Half life free to play – Play the complete Half Life series for free

Valve announces that all games in the Half Life series are free to play until the Half Life Alyx release in March

Developer Valve has switched the entire Half Life series to free in the Steam Shop. This is, of course, promotion for the soon to be released Half Life Alyx, which is announced for March. An exact Half Life Alyx release date is not yet known. But at least there is now Half Life free for everyone.

German Version:

half life free event valve advertising half life for upcoming half life alyx release
Half Life free event valve advertising half life for upcoming half life alyx release

Official Half Life Alyx Event on Steam

There is already an event announcement on Steam that gives more details about this Half Life Free promotion. Among other things it says:

Half-Life: Alyx is coming in March, and we are celebrating early by making all games in the Half-Life Collection FREE to play for Steam users, from now until the day it launches!

Half-Life: Alyx is set before the events of Half-Life 2 and the episodes, but the games share characters and story elements. The Half-Life: Alyx team believes that the best way to enjoy the new game is to play through the old ones, especially Half-Life 2 and the episodes, so we want to make that as easy as possible.

From now until Half-Life: Alyx launches, visit the game page of each Half-Life game to install it and play as much as you want, right up until the day Half-Life: Alyx is released!

If you already have Steam installed, you can click the following links to start playing now!

Valve’s Half Life Alyx Event Ankündigung – Half Life free to play Event
Half Life Alyx release in March - So now Half Life free to play
Half Life Alyx release in March – So now Half Life free to play

Download and play Half Life for free

The games are still offered for sale. But under each title is now a “Play” button, with which you can download the respective Half Life for free and then play it for free until the Half Life Alyx release. These now free playable Half Life titles are listed below and also linked directly to the respective Steam Shop pages where you can start the download with the “Play” button.

Read recommendation:

The latest game news, gaming news, and game reviews and stories about gambling are always here at ZapZockt.de

Half Life – one of the most famous game series ever

Half Life is a veteran of the FPS 3D shooter genre. The stories around Gordon Freeman are enormously popular and well loved. Many people have been waiting for a continuation of the series for many years, for a Half Life 3. With Half Life Alyx comes in March at least a VR adaptation, which will probably be a spin-off of the main series.

With the event taking place now, you can enjoy Half Life completely free of charge and watch the story of Gordon Freeman and his fight against the invasion of an alien race as a whole.

Half Life Alyx:

Half Life Alyx will be released on Steam in March, an exact Half Life Alyx release date has not yet been announced. Half Life Alyx will be a VR title, taking the series to a new, more modern level.

Half Life Alyx takes place before the story of Half Life 2, where you play Alyx Vance, who fights against the Combine Aliens together with her father Eli. It is the continuation of the game series that has been dormant since 2007 with the release of Half Life: Episode Two.

Half Life Alyx Trailer

Half Life Alyx Announcement Trailer

Half Life Alyx is not Half Life 3

Many players have long wished and sometimes vehemently demanded a continuation of the story, but so far Valve has remained silent. This led to the fact that “Half Life 3 is coming soon” became a kind of standing idiom in player circles. A placeholder for unfulfilled player wishes and developers who don’t care about their game IP.

With Half Life Alyx the series is now being expanded, but there will be no Half Life 3 here either. It will be a spin-off, a story in the same world, but with different characters, different locations and different storylines. Maybe Half Life Alyx will surprise us and still offer more points of connection than generally expected. But I wouldn’t put too much hope in the title.

Half Life as PR for the weak VR equipment market

Sales of VR equipment are stagnating, and although the quality is increasing and prices are tending to fall, the market for VR equipment has remained more of a niche market. It remains to be seen if the concept of combining the popular Half Life series with the somewhat weakened VR technology will work out to breathe more life into this market.

With the Valve Index Valve develops and sells very high-quality eyewear for virtual reality applications and games. Also in the Steam Shop, a lot of effort has been made for several years to bring the VR market further forward. But so far with rather little success. If you look at the Steam statistics for VR headsets, the numbers of Steam players with VR headset are even decreasing rather than increasing:

Half Life Alyx as promotion for VR - Steam statistics usage of VR devices Jan 2020
Half Life Alyx as promotion for VR – Steam statistics usage of VR devices Jan 2020

For many players, the space in the apartment needed for proper VR is a problem. To enjoy the game in the right three-dimensional space, you need at least a free area of 3×3 meters, better 5×5. And in most apartments, there is simply no space for such a playing surface. Even the additional equipment in which you stand as a Player on mechanical platforms, which allow you to walk on the spot, has neither gained acceptance nor is it affordable in any way. And VR in a sitting position is only the beginning of the real VR.

Apart from that, wearing glasses in the home, which you may share with your husband/wife, children, family or other roommates and pets, is quite a blocker. Because under the glasses and with headphones you cannot see your surroundings, you do not notice when other people are in the apartment, etc. Even sitting on the couch with your glasses next to your roommates could easily lead to rising divorce rates and unintentionally thrown away glasses.

Thus VR is a great technical experience, is wonderfully suitable for trade fairs and demonstrations, but in private use, it is only suitable for very few. If you own a large house, there is certainly the possibility to set up your own VR room, but only very few people can afford it.

Whether the Half Life free event will change anything about the bad market situation of VR products on the gamer market is doubtful. But some people will certainly be inspired to buy new VR glasses for Half Life Alyx.

VR Headsets Examples

If you are interested in Half Life Alyx and would like to purchase a VR headset, here are a few examples of established devices:
(#ADS – Affiliate Links / For every purchase I get a small commission without changing the price for you)

Oculus Rift + Touch Bundle

HTC Vive Pro Headset

HTC Pro EYE Black Headset

Oculus Quest All-in-one VR Gaming Headset

PlayStation 4 Virtual Reality

Zap

Dirk "Zap" von ZapZockt.de, 40+ Gamer, zockt seit 1980 vor allem Strategie Titel, MMOs und Rollenspiele. Schreibt Game Reviews, Gaming News und auch mal über Technik, Hardware und YouTube. Mehr Infos findest Du unter Mehr über Zap lesen ◄----------► Dirk "Zap" from ZapZockt.de, 40+ gamer, has been gaming since 1980, mainly strategy titles, MMOs and RPGs. Writes game reviews, gaming news and also sometimes about technology, hardware and YouTube. Click here, if you want to read more about Zap.

You may also like...

scroll to top - nach oben

Half life free to play – Die ganze Half Life Serie kostenlos spielen

Valve gibt bekannt, dass alle Spiele der Half Life Serie kostenlos spielbar sind, bis im März der Half Life Alyx Release kommt

Entwickler Valve hat die gesamte Half Life Serie im Steam Shop auf kostenlos geschaltet. Dies ist natürlich eine Werbeaktion für das bald erscheinende Half Life Alyx, das für März angekündigt ist. Eine exaktes Half Life Alyx Release Datum ist aber noch nicht bekannt. Aber immerhin gibt es jetzt Half Life free für alle.

English Version:

half life free event valve advertising half life for upcoming half life alyx release
Half Life free event valve advertising half life for upcoming half life alyx release

Offizielles Half Life Alyx Event auf Steam

Auf Steam gibt es bereits eine Event Ankündigung, die mehr Details zu dieser Half Life Free Aktion preisgibt. Darin heißt es unter anderem:

Half-Life: Alyx erscheint im März und wir wollen das große Ereignis schon jetzt gebührend feiern. Aus diesem Grund sind alle Spiele der Half-Life-Serie jetzt für alle Steam-Nutzer bis zum Tag der Veröffentlichung KOSTENLOS!

Half-Life: Alyx ist ein Prequel zu den Ereignissen von Half-Life 2 und der Episoden. Fans werden jedoch Charaktere und Story-Elemente wiedererkennen. Das Team rund um Half-Life: Alyx möchte Fans und solchen, die es vielleicht noch werden wollen, die Möglichkeit geben, vor dem großen Ereignis die Welt von Half-Life, v. a. Half-Life 2 und die Episoden, kennenzulernen oder ihre Erinnerung an die Spiele aufzufrischen.

Sie können einfach die Detailseite eines Half-Life-Spiels aufrufen, es installieren und dann bis zum Erscheinungsdatum von Half-Life: Alyx nach Herzenslust spielen.

Valve’s Half Life Alyx Event Ankündigung – Half Life free Event
Half Life Alyx Release im März - Darum jetzt Half Life free
Half Life Alyx Release im März – Darum jetzt Half Life free

Half Life kostenlos downloaden und spielen

Die Spiele werden zwar immer noch zum Kauf angeboten. Aber unter jedem Titel ist jetzt ein „Spielen“ Button, mit dem man das jeweilige Half Life kostenlos downloaden und dann bis zum Half Life Alyx Release kostenlos spielen darf. Diese jetzt kostenlos spielbaren Half Life Titeln sind im folgenden aufgelistet und auch direkt zu den jeweiligen Steam Shop Seiten verlinkt, wo man den Download mit dem „Spielen“ Knopf startet.

Lese Empfehlung:

Die neusten Spiele Nachrichten, Gaming News und Game Reviews und Geschichten rund ums Zocken gibt es immer hier bei ZapZockt.de

Half Life – eine der bekanntesten Spiele Serien überhaupt

Half Life ist ein Urgestein des FPS 3D Shooter Genres. Die Geschichten um Gordon Freeman sind enorm populär und beliebt. Viele warten seit vielen Jahren auf eine Fortsetzung der Serie, auf ein Half Life 3. Mit Half Life Alyx kommt im März zumindest eine VR Adaption, die aber wohl eher ein SpinOff der Hauptserie wird.

Mit dem jetzt stattfindenden Event kannst Du Half Life komplett umsonst geniessen und Dir die Geschichte um Gordon Freeman und seinem Kampf gegen die Invasion einer außerirdischen Rasse als Ganzes anschauen.

Half Life Alyx:

Half Life Alyx wird im März auf Steam erscheinen, ein genauer Release Termin ist noch nicht genannt. Half Life Alyx wird ein VR Titel, und damit die Serie auf eine neue, modernere Ebene heben.

Half Life Alyx spielt vor der Geschichte von Half Life 2. Man spielt Alyx Vance, die gemeinsam mit ihrem Vater Eli gegen die Combine Aliens ankämpft. Es handelt sich um die Fortsetzung der seit 2007 mit dem Erscheinen von Half Life: Episode Two schlafenden Spieleserie.

Half Life Alyx Trailer

Half Life Alyx Announcement Trailer

Half Life Alyx ist kein Half Life 3

Viele Spieler wünschen sich seit langem und fordern teilweise sehr vehement eine Fortsetzung der Geschichte, bisher hat Valve sich aber stetig in Schweigen dazu gehüllt. Dies führte dazu das „Half Life 3 kommt bald“ eine Art stehende Redewendung in Spieler Kreisen wurde. Ein Platzhalter für unerfüllte Spielerwünsche und Entwickler, die sich nicht um ihre Spiele IP kümmern.

Mit Half Life Alyx wird die Serie nun zwar erweitert, aber auch hier wird es kein Half Life 3 geben. Es wird ein Spin Off sein, eine Geschichte in der gleichen Welt, aber mit anderen Charakteren, anderen Orten und anderen Handlungssträngen. Vielleicht wird uns Half Life Alyx überraschen und doch auch mehr Verknüpfungspunkte bieten als allgemein erwartet. Aber ich würde da nicht all zu große Hoffnungen in den Titel legen.

Half Life als PR für den schwächelnden VR Geräte Markt

Die Verkäufe von VR Geräten stagnieren, und obwohl die Qualität steigt und die Preise eher sinken, ist der Markt für VR Geräte eher ein Nischenmarkt geblieben. Man muss abwarten, ob das Konzept aufgehen wird, die beliebte Half Life Serie mit der etwas schwächelnden VR Technik zu verknüpfen um diesem Markt mehr Leben einzuhauchen.

Mit der Valve Index entwickelt und verkauft Valve eine sehr hochwertige Brille für Virtual Reality Anwendungen und Spiele. Auch im Steam Shop wird sich seit einigen Jahren viel Mühe gegeben, den VR Markt weiter nach vorne zu bringen. Bisher aber mit eher wenig Erfolg. Betrachtet man die Steam Statistiken für VR Headsets, so sinken die Zahlen der Steamspieler mit VR HeEadset sogar eher, als das sie steigen:

Steam Statistik Benutzung VR Geräte Jan 2020
Half Life Alyx als Promotion für VR – Steam Statistik Benutzung VR Geräte Jan 2020

Für viele Spieler ist halt zum einen, der für richtiges VR benötigte Platz in der Wohnung ein Problem. Um das Spiel im richtigen dreidimensionalen Raum richtig geniessen zu können, braucht man mindestens eine freie Fläche von 3×3 Metern, besser 5×5. Und in den meisten Wohnungen ist einfach kein Platz für eine solche Spielfläche. Auch die Zusatzgeräte in denen man als SPieler auf mechanischen Plattformen steht, die einem das Laufen auf der Stelle ermöglichen, haben sich weder durchgesetzt noch sind sie in irgendeiner Weise preislich erschwinglich. Und VR im Sitzen ist dann auch nur ein Ansatz vom richtigen VR.

Davon abgesehen ist das Tragen der Brille in der Wohnung, die man sich eventuell mit Mann/Frau, Kindern, Familie oder anderen Mitbewohnern und Haustieren teilt, ein ziemlicher Blocker. Denn unter der Brille und mit Kopfhörern sieht man die Umgebung nicht, bekommt nicht mit, wenn wenn andere Personen in der Wohnung sind, etc. Selbst im Sitzen auf der Couch mit der Brille neben den Mitbewohnern zu sitzen, könnte wohl leicht zu steigenden Scheidungsraten und unabsichtlich vom Tisch geworfenen Gläsern führen.

So ist VR zwar ein tolles technisches Erlebnis, eignet sich wunderbar für Messen und Vorführungen, aber im privaten Gebrauch ist es nur für die wenigsten geeignet. Wenn man ein großes Haus besitzt, gibt es sicher die Möglichkeit sich ein eigenes VR Zimmer einzurichten, aber das können sich wohl nur die wenigsten finanziell erlauben.

Ob das Half Life free Event nun etwas an der schlechten Marktlage von VR Produkten auf dem Gamer Markt ändern wird, darf bezeweifelt werden. Aber einige Leute werden sich bestimmt davon inspirieren lassen, sich für Half Life Alyx eine neue VR Brille zu kaufen.

VR Headsets Beispiele

Falls Du Dich für Half Life Alyx interessierst und damit Dir eventuell ein VR Headset anschaffen möchtest, hier ein paar Beispiele von etablierten Geräten:
(#ADS – Affiliate Links / Für jeden Einkauf bekomme ich eine kleine Provision, ohne dass sich am Preis für Dich etwas ändert)

Oculus Rift + Touch Bundle

HTC Vive Pro Headset

HTC Pro EYE Black Headset

Lenovo Explorer 3D Brille

Oculus Quest All-in-one VR Gaming Headset

PlayStation 4 Virtual Reality

Zap

Dirk "Zap" von ZapZockt.de, 40+ Gamer, zockt seit 1980 vor allem Strategie Titel, MMOs und Rollenspiele. Schreibt Game Reviews, Gaming News und auch mal über Technik, Hardware und YouTube. Mehr Infos findest Du unter Mehr über Zap lesen ◄----------► Dirk "Zap" from ZapZockt.de, 40+ gamer, has been gaming since 1980, mainly strategy titles, MMOs and RPGs. Writes game reviews, gaming news and also sometimes about technology, hardware and YouTube. Click here, if you want to read more about Zap.

Das könnte dich auch interessieren …

scroll to top - nach oben