World Turtles – How is life on the back of a turtle?

The build-up strategy game World Turtles gets a publisher contract and shifts the release to 2023

world turtles new publisher and release date - world turtles cover
World Turtles – New Publisher and Release Date
World Turtles Cover

In the strategy game World Turtles, the dwellers called Meeps live on the back of a turtle flying through space. Sounds like Discworld, it’s also meant as an homage to Terry Pratchet’s fantasy world, but it’s not an official product of the franchise.

And this turtle is now in danger of starving, so the Meeps decide to join forces with other tribes to produce large quantities of food and hurl it into the mouth of their “planet” with a catapult. That’s why we build large settlements and hoard plenty of food for the feeding campaign. So much for the backstory of World Turtles.

English Version:

Switch Dark / Light Mode:


World Turtles gets new publisher deal with Freedom Games

Actually, the Early Access release date for World Turtles was already set for August 2022. After 2 1/2 years of work on the game, the solo developer from South Africa, the brain behind World Turtles, had to go into release, presumably for financial reasons. The game already seems halfway playable, but unfortunately it was not yet really well-rounded and captivating during a brief testing by me.

Therefore, I see the following also as good news. This release was canceled at short notice. The question came up, what maybe happened behind the scenes. Now the developer announced, that World Turtles is now under contract with the publisher Freedom Games and further development time would be financed by this.

The new World Turtles release date has been set around mid 2023

In an article on the game’s Steam page, Gideon, the head of Re:Cog, the small IndieGameDev team behind World Turtles, wrote that the publisher will not only fund him additional time in which the game can be improved, but will also help with marketing on Steam or at trade shows and generally help the game reach its full potential.

What I know about World Turtles so far:

Town Builder Strategy – Gameplay – Features – New Release Date

We control a small tribe of Meeps that competes with other tribes for the limited acreage on the back of our turtled homeland. This happens amicably at first, but probably doesn’t have to stay that way forever. We are building loggers, stone knockers, farms, and gradually reaching a settlement that can eventually produce the food supplies necessary to “bombard” our tortoise with food.

There are numerous buildings available, but we have to unlock them little by little in the tutorial. We can set work areas, assign people, the buildings get experience and can advance in levels. As the turtle flies through outer space, it passes by different types of space, and this has an effect on our settlers. So, here we always have to adapt because there are certain dangers and also special resources to consider due to the trajectory of the world turtle. So far that’s quite okay.

The world is organized into hex–squares, our buildings usually need several of them, so we can’t just build anywhere. This is because the ground is often bumpy, and as a result, buildings currently only fit in a few specific places. The tutorial that is playable so far is, I’ll put it as kindly as possible, “very, very leisurely” in terms of game speed. You can regulate the speed in 6 levels, but even the highest level provides, in the introduction made so far, that you make maybe 5-6 meaningful clicks in the first 10 minutes and otherwise mainly watch.

The Game Features of World Turtle

  • Lead a small tribe of Meeps and evolve them into a thriving self-sufficient and efficient community.
  • Set on, and actually involving, a huge turtle floating through space.
  • The Turtle’s position in space impacts life on the Turtle, including climate and water levels.
  • Prioritize separate technology trees per building type, coupled with an overall technology tree.
  • Explore the far reaches of your turtle to find new lands and cooperate with other bands of Meeps.
  • Balance Meeps experience to progress and improve efficiency.
  • Conquer land, water, air and space… together… for good.

If you’re interested in the gameplay known from the game so far, maybe give World Turtle a spot on your Steam Wishlist. That’s always very helpful for small developers to get visibility for their project. Just go to the Steam page and click on “+wishlist”.

World Turtles Trailer

World Turtles Trailer for Steam Next Fest 13 June 2022

World Turtles Screenshots – Ingame Gameplay Pictures

Click or tap into the image for a larger view.
In the enlarged view, you can scroll right and left on the edges

Links and Sources

World Turtle Steam Page

World Turtles Website

World Turtle Discord Server

World Turtles Twitter


Reading – recommendations:

A lot of detailed game news and information about games and gaming can always be found here at ZapZockt.de – As a Steam user, you can also follow the ZapZockt Steam curator to always be informed about my reviews directly on the platform.

There are also many game reviews that might interest you, and if you don’t want to miss anything, subscribe to the newsletter. As a Google News reader you can also go there and read the latest articles.

Shopping – Tip:

Ad / Affiliate Link
Games can often be bought cheaper. Legal, reliable and safe is the way to do it at my partner site Gamesplanet. This game, all DLCs, many more tactics, strategy, and many more titles are available there and almost always much cheaper than at Steam, Uplay, Epic, or other shops.

Steam Keys günstig kaufen - Buy steam keys cheap - Game keys Spiele Keys
Buy games cheaper

For every purchase, via this link, I receive a small commission. So you get games cheaper and at the same time support my work, my thanks in advance for that.

Social Media:


scroll to top - nach oben

World Turtles – Wie lebt es sich auf dem Rücken der Schildkröte?

Das Aufbaustrategiespiel World Turtles bekommt einen Publisher-Vertrag und verschiebt den Release auf 2023

world turtles new publisher and release date - world turtles cover
World Turtles – New Publisher and Release Date
World Turtles Cover

Im Strategiespiel World Turtles leben die Meeps auf dem Rücken einer Schildkröte, die durchs All fliegt. Klingt nach Scheibenwelt, ist auch als Hommage an Terry Pratchets Fantasy Welt gedacht, aber kein offizielles Produkt des Franchise.

Und diese Schildkröte droht nun zu verhungern, darum entschließen sich die Meeps mit anderen Stämmen gemeinsam große Mengen Nahrung herzustellen und diese mit einem Katapult in das Maul ihres “Planeten” zu schleudern. Darum bauen wir große Siedlungen und horten reichlich Essen für die Fütterungsaktion. Soweit zur Hintergrundgeschichte von World Turtles.

English Version:

Switch Dark / Light Mode:


World Turtles bekommt neuen Publisher-Deal mit Freedom Games

Eigentlich war das Early Access Release Date für World Turtles bereits auf August 2022 gesetzt. Nach 2 1/2 Jahren Arbeit am Spiel, musste der Solo-Entwickler aus Südafrika, der Kopf hinter World Turtles, in den Release gehen, vermutlich aus finanziellen Gründen. Das Spiel wirkt zwar schon halbwegs spielbar, aber so richtig rund und fesselnd war es bei einem kurzen Antesten von mir dann leider noch nicht.

Von daher sehe ich das folgende auch als gute Nachricht. Kurzfristig wurde dieser Release nämlich abgesagt. Man fragte sich da schon, was da wohl los wäre. Nun hat der Entwickler bekannt gegeben, dass World Turtles jetzt beim Publisher Freedom Games unter Vertrag stehen wird und weitere Entwicklungszeit damit finanziert wäre.

Das neue World Turtles Release Date wurde ungefähr auf die Mitte 2023 festgelegt.

In einem Artikel auf der Steamseite zum Spiel schreibt Gideon, der Kopf von Re:Cog, dem kleinen IndieGameDev Team hinter World Turtles, dass der Publisher ihm nicht nur zusätzliche Zeit finanziert, in der das Spiel noch verbessert werden kann, sondern auch bei Marketing auf Steam oder bei Messen helfen werden und generell Hilfe leisten, dass das Spiel sein volles Potenzial entfalten kann.

Was ich bisher über World Turtles weiß:

Dorfaufbau Strategie – Gameplay – Features – neues Release Date

Wir kontrollieren einen kleinen Stamm Meeps, der gemeinsam mit anderen Stämmen um die begrenzte Fläche auf dem Rücken unserer turteligen Heimat konkurriert. Dies passiert zuerst freundlich, muss aber wohl nicht für immer so bleiben. Wir bauen Holzfäller, Steineklopfer, Farmen und erreichten nach und nach eine Siedlung, die irgendwann die Nahrungsvorräte produzieren kann, die notwendig sind, um unsere Schildkröte mit Futter “zu beschießen”.

Es stehen zahlreiche Gebäude zur Verfügung, die wir aber erst nach und nach im Tutorial freischalten müssen. Wir können Arbeitsbereiche festlegen, Leute zuteilen, die Gebäude bekommen Erfahrung und können in Leveln aufsteigen. Da die Schildkröte durchs All fliegt, kommt sie an unterschiedlichen Arten von Weltraum vorbei und dies hat Auswirkungen auf unsere Siedler. Hier müssen wir uns also immer anpassen, weil bestimmte Gefahren und auch besondere Ressourcen durch die Flugbahn der Weltkröte zu berücksichtigen sind. Soweit schon ganz okay.

Die Welt ist in Hexfelder organisiert, unsere Gebäude brauchen meistens mehrere davon, so dass wir nicht einfach irgendwo bauen können. Denn der Boden ist oft uneben und dadurch passen die Gebäude momentan nur an wenige bestimmte Orte. Das bisher spielbare Tutorial ist, ich sage es mal möglichst freundlich, “sehr, sehr gemütlich” vom Spieltempo her. Man kann zwar die Geschwindigkeit in 6 Stufen regulieren, aber auch die höchste Stufe sorgt beim bisherigen Einstieg dafür, dass man in der ersten 10 Minuten vielleicht 5-6 sinnvolle Klicks macht und ansonsten hauptsächlich zuschaut.

Die Spiel-Features von World Turtle

  • Führe einen kleinen Stamm von Meeps an und entwickle sie zu einer blühenden, autarken und effizienten Gemeinschaft.
  • Das Spiel spielt auf einer riesigen Schildkröte, die durch den Weltraum schwebt, und hat auch damit zu tun.
  • Die Position der Schildkröte im Weltraum hat Auswirkungen auf das Leben auf der Schildkröte, einschließlich Klima und Wasserstand.
  • Bevorzugen Sie separate Technologiebäume für jeden Gebäudetyp, gekoppelt mit einem allgemeinen Technologiebaum.
  • Erforsche die Weiten deines Turtle, um neue Länder zu finden und mit anderen Meeps zu kooperieren.
  • Gleiche die Erfahrung der Meeps aus, um Fortschritte zu machen und die Effizienz zu verbessern.
  • Erobere Land, Wasser, Luft und Raum… gemeinsam… für das Gute.

Falls Dich das bisher vom Spiel bekannte Gameplay interessiert, spendier World Turtle vielleicht einen Platz auf Deiner Steam-Wishlist, das ist für kleine Entwickler immer sehr hilfreich, um Sichtbarkeit für ihr Projekt zu bekommen. Einfach auf die Steampage gehen und auf “+Wunschliste” klicken.

World Turtles Trailer

World Turtles Trailer for Steam Next Fest 13 June 2022

World Turtles Screenshots – Ingame Gameplay Pictures

Klicke oder Tippe auf eines der Bilder für eine größere Ansicht.
In der vergrößerten Ansicht kannst Du links und rechts am Rand umblättern

Links und Quellen

World Turtle Steam Page

World Turtles Website

World Turtle Discord Server

World Turtles Twitter


Sehr viele detaillierte Spiele News und Informationen rund um Games und Gaming findest Du immer hier bei ZapZockt.de – Als Steam-User kannst Du auch dem ZapZockt Steam Kurator Eintrag folgen, um direkt auf der Plattform immer über meine Reviews informiert zu werden.

Es gibt auch viele Game-Reviews, die Dich interessieren könnten, und wenn Du nichts verpassen möchtest, abonniere den Newsletter. Als Google News Leser kannst Du auch direkt dort, immer die neusten Artikel lesen.

Shopping – Tipp:

Werbung / Affiliate Link
Spiele kann man oft günstiger kaufen. Legal, zuverlässig und sicher geht das bei meiner Partnerseite Gamesplanet. Dieses Spiel, alle DLCs, viele weitere Taktik, Strategie und andere Titel gibt es dort im Angebot und fast immer sehr viel billiger als bei Steam, Uplay, Epic oder anderen Shops.

PC Hardware aber auch sehr viele andere technische und allgemeine Sachen kann man auch

bei Alternate.de kaufen

Falls Du meine Arbeit unterstützen magst, würde ich mich freuen, wenn Du vorher einen dieser Links hier anklickst. Du bezahlst den gleichen Preis. Für jeden Kauf über diese Links erhalte ich eine kleine Provision. Du bezahlst den gleichen Preis oder bekommst eventuell sogar Spiele günstiger und unterstützt gleichzeitig meine Arbeit, mein Dank im Voraus dafür.


scroll to top - nach oben