Batora Lost Haven Review – Girl Power in SciFi Space Action Adventure

In the Batora Lost Haven Review / Test you can Find out Everything About the New, Exciting Sci-Fi Adventure with Isometric Action Combat and a Lot of Story

Batora Lost Haven Review
Girl Power in SciFi 
Space Action Adventure Test
Batora Lost Haven Review
Girl Power in SciFi
Space Action Adventure Test

In the action-adventure game Batora Lost Haven, we travel through a post-apocalyptic science fiction world with the heroine Avril, saving the Earth by traveling through space and restoring the balance in the galaxy. The sun and moon stand by our side and lend us their powers to cast powerful melee fire attacks or mighty ranged mental spells.

The story-driven ARPG Batora is an indie game with a release date of Oct 20th, 2022, for Xbox, PlayStation PS4 / PS5, and for PC on Steam, a Nintendo version is also planned. In the Batora review PC gameplay is shown in German, RPG mixed with hack and slash, female protagonist, and all from an indie dev team.

German Version:

Switch Dark / Light Mode:


Batora Lost Haven Review Video

The video and the podcast post about the review will follow in the coming days. Unfortunately, I currently have COVID and my voice is wholly destroyed, thus recording a voice-over is impossible.

Batora Lost Haven Review – Intro

The game is developed by Stormind Games and published by Team17. The Batora release date is October 20th, 2022 for Xbox and Playstation, as well as for PC on Steam. A Nintendo Switch version is also planned.

Hi there, this is the Zap. In this Batora – Lost Haven review, you’ll get a sneak peek at the new action-adventure game with a mix of story, combat, and puzzles. I’ll tell you how it plays, what’s in it, and at the end, you’ll get a rating from me. But most of all, I want to give you all the info so you can decide for yourself if you might enjoy Batora.

There are already two games from Stormind, Remothered: Tormented Fathers and Broken Porcelain. I received a free trial key, my thanks for that. However, this should have no bearing on my review, as I always test all games with the thought in the back of my mind, how would I feel if I had paid full price.


Batora Gameplay – Story and Characters

Batora Lost Haven Review
Story and Chars
Batora Lost Haven Review
Story and Chars

In Batora we play the young woman Avril, who lives in London on a post-apocalyptic Earth. The world has been almost completely destroyed by unknown events, and in Avril’s dreams, two voices, calling themselves the Sun and the Moon, speak of her being the chosen one who has to save the galaxy.

Together with her friend Mira, who doubts Avril’s sanity but is still loyal to her, she seeks out a place on the London Underground that the voices have named as a meeting place. And suddenly they are both thrown into an alien world, and Avril is given a sword and special skills by the sun and moon, as well as a mission, to first restore the disturbed balance on this strange planet and later save the entire galaxy.


Batora Lost Haven Test – Game Type – Action-Adventure

Batora Lost Haven Test
Game Type Action-Adventure
Batora Lost Haven Test
Game Type Action-Adventure

We control Avril with a gamepad or WASD and mouse from an isometric view from above. We travel through mostly rather moderately complex areas, which are often bordered by gates or other barriers, which we then have to unlock through puzzles or certain quests.

The quests take place in cutscenes and conversations, in which we often have to make decisions, some of which also have an actual impact on the development of the story. Here, in addition to different paths in the story, there is also a karma system that can have an impact on our character.

Our heroine has two conditions, based on her allies the sun and the moon. In sun mode we can distribute physical attacks in melee and in moon mode, we shoot with mental ranged attacks. We can switch between the two states at any time. Both types gradually get several skills of their own, and we even have extra life bars for each alignment. In addition, there is a dodge jump, which we need very often, and there are smaller combos that increase damage or trigger special attacks.

When we walk through the more cavernous corridors while exploring, we are frequently attacked by different kinds of alien monsters. The enemies also have lunar and solar alignments. We should attack them with the appropriate attack type, so moon with moon and sun enemies with sun attacks. In addition, there are hybrid monsters that perform both kinds of attacks and also have two life bars on them.

In the boss fights, there is also always a moon side and a sun side of the main opponents, which come up with completely different skills and behaviors. This system provides a lot of variety in combat, and in the big fights you have to switch constantly, and always choose the right alignment at the right moment, otherwise, you’ll quickly get more of a beating than our Avril can handle.

Another very important game element is extensive puzzle passages. Here we activate switches, turn platforms and gates, use our mental abilities to move balls through mazes like Indiana Jones to push down platforms, and much more. These puzzles aren’t super hard, but I had a few times to think about them a bit. In addition, we sometimes get the choice of whether we want to solve a quest with combat, or by solving puzzles.

In later sections, we are then also often together with our friend Mila or other companions on the road. And even if they are fighting along, we have to watch out for them and defend them. Because not only if we collapse there is a Game Over screen, but, also if a companion goes down, the fight is immediately over.


Batora Gameplay – Roleplay and RPG Systems

Roleplay and RPG Systems
Roleplay and RPG Systems

We get experience with fighting, discoveries, and quests. Through this, we rise in levels, which automatically increases our stats a little. Unfortunately, it is not possible here for us to distribute stats ourselves, or learn other skills. We get improvements but have no choice in the matter whatsoever. This disappointingly lowers the role-playing portion in this area to an absolute minimum.

At least we can find or buy runes that we can then build onto our weapon. And this gives us at least some ability to customize our heroine to our play style. But since these runes mainly include more damage, more HP, crit chance, and things like that, the selection here is also very small. Later on, there are slightly more powerful runes, but they didn’t really strike me as crucial. Besides the runes, there is no further choice in equipment or other points, skills, or values.

Thus, I’m sorry to say that marketing the game as a “role-playing game” is rather improper and even a bit misleading. In this area, there is almost nothing to decide, no real possibilities to choose different paths, skill sets, equipment, or anything like that. Wasted potential, more on that in a moment in the Opinion and Conclusion section.


Batora Lost Haven – Gameplay Screenshots – InGame Pictures

Click or tap on the image for a larger view.
In the enlarged view, you can scroll right and left on the edges

Tech, Graphics, Sound, Engine, Translation

Tech, Graphics, Sound, Engine, Translation
Tech, Graphics, Sound, Engine, Translation

Batora is developed with Unreal Engine 4. And because of that, there are some really fancy cutscenes and also in conversations and in the fights against bosses, the game makes good use of some of these capabilities. In normal gameplay, however, the extensive capabilities of the modern graphics engine are unfortunately often not fully used. During my testing time, the game did not crash once and did not cause any other problems, so technically Batora is in good shape.

The settings and options screen is a bit scarce. Neither is there a difficulty level to choose from, nor any other gameplay settings. In the graphics area, however, the game does offer some options to adapt the game to weaker hardware, as well as to current graphics cards with ray tracing and DLSS if needed. Unfortunately, no FSR is provided.

The game’s controls are primarily designed for the gamepad. You can play Batora with a mouse and keyboard without any problems, but it often confused me that for certain functions buttons were shown again and again, with areas that looked like click buttons, but when you tried to click there with the mouse nothing happened. It is somewhat incomprehensible to me why this was not offered both at the same time.

The soundtrack is rather mediocre. Combat sounds are present, but not too varied. Ambient sounds are heard less often and when they are, they didn’t really excite me. What I did like was the English voice output. The voice artists who lend their voices to the characters did a solid job here.

The game’s text is offered in 13 languages, but the dubbing is exclusively in English. Sometimes the subtitles differ a bit from the dubbing, but it’s not really dramatic.


Batora Lost Haven Review
How well does Batora run on Steamdeck
Batora Lost Haven Review
How well does Batora run on Steamdeck

How well does Batora run on Steamdeck?

The game is fundamentally very well-prepared for the Steam deck. A control scheme specially prepared for the new console is offered, and everything can be operated well with the sticks and the existing buttons. As good as always, the required buttons are displayed directly at the functions, which is an exemplary well implementation.

The performance on the deck is decent and makes for good playability. With the default setting, the battery would last about 3-4 hours. However, if you throttle the graphics a bit via Steamdeck options, you can easily get 4-5 hours of battery life out of there with Batora, without compromising your gaming experience.


Batora Lost Haven Test – Opinion and Conclusion

Batora Lost Haven Test
Opinion and Conclusion
Batora Lost Haven Test
Opinion and Conclusion

My biggest problem with Batora is the camera controls. Neither can you move the camera angle freely, nor zoom smoothly. Only switching between two fixed zoom levels is possible, but that’s more like “camera far away” and “camera very far away”.

And in the dungeon passages, especially when you have to run down, this “very far” is still somehow too little for my feeling. There you run mostly into the unknown and can not see well where the character is heading. Sometimes there are then automatic adjustments of the distance, which are mostly helpful, but sometimes they are not.

Here the developers could have gotten a lot more out of the engine. The gameplay feels so, with this fixed camera, unfortunately, a bit stiff in some passages. And sometimes it even gets frustrating when you run into enemies you couldn’t see, or in boss fights once again the controls don’t respond fluidly, or enemies run out of the screen, and then you’re attacked from offscreen.

Graphically, Batora is often really pretty, and then again it has passages where it tends more toward “mediocre”. The game offers a very unique style, which is also used consistently. So the developers can really do great things graphically, but somehow they didn’t implement this well throughout.

Some textures unfortunately look a bit boring and muddy. And many details of the models for characters and monsters become clear only in cutscenes. Because in the normal game, the camera is just so far away, so the details are often lost here. But it is a graphically good average to a little above and altogether this is already on a good level. But still, there would simply be more in it, Stormind regrettably gives away some points here.

Combat is partially too unbalanced or too random

Generally, some of the fights still seemed a bit badly balanced to me. Obviously, you should use the various skills, shields, combos, and self-heals skillfully. And if you pay attention to all this, you can also take care of yourself quite well. However, if it then happens with the companions in the fight constantly that these stand around bluntly in the middle, and are collecting all area damage from the opponents, and then falling down quickly, it can sometimes become frustrating.

Here, I would have liked companions to just pass out and get dropped as help until after the fight. But having a companion die in combat and then trigger a game over didn’t sit well with me at all. I had some frustrating moments there, which are also very hard to avoid, even when you try to draw the enemies’ aggro on you.

The balancing of some boss fights was still a bit too much on the difficult side for my taste. But in boss fights, I can still understand it best. But when even the “normal” monster groups sometimes knock you off your feet 5-6 times in a row, or constantly kill your companion, then the line between fun, challenge, and frustration is reached more often than is good for the gameplay.

Difficulty level unfortunately not adjustable

Thus, I think the game overall lacks a difficulty slider and more gameplay options to adjust to one’s idea of difficulty and enjoyment. Gamepad acrobats might find themselves challenged, but for players with slightly slower reflexes or even limitations, this could become a problem and a source of frustration.

Great Story – Characters with Personality

I really like the story of the game. There is an interesting mix of post-apocalyptic sci-fi, magic, and alien stories here. The story is roughly based on a book also called Batora, so if you really like the game, you can go deeper here.

You can also tell that the world and characters have a bit more substance to them here than in many other action-adventure games. The main characters have strong personalities and occasionally babble a bit away from the exact main story, and even some of the side characters have fun idiosyncrasies and a few small, but powerful appearances.

The Design – Unfortunately a bit Too Linear

However, I must note that both the level design and the story progression are actually absolutely linear. Apart from a few small roadside stashes, there aren’t many opportunities to take different paths. That’s actually quite a shame because a little more freedom would have added a lot to the game.

For $24.99 or €, Batora offers roughly 15-20 hours of gameplay, depending on combat skill and the number of deaths. Should one skip all dialogues, this can be shortened dramatically. But I really can’t recommend that, because then you would miss about 70 % of the game because Batora is very story-heavy.

Batora is not a real RPG

The replay value is unfortunately limited by the somewhat low role-playing depth and the linear structure. You do have some decisions to make, and there are different endings to the story. I haven’t had a chance to try them all out yet. But I don’t think these have such a strong impact that this alone provides motivation for multiple playthroughs. With a skill tree and more freely distributable stats, the game could have gotten much more depth and fun here. Unfortunately, the developers at Stormind missed an opportunity here to make the game even better.

Batora Lost Haven Review – Rating

When I put into perspective the fun and length of gameplay offered, as well as the original story and special game features, I would like to give Batora Lost Haven a base rating of 85 %.

For the slightly too linear game design and the limited role-playing system, I deduct 3 %. Slight flaws in the balancing of the battles, especially with the companions and the lack of a difficulty slider, deduct another 2 %. With that, Batora Lost Haven gets a final rating of 80 % from me.

For a higher rating, the replay value should have just been better, and fewer frustrating moments while fighting would have really enhanced the experience. With good updates, I think Batora could still pull out 5 % more.

Batora Lost Haven Review
Rating with numbers 80 percent
Batora Lost Haven Review
Rating with numbers 80 percent

Batora Lost Haven

Zap from ZapZockt.de

Batora Lost Haven Review - wilde Frauen-Power im SciFi Weltraum Action-Adventure (Test)
In the Batora Lost Haven Review / Test you can Find out Everything About the New, Exciting Sci-Fi Adventure with Isometric Action Combat and a Lot of Story

The story-driven ARPG Batora is an indie game with a release date of Oct 20th, 2022, for Xbox, PlayStation PS4 / PS5, and for PC on Steam, a Nintendo version is also planned. In the Batora review PC gameplay is shown in German, RPG mixed with hack and slash, female protagonist, and all from an indie dev team.
Graphics
Sound
Technical Realisation
RPG
Story
World-Design
Scope of the Game
Fun pro Price

Summary

When I put into perspective the fun and length of gameplay offered, as well as the original story and special game features, I would like to give Batora Lost Haven a base rating of 85 %.
For the slightly too linear game design and the limited role-playing system, I deduct 3 %. Slight flaws in the balancing of the battles, especially with the companions and the lack of a difficulty slider, deduct another 2 %. With that, Batora Lost Haven gets a final rating of 80 % from me.
For a higher rating, the replay value should have just been better, and fewer frustrating moments while fighting would have really enhanced the experience. With good updates, I think Batora could still pull out 5 % more.

4

Outro

Do you like leading tough women in sci-fi alien worlds through weird stories and tough battles? Or is a lack of roleplaying depth and dying companions a no-go for you? Feel free to write me your opinion in the Community Discord.

More gaming news, game reviews, and guides can be found on the Zapzockt YouTube channel or here at https://zapzockt.de – thumbs click, subscribe, and share with friends certainly can’t hurt, and then I wish you a great day, ciao ciao, your Zap

Dev Website

Batora Steampage

scroll to top - nach oben

Batora Lost Haven Review – Frauen-Power im SciFi-Weltraum Action-Adventure

Im Batora Lost Haven Review / Test erfährst Du alles zum neuen, spannenden Sci-Fi Abenteuer mit isometrischen Action-Kämpfen und viel Story

Batora Lost Haven Review
wilde Frauen-Power
im SciFi Weltraum
Action-Adventure Test
Batora Lost Haven Review
wilde Frauen-Power
im SciFi Weltraum
Action-Adventure Test

Im Action Adventure Batora Lost Haven reisen wir mit der Heldin Avril durch eine postapokalyptische Science Fiction Welt und retten die Erde, indem wir durchs Weltall reisen und das Gleichgewicht in der Galaxis wieder herstellen. Sonne und Mond stehen uns zur Seite und leihen uns ihre Mächte, um starke Nahkampf Feuer-Attacken oder mächtige mentale Fernkampfzauber zu wirken.

Das story-driven ARPG Batora ist ein Indiegame mit Release Date am 20.10.2022 für Xbox, Playstation PS4 / PS5 und für PC auf Steam, eine Nintendo Version ist ebenfalls geplant. Im Batora Review wird PC Gameplay in Deutsch gezeigt, RPG gemischt mit Hack and Slash, weiblichem Protagonist und alles von einem Indie Dev Team.

English Version:

Switch Dark / Light Mode:


Batora Lost Haven Review Video

Das Video und der Podcast-Beitrag zum Review wird in den kommenden Tagen folgen. Leider hab ich derzeit COVID und meine Stimme ist völlig kaputt und Voice-Over dadurch unmöglich.

Batora Lost Haven Review – Einleitung – Intro

Das Spiel wird von Stormind Games entwickelt und von Team17 gepublisht. Das Batora Release Date ist der 20. Oktober 2022 für Xbox und Playstation, sowie für PC auf Steam. Eine Nintendo Switch Version ist ebenfalls geplant.

Moin Moin, hier ist der Zap. In dieser Batora – Lost Haven Review bekommst Du einen kleinen Einblick in das neue Action-Abenteuer Spiel mit einem Mix aus Geschichte, Kampf und Rätseln. Ich erzähl Dir, wie es sich spielt, was alles drin ist und am Ende gibt es eine Wertung von mir. Aber vor allem möchte ich Dir alle Infos geben, damit Du für Dich selbst entscheiden kannst, ob Batora Dir Spaß machen könnte.

Bisher gibt es mit Remothered: Tormented Fathers und Broken Porcelain bereits zwei Spiele von Stormind. Ich habe einen kostenlosen Test-Key erhalten, meinen Dank dafür. Dies sollte aber keinen Einfluss auf meine Bewertung haben, da ich alle Spiele immer mit dem Gedanken im Hinterkopf teste, wie würde ich mich fühlen, wenn ich den vollen Preis bezahlt hätte.


Batora Gameplay – Story und Charaktere

Batora Lost Haven Review
Geschichte und Charaktere
Batora Lost Haven Review
Geschichte und Charaktere

In Batora spielen wir die junge Frau Avril, die im London einer postapokalyptischen Erde lebt. Die Welt wurde durch nicht näher bekannte Geschehnisse fast völlig zerstört und in Avrils Träumen sprechen zwei Stimmen, die sich Sonne und Mond nennen, davon, dass sie die Auserwählte sei, die die Galaxis retten müsse.

Gemeinsam mit ihrer Freundin Mira, die zwar an Avrils Verstand zweifelt, aber trotzdem treu zu ihr steht, sucht sie einen Ort in der Londoner U-Bahn auf, den die Stimmen als Treffpunkt genannt haben. Und plötzlich werden sie beide in eine fremde Welt geworfen und Avril bekommt von Sonne und Mond ein Schwert und besondere Fertigkeiten geschenkt sowie den Auftrag, zuerst auf diesem fremden Planeten das gestörte Gleichgewicht wieder herzustellen um dann die ganze Galaxis zu retten.


Batora Lost Haven Test – Spieltyp – Action-Adventure

Batora Lost Haven Test
Spieltyp - Action-Abenteuer
Batora Lost Haven Test
Spieltyp – Action-Abenteuer

Avril steuern wir mit Gamepad oder WASD und Maus aus einer isometrischen Sicht von oben. Es geht durch meistens eher mäßig komplexe Areale, die oft durch Tore oder andere Sperren eingegrenzt sind, die wir dann durch Rätsel oder bestimmte Quests freischalten müssen.

Die Quests finden in Cutscenes und Gesprächen statt, in denen wir oft Entscheidungen treffen müssen, von denen auch manche tatsächliche Auswirkung auf die Entwicklung der Geschichte haben. Hier gibt es neben unterschiedlichen Wegen in der Story dazu noch ein Karma-System, dass Einfluss auf unseren Charakter haben kann.

Unsere Heldin hat zwei Zustände, bedingt durch ihre Verbündeten Sonne und Mond. Im Sonne Modus können wir im Nahkampf physische Attacken verteilen und im Mondmodus schießen wir mit mentalen Fernangriffen. Zwischen den beiden Zuständen können wir jederzeit wechseln. Beide Arten bekommt nach und nach mehrere eigene Skills und wir haben sogar Extra-Lebensbalken für jede Ausrichtung. Dazu kommt ein Ausweich-Sprung, den wir sehr oft benötigen und es gibt kleinere Combos, die den Schaden erhöhen oder Spezial-Attacken auslösen.

Wenn wir beim Erkunden durch die eher höhlenartigen Gänge laufen, werden wir öfter von verschiedenen Sorten Alien-Monstern angegriffen. Und die Gegner haben ebenfalls Mond und Sonne Ausrichtungen. Wir sollten sie mit der passenden Angriffsart angreifen, also Mond mit Mond und Sonnen-Gegner mit Sonnen-Attacken. Dazu gibt es Hybrid-Monster, die beide Sorten Angriffe ausführen und ebenfalls zwei Lebensbalken mitbringen.

Auch in den Bossfights gibt es immer eine Mondseite und eine Sonnenseite der Hauptgegner, die mit ganz anderen Skills und Verhaltensweisen aufwartet. Dieses System sorgt für eine Menge Abwechslung im Kampf und bei den großen Kämpfen muss man dauernd wechseln, und immer die richtige Ausrichtung im passenden Moment auswählen, sonst gibt es ganz schnell mehr auf die Mütze, als unsere Avril vertragen kann.

Ein weiteres, sehr wichtiges Spielelement sind umfangreiche Puzzle-Passagen. Hierbei aktivieren wir Schalter, drehen Plattformen und Tore, bewegen mit unseren Mentalen-Fähigkeiten Kugeln durch Labyrinthe wie Indiana Jones, um Plattformen herunterzudrücken und noch viel mehr. Diese Rätsel sind nicht super schwer, aber ich musste da schon ein paar Mal ein wenig drüber nachdenken. Dazu bekommen wir öfter die Auswahl, ob wir eine Quest mit Kampf, oder mit Rätsel lösen möchten.

In späteren Abschnitten sind wir dann auch oft zusammen mit unserer Freundin Mila oder anderen Begleitern unterwegs. Und auch wenn diese mitkämpfen, müssen wir auf sie aufpassen und sie verteidigen. Denn nicht nur, wenn wir umfallen gibt es einen Game Over Bildschirm, sondern, auch wenn ein Begleiter zu Boden geht, ist der Kampf sofort vorbei.


Batora Gameplay – Rollenspiel und RPG-Systeme

Batora Lost Haven Gameplay
Rollenspiel und RPG-Systeme
Batora Lost Haven Gameplay
Rollenspiel und RPG-Systeme

Wir erhalten für die Kämpfe, für Entdeckungen und für Quests Erfahrung. Dadurch steigen wir in Leveln auf, die automatisch unsere Werte ein wenig erhöhen. Leider ist es hier nicht möglich, dass wir selbst Werte verteilen, oder andere Skills lernen. Wir bekommen Verbesserungen, haben aber keinerlei Auswahl dabei. Das senkt den Rollenspiel-Anteil in diesem Bereich enttäuschenderweise auf ein absolutes Minimum.

Immerhin können wir Runen finden oder kaufen, die wir dann auf unsere Waffe bauen können. Und dadurch haben wir zumindest etwas Möglichkeit, unsere Heldin an unsere Spielweise anzupassen. Da diese Runen aber vor allem mehr Schaden, mehr HP, Crit-Chance und solche Sachen umfassen, ist die Auswahl hier aber auch nur sehr gering. Später gibt es noch etwas mächtigere Runen, aber wirklich ausschlaggebend kamen mir diese nicht vor. Abgesehen von den Runen, gibt es aber keinerlei Möglichkeit Ausrüstung, Werte, Skills oder andere Werte zu beeinflussen.

Daher muss ich bedauerlicherweise sagen, dass die Vermarktung des Spiels als “Rollenspiel” eher unpassend und sogar ein wenig irreführend ist. In diesem Bereich gibt es fast nichts zu entscheiden, keine wirklichen Möglichkeiten unterschiedliche Pfade, Skillungen, Ausrüstung oder ähnliches auszuwählen. Verschenktes Potenzial, mehr dazu gleich noch im Bereich Meinung und Fazit.


Batora Lost Haven – Gameplay Screenshots – InGame Pictures

Klicke oder Tippe auf eines der Bilder für eine größere Ansicht.
In der vergrößerten Ansicht kannst Du links und rechts am Rand umblättern

Technik, Grafik, Sound, Engine, Übersetzung

Technik, Grafik, Sound, Engine, Übersetzung
Technik, Grafik, Sound, Engine, Übersetzung

Batora wird mit der Unreal Engine 4 entwickelt. Und dadurch gibt es teilweise wirklich sehr schicke Cutscenes und auch in Gesprächen und in den Kämpfen gegen Bosse, nutzt das Game einige dieser Möglichkeiten gut aus. Im normalen Gameplay werden die umfangreichen Fähigkeiten der Grafikengine aber leider oft nicht voll verwendet. Während meiner Testzeit ist das Spiel nicht ein einziges Mal abgestürzt und hat auch keine anderen Probleme verursacht, technisch ist Batora also in einem guten Zustand.

Die Einstellungs-Optionen sind etwas knapp gehalten. Weder gibt es einen Schwierigkeitsgrad, den man wählen könnte, noch irgendwelche anderen Gameplay Einstellungen. Im Grafikbereich bietet das Spiel allerdings einige Optionen, um das Spiel sowohl an schwächere Hardware, wie bei Bedarf auch an aktuelle Grafikkarten mit Raytracing und DLSS anzupassen. Leider wird kein FSR angeboten.

Die Bedienung des Spiels ist vor allem auf das Gamepad ausgelegt. Man kann Batora zwar problemlos mit Maus und Tastatur spielen, aber es verwirrte mich oft, dass für bestimmte Funktionen zwar immer wieder Knöpfe angezeigt wurden, mit Flächen, die wie Klick-Buttons aussahen, aber wenn man mit der Maus dort versuchte zu klicken ist nichts passiert. Es ist mir etwas unverständlich, warum man dies nicht beides gleichzeitig angeboten hat.

Die Vertonung ist eher Mittelmaß. Die Kampfsounds sind vorhanden, aber nicht allzu abwechslungsreich. Ambientegeräusche hört man seltener und wenn, dann haben sie mich nicht so richtig begeistert. Gut gefallen hat mir die englische Sprachausgabe. Die Voice-Artists, die den Charakteren ihre Stimmen verleihen, haben hier solide Arbeit geleistet.

Die Texte des Spiels werden in 13 Sprachen angeboten, die Vertonung aber ausschließlich in Englisch. Manchmal weichen die Untertitel etwas von der Vertonung ab, aber das ist nicht wirklich dramatisch.


Batora Lost Haven Review
Wie gut läuft Batora auf dem Steamdeck
Batora Lost Haven Review
Wie gut läuft Batora auf dem Steamdeck

Wie gut läuft Batora auf dem Steamdeck?

Das Spiel ist grundlegend sehr gut auf das Steamdeck vorbereitet. Eine eigens für die neue Konsole vorbereitetes Steuerungs-Schema wird angeboten und alles lässt sich gut mit den Sticks und den vorhandenen Buttons bedienen. So gut wie immer werden die benötigten Knöpfe direkt an den Funktionen angezeigt, das ist vorbildlich umgesetzt.

Die Performance auf dem Deck ist ordentlich und sorgt für gute Spielbarkeit. Mit der Grundeinstellung würde der Akku ca. 3-4 Stunden halten. Wenn man die Grafik per Steamdeck Optionen etwas drosselt, kann man da aber auch leicht 4-5 Stunden Akku-Laufzeit mit Batora herausholen, ohne den Spielspaß merkbar zu beeinträchtigen.


Batora Lost Haven Test – Meinung und Fazit

Batora Lost Haven Test
Meinung und Fazit
Batora Lost Haven Test
Meinung und Fazit

Mein größtes Problem mit Batora ist die Kamera-Steuerung. Weder kann man den Kamerawinkel frei bewegen, noch stufenlos zoomen. Nur eine Umschaltung zwischen zwei festgelegten Zoomstufen ist möglich, aber das ist mehr wie “Kamera weit weg” und “Kamera sehr weit weg”.

Und bei den Dungeon-Passagen, besonders wenn man nach unten laufen muss, ist dieses “sehr weit” trotzdem für mein Gefühl irgendwie noch zu wenig. Da läuft man meistens ins Ungewisse und kann nicht gut sehen, wo der Charakter hinläuft. Manchmal gibt es dann noch automatische Anpassungen der Entfernung, die meistens hilfreich sind, manchmal aber auch nicht.

Hier hätten die Entwickler sehr viel mehr aus der Engine herausholen können. Das Gameplay fühlt sich so, mit dieser festen Kamera, leider in einigen Passagen etwas steif an. Und manchmal wird es sogar frustig, wenn man in Gegner reinläuft, die man nicht sehen konnte, oder bei Bossfights mal wieder die Steuerung nicht flüssig reagiert oder Gegner aus dem Bildschirm herauslaufen, und man dann aus dem Off angegriffen wird.

Optisch ist Batora oft richtig hübsch, und dann hat es auch wieder Passagen, wo es eher so in Richtung “geht so” tendiert. Das Spiel bietet schon einen sehr eigenen Stil, der auch einheitlich verwendet wird. Die Entwickler können also grafisch richtig was, aber irgendwie haben sie dies nicht durchgehend gut umgesetzt.

Manche Texturen sehen leider etwas langweilig und matschig aus. Und viele Details der Modelle für Charaktere und Monster werden nur in den Cutscenes deutlich. Denn im normalen Spiel ist die Kamera halt soweit weg, da gehen die Details hier oft unter. Aber es wird grafisch guter Durchschnitt bis etwas mehr geboten und insgesamt ist das schon auf einem guten Niveau. Aber trotzdem wäre hier einfach mehr drin, Stormind verschenkt hier bedauerlicherweise einige Punkte.

Kämpfe sind teilweise zu unbalanced oder zu zufällig

Generell kamen mir einige der Kämpfe noch etwas schlecht gebalanct vor. Klar sollte man die verschiedenen Skills, Schilde, Combos, Selbstheilungen geschickt nutzen. Und wenn man dies alles beachtet, kann man auch ganz gut auf sich selbst aufpassen. Aber wenn es dann mit den Begleitern im Kampf dauernd vorkommt, dass diese stumpf in der Mitte herumstehen, allen Flächenschaden der Gegner kassieren und dann umfallen, kann es manchmal frustig werden.

Hier hätte ich mir gewünscht, dass Begleiter einfach nur ohnmächtig werden und als Hilfe ausfallen, bis nach dem Kampf. Aber dass ein Begleiter im Kampf stirbt und dann ein Game Over auslöst, hat mir gar nicht gut gefallen. Da hatte ich einige Frustmomente, die sich auch nur sehr schwer vermeiden lassen, selbst wenn man versucht, die Aggro der Gegner auf sich zu ziehen.

Das Balancing einiger Bossfights war für meinen Geschmack noch etwas zu sehr auf der heftigen Seite. Aber in Bossfights kann ich das noch am besten nachvollziehen. Aber wenn selbst die “normalen” Monstergruppen einen teilweise 5-6 Mal in Folge aus den Latschen boxen, oder den Begleiter dauernd killen, dann ist die Grenze zwischen Spaß, Herausforderung und Frustration öfter erreicht, als es für den Spielspaß gut ist.

Schwierigkeitsgrad leider nicht regelbar

So denke ich, dass dem Spiel insgesamt ein Schwierigkeitsgrad Regler und mehr Gameplay Optionen fehlen, um sich das Spiel an seine Vorstellungen von Schwierigkeit und Spielspaß anzupassen. Gamepad-Akrobaten werden sich herausgefordert sehen, aber für Spieler mit etwas langsameren Reflexen oder gar Einschränkungen, könnte dies zu einem Problem werden.

Tolle Story – Figuren mit Charakter

Sehr gut gefällt mir die Geschichte des Spiels. Hier wird ein interessanter Mix aus postapokalyptischen Sci-Fi, Magie, und Alien-Geschichten geboten. Die Story basiert grob auf einem Buch, das ebenfalls Batora heißt, wer das Spiel richtig gut findet, kann hier also noch tiefer einsteigen.

Man merkt der Welt und den Figuren auch an, dass hier etwas mehr Substanz dahinter steckt, als in vielen anderen Action-Adventures. Die Hauptfiguren haben starke Persönlichkeiten und quatschen hin und wieder mal abseits der exakten Hauptstory und auch manche Nebenfiguren haben lustige Besonderheiten und kleine, starke Auftritte.

Design leider etwas zu linear

Allerdings muss ich anmerken, dass sowohl das Level-Design als auch der Verlauf der Story wirklich absolut linear sind. Abgesehen von wenigen, kleinen Verstecken am Wegesrand, gibt es nicht viele Möglichkeiten unterschiedliche Wege zu gehen. Das ist eigentlich ziemlich schade, denn etwas mehr Freiheit hätte das Spiel noch stark aufgewertet.

Für 24,99 € oder $ bietet Batora, je nach Geschick und Anzahl der Tode, grob 15-20 Stunden Spielzeit. Sollte man alle Dialoge überspringen, lässt sich das sich dramatisch verkürzen. Aber das kann ich wirklich nicht empfehlen, weil man dann ca. 70 % des Spiels verpassen würde, denn Batora ist sehr storylastig.

Kein richtiges Rollenspiel

Der Wiederspielwert ist leider durch die etwas geringe Rollenspiel-Tiefe und die lineare Struktur begrenzt. Man hat zwar einige Entscheidungen zu treffen, und es gibt verschiedene Enden der Geschichte. Ich konnte jetzt noch nicht alle ausprobieren. Aber ich glaube nicht, dass diese so starke Auswirkung haben, dass das allein eine Motivation bringt für mehrmaliges Durchspielen. Mit einem Skillbaum und freier verteilbaren Werten, hätte das Spiel hier mehr Tiefe und mehr Spielspaß bekommen können. Leider haben die Entwickler von Stormind hier eine Chance verpasst, das Game noch besser zu machen.

Batora Lost Haven Review – Wertung

Wenn ich den gebotenen Spielspaß und die Spieldauer, sowie die originelle Story und besonderen Spielfeatures ins Verhältnis setze, möchte ich Batora Lost Haven eine Grundwertung von 85 % geben.

Für das etwas zu lineare Spiel-Design und das begrenzte Rollenspiel-System ziehe ich 3 % ab. Leichte Mängel im Balancing der Kämpfe, besonders bei den Begleitern und der fehlende Schwierigkeitsgrad-Regler, geben nochmals 2 % Abzug. Damit bekommt Batora Lost Haven eine End-Bewertung von 80 % von mir.

Für eine höhere Wertung hätte der Wiederspielwert einfach besser sein müssen und weniger frustige Momente beim Kämpfen hätten das Erlebnis wirklich aufgewertet. Mit guten Updates, denke ich, dass Batora noch 5 % mehr herausholen könnte.

Batora Lost Haven Review
Wertung mit Zahlen 80 Prozent
Batora Lost Haven Review
Wertung mit Zahlen 80 Prozent

Batora Lost Haven

Zap von ZapZockt.de

Batora Lost Haven Review - wilde Frauen-Power im SciFi Weltraum Action-Adventure (Test)
Im Batora Lost Haven Review / Test erfährst Du alles zum neuen, spannende, Sci-Fi Abenteuer mit isometrischen Action-Kämpfen und viel Story

Das story-driven ARPG Batora ist ein Indiegame mit Release Date am 20.10.2022 für Xbox, Playstation PS4 / PS5 und für PC auf Steam, eine Nintendo Version ist ebenfalls geplant. Im Batora Review wird PC Gameplay in Deutsch gezeigt, RPG gemischt mit Hack and Slash, weiblichem Protagonist und alles von einem Indie Dev Team.
Grafik
Sound
Technische Umsetzung
Rollenspiel
Story
Welt-Design
Umfang des Spiels
Spaß pro Preis

Zusammenfassung

Wenn ich den gebotenen Spielspaß und die Spieldauer, sowie die originelle Story und besonderen Spielfeatures ins Verhältnis setze, möchte ich Batora Lost Haven eine Grundwertung von 85 % geben.

Für das etwas zu lineare Spiel-Design und das begrenzte Rollenspiel-System ziehe ich 3 % ab. Leichte Mängel im Balancing der Kämpfe, besonders bei den Begleitern und der fehlende Schwierigkeitsgrad-Regler, geben nochmals 2 % Abzug. Damit bekommt Batora Lost Haven eine End-Bewertung von 80 % von mir.

Für eine höhere Wertung hätte der Wiederspielwert einfach besser sein müssen und weniger frustige Momente beim Kämpfen hätten das Erlebnis wirklich aufgewertet. Mit guten Updates, denke ich, dass Batora noch 5 % mehr herausholen könnte.

4

Outro

Magst Du gern toughe Frauen in Sci-Fi Alienwelten durch schräge Geschichten und harte Kämpfe führen? Oder sind mangelnde Rollenspiel-Tiefe und sterbende Begleiter ein NoGo für Dich? Schreib mir gern Deine Meinung im Community Discord.

Mehr Gaming News, Spiele Reviews und Guides findest Du auf dem ZapZockt YouTube-Kanal oder hier auf Zapzockt.de – Daumen klicken, abonnieren und mit Freunden teilen kann bestimmt nicht schaden und dann wünsche ich Dir einen tollen Tag, ciao ciao, Dein Zap

Dev Website

Batora Steampage

scroll to top - nach oben