhaupt zurecht zu kommen, da man manchmal schneller tot war, als man One-Hit sagen konnte. In dieser neuen Version ist der Einstieg ins Spiel weitaus sanfter und man kann erstmal etwas Ausrüstung sammeln und Charakterwerte steigern, ehe man sich mit den heftigeren Gegnern anlegt. Und wenn man dort etwas festhängt, kann man immer noch zurück gehen und mit den vorherigen Monstern leveln, falls notwendig.

Es gibt weiterhin einige Baustellen im Spiel. Das Spiel läuft auf dem PC derzeit nur mit Windows 10, die Anzahl der unterstützten Gamepads ist noch begrenzt. Sehr selten stürzt es noch ab oder wird arg ruckelig nach längerer Spielzeit, besonders wenn man mal eine Pause macht und das Spiel stillsteht.

Dann ist die Bedienung mancher Menüs noch etwas klobig, und auch die Steuerung des Elk-Gefährten ist ein wenig so, als würde man einen schweren Lastkahn mit einem betrunkenen Kapitän steuern. Die Beziehung zwischen Ada und ihrem Elk wird zwar am Anfang stark in den Vordergrund gestellt, aber abseits von ein paar kleinen Rätseln, die man gemeinsam mit dem Tier lösen muss, ist der Elk momentan hauptsächlich eine wandernde Lagerkiste, nicht so sehr ein hilfreicher Gefährte. Hier muss Amplify noch einiges nachbessern.

Aber entgegen mancher Testberichte, die vor dem Day1 Patch veröffentlich wurden, ist Decay of Logos nun ein gut spielbares Abenteuer. Es hat zwar hier und da auch noch ein paar frustrierende Momente, zum Beispiel wenn es mal abstürzt und der letzte Save ewig lange her ist, aber es läuft jetzt sehr viel runder als vorher und der Spielspaß ist absolut vorhanden.

► Meinung und Fazit

Decay of Logos Review (deutsch) - Fantastisches RPG mit Zelda und Souls-Elementen im Test 11 Meinung und Fazit
Decay of Logos – Meinung und Fazit

Ab und zu sterben ist in einem Rollenspiel normal. Und wenn ein Spiel sich auf eine Verwandschaft zu Dark Souls beruft, dann wohl auch noch etwas öfter. Darum, lass dich nicht vom Sterben entmutigen, hinter der rauen Fassade verbirgt sich ein wunderschönes, episches Rollenspiel. Falls dich das Sterben nicht so sehr stört, wirst du mit Decay of Logos eine herausfordernde und spannende Reise erleben können.

Das Spiel an sich ist wunderschön und die Stimmung ist toll. Kampf und Balancing sind mit dem Day1 Patch sehr viel besser geworden, und so kann man zwar immer noch leicht sterben, aber es gibt gute Chancen, mit Übung und etwas Durchhaltevermögen voran zu kommen.

► Lese Empfehlung:

Weitere Reviews und Test von Zap Zockt

Das Design der Welt ist für meinen Geschmack irgendwo zwischen gut und manchmal sogar phänomenal. Es gibt zahlreiche kleine Verstecke, Schalter, Hüpfpassagen und kleine Winkel, wo man immer noch etwas mehr entdecken kann.

Decay of Logos Review (deutsch) - Fantastisches RPG mit Zelda und Souls-Elementen im Test - Boss Down
Boss Down

Auch die erzählte Geschichte ist wirklich interessant, hier wird man nicht losgeschickt 5 Ratten zu töten, sondern man steigt als kleine schwache Elfe mitten in einem korrumpierten Königreich ein, und muss erstmal mit der Umgebung zu recht kommen.

Decay of Logos geht von der Geschichte her hier auch einen interessanten Weg. Denn Quests gibt es anfangs erstmal gar nicht. Es gibt ein paar Tutorial Steine, wenige NPCs die einem Geschichten eher nebenbei erzählen und sogenannte Echokristalle, die einige Details als Text vertiefen.

Aber ansonsten muss man erkunden und selbst herausfinden, was eigentlich los ist und wie man vorwärts kommt. Dies gibt zumindest mir das Gefühl wirklich eine fremde Welt zu erforschen, und nicht mit einer Karotte an der Nase durchs Spiel gelotst zu werden. Dieser Ansatz gefällt mir sehr gut.

► Decay of Logos – Wertung

Decay of Logos Review (deutsch) - Fantastisches RPG mit Zelda und Souls-Elementen im Test 12 Decay of Logos Wertung
Decay of LogosReview – Wertung

Ich versuche bei dieser Bewertung zu berücksichtigen, dass das Spiel von einem kleinen Indie-Team ist und auch der Preis mit 19,99 € im eher niedrigeren mittleren Bereich angesiedelt ist. Hier kann man also auch mal ein paar Abstriche an die Ansprüche machen. Und mein Test basiert auf der PC Steam Version, so kann ich keine Angaben zur Performance, zur Grafik oder zum Handling auf den Konsolen machen.

Für den geforderten Preis bekommt man einiges geboten, denk ich. Wenn man Action RPGs mit Rätseln und Erkunden mag, und nicht sofort frustriert aufgibt, wenn man mal 2 mal an der gleichen Stelle stirbt, dann ist Decay of Logos eine Reise wert.

Decay of Logos Review (deutsch) - Fantastisches RPG mit Zelda und Souls-Elementen im Test 14 Decay of Logos Wertung - Zahl
Decay of Logos Review (deutsch) – Fantastisches RPG mit Zelda und Souls-Elementen im Test 14 Decay of Logos Wertung – Zahl

Für Grafik, Level-Design, Ideenreichtum und die allgemein schöne Stimmung im Spiel gebe ich Decay of Logos eine 85% Wertung. Dann muss man aber den momentanen Zustand damit verrechnen. Und auch wenn Decay of Logos erste Verbesserungen erhalten hat, braucht es noch weitere Polierarbeiten und Feintuning. Und bis diese Arbeit am Spiel abgeschlossen ist, ziehe ich für Bugs, hakelige Steuerung im Spiel wie im Menü, und andere Kleinigkeiten insgesamt 10% ab.

Damit gibt sich eine Gesamtwertung von 75% derzeit, einen Tag nach Release. Jedes weitere Update könnte diese Wertung aber verbessern, also schau ruhig mal in die Update History des Spiels.

► Outro

Wie gefällt dir, was Du bisher vom Spiel gesehen hast? Hast Du Lust bekommen mit der Elfe Ada auf Reisen zu gehen? Schreib mir in den Kommentaren deine Meinung zum Spiel und auch gern zu meinen Videos. Mehr Gaming News, Reviews und Guides findest Du regelmäßig hier auf der Seite und auf meinem YouTube Kanal.

Und dann wünsch ich Dir einen tollen Tag, lass es Dir gut gehen, ciao ciao, Dein Zap.

► Quellen und Links:

Entwickler Seite: http://amplify.pt/
Homepage des Spiels: https://decayoflogos.com/
Steam-Seite: https://store.steampowered.com/app/759570/Decay_of_Logos/
Entwickler Twitter: https://twitter.com/amplifycreates?lang=de

Lese-Empfehlung:

Mehr Reviews von Zap Zockt

zapzerap

Dirk "Zap" ist 40+, Chef und Kopf von Zap Zockt. Gamer und Nerd seit langer Zeit. Er schreibt gern über Games, Technik und YouTube, vor allem Guides, News und Reviews. Du möchtest mehr wissen? Schreib deine Fragen oder Wünsche einfach in einen Kommentar, Antwort kommt garantiert.

Das könnte Dich auch interessieren …

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.